We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good eating experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pier House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westward Ho
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pier House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Westward Ho B&B and Inns
chester uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very good eating experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I had to write this after seeing so much negativity here. We have just got back from staying in westward ho! and dining at the pier on several occasions. I really can't fault it. The staff were excellent, very smartly dressed, polite and helpful. The food was very good especially the carvery. The location is excellent, eating a meal and having a drink as the Atlantic waves splash against the shore. Well done to the staff, you are mainly teens and early twenties and you are doing an excellent job.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank petersar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    16
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
25
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We booked a table by the window and had good views across bideford bay even though it was raining. We had fish and chips and gammon steak. The fish was very fluffy with thin batter lots
of chips peas and tartare sauce. The gammon was nice and thick with chips salad and coleslaw.
We found the staff very welcoming and smart. The restaurant staff (2) were very good there was no waiting and the tables were cleared. (I do not understand what other reviews are complaining about)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TONY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful location with great views across the bay. We had booked an inside window table but because it was a beautiful day we thought we might sit outside so mentioned this to waitress, whose response was that she might need to let booked table go. Fair enough if they were busy but inside was deserted!!!!!! Maybe she should have asked us if customers had flooded in. Sounds a bit picky I know but it all adds/detracts from the overall experience. Our waiter was friendly, helpful and efficient.

The food was average to good. Everyone was happy with food but I thought the trio of cod was OK but a bit over priced for 3 small pieces of fish, mashed potato and asparagus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This Resturant is an absolute crane crash, the staff are all standing around chatting when there are customers standing at the bar waiting to be served. We waited half an hour to be served and then waited another half an hour to recieve our coffees to which was poured over my husband.
You have a young lady who is acting as a manager who is completly out of her depth and isnt in control of any of her staff.
If you want good service then dont go here you really will feel like walking out of the establishment and thinking o dear.
This place could be amazing so please owners sort out your staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notholidaymakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The food was okay, we had mussels and prawn cocktail starters, just a light lunch. It was all pleasant. The sun was shining, and the food was alright. The mussels were a bit rubbery, but tasted okay, and the accompanying sauce was really nice.
The main problem (as illustrated by other reviews on this page) was the staff. Our plates weren't cleared when we left twenty minutes after eating. Then as we left, I saw one member of staff dusting wine bottles with a feather duster while we strolled past 5 different tables with dirty plates still on them.
Yes 5! I counted!
I just think the staff need to be told that just because you're working: ie, dusting wine bottles. Doesn't mean you're doing your job properly, as a waiter/waitress. Make sure the customer has a good experience...everything else is secondary.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brokenelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had lunch here on a lovely sunny Thursday, overlooking the sea on one of the big balconies. The owners have spent a lot of money refurbishing this huge pub, and it looks great. Our food was good: hot and tasty, and I recommend the trio of cod fillets.

But the owners must talk to their staff about their attitudes. Everyone looked REALLY fed up. When I went in to order more drinks, it took 5 minutes for 4 staff to acknowledge me. They were busy tidying up, topping up the coffee machine, clearing away glasses, and just couldn't be bothered.

A pity, as the setting is lovely and the Pier has a really good choice of food and reasonable wine list. Don't know if it's the pay, the training, or long shifts, but people will stop coming back if the service doesn't improve. (Our friends live locally and told me that staff ARE fed up.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a lovely lunch with good friendly efficient service. The setting is a bonus as the food was of a high standard and the seafood platter to share was a bargain! So much that the side portion of lovely chunky chips were not really needed but tasting none the less! Our friends had the crab with spaghetti ribs and fish and chips - all excellent choices and generous portions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pottypolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westward Ho
4.9 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 12 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
1.6 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 12 in Bideford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mayfield House Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#6 of 6 in Westward Ho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Hotel

Property: Pier House Hotel
Address: Merely Road, Westward Ho, Bideford EX39 IJU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford > Westward Ho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Westward Ho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing