We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, even better price!”
Review of Country Cousins

Country Cousins
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Westward Ho
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, even better price!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch and really enjoyed it.
I had the carvery which offered a choice of meat (or in my case a bit of them all!) plus a good selection of vegetables and accompaniments for you to help yourself to. For £8.95 I saw people piling up their plates so high they were spilling it as they walked back to the table so it did offer good value. The dessert cart that came round was good old temptation too, with a variety of deserts and puddings.

One piece of advice, if you want to eat here then book, I saw so many people being turned away or asked to return hours later as the place was heaving.
If I ever go back to westward Ho! I'll definitely go back here to eat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nataliedenny656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    129
    45
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bideford
2 reviews
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Having not visited this restaurant for about 4 years and remembering it being a great carvery I thought it would be a good choice to take visiting friends but i have to say i was disappointed. For a start our tablecloth was very dirty - lots of stains which did put me off. The staff were friendly enough although not particularly attentive, more intersted in talking to each other! The carvery was not very hot, more like luke-warm and the beef was tough but the pork was good. The dessert trolley however was very good with lots of choice and definately the best part of the meal. I personally think the place needs a bit of a revamp - it's looking tired - I won't be rushing back there in a hurry!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great carvery”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

20 of us booked and we were all seated and fed and finnished within the hour, excellent service, top food, hot food, and very polite staff.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lee7767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brill”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great carvery, great service, lovely staff. Excellent choice of meats and vegetables. Good value for your money

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great carvery”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is the place that we regularly eat at whenever we visit North Devon. In the 2 weeks that we were on holiday we eat here 3 times.
There is a very varied menu with everything from steaks and fish for the adults to burgers for the kids.
Although there is new staff there now the same high standard has been continued.
The Sunday carvery is well worth a visit, with the usual 3 meats and mountains of fresh vegetables.
So if you are looking for a place to eat with a consistently high standard of food you will not be disappointed with Country Cousins.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacey47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Cousins also viewed

 
Westward Ho, Bideford
Westward Ho, Bideford
 

Been to Country Cousins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing