We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New year break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westward Ho
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Braddicks Holiday Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed here for a week over new year in one of the new tors caravans.
Initial impression was that this place is excellent. The caravan is beautiful inside and out with modern decor, it is warm cosy and inviting.
We managed to get a decent nights sleep on the most part but the bed wasn't the most comfortable and the duvet was a tad too small, we fought over it a lot during the nights and in the end I took a duvet off the single bed in the other room for myself. The lighting on the bedside cabinets does get hot which could surprise a sleepy holiday goer trying to turn them off just before drifting off to sleep.
Bathroom facilities are good. The shower is very powerful however we have family in the caravan next door who were impressed that their shower was piping hot, our was warm :(
Kitchen facilities are fab. Kettle, toaster, oven, hob, microwave. Baffled slightly that there is an iron but no ironing board...slightly worrying that people may feel the need to iron on the lovely work top or dining room table and ruin the lovely furniture. The fridge doesn't close properly unless the door is pushed properly too which has been a nuisance as sometimes you don't realise for a while. I made toast in the toaster and set off the smoke alarm which wasn't a big deal, at least they work, but I did find it amusing when I made another batch the following day, turning on the extractor fan so as to not set the alarm off again. After successfully making my toast and settling down on the very comfortable couch to eat it I couldn't help feel slightly smug when I heard the distant sound of someone else's smoke alarm.
Did I mention the couch? Very comfortable. All in all a very comfortable and cosy caravan. Maybe a small lamp by the side of the sofa would be helpful, my boyfriend pointed out that whilst trying to read it would be nice to have a reading lamp rather than the main room lighting being on.
Will definitely be returning to this lovely place.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank dancin_jennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Braddicks Holiday Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 187 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

Returned to Braddicks September this year. Our chalet was lovely, new kitchen, bathroom, beautiful shower, new furnishings. It was so nice and comfortable.. This year there were warnings up about the hot water, in previous years this wasn't so. Lovely relaxed atmosphere at this site, not far away from anything you need. We do not use the restaurant because of the expense. Every where is so clean and updated. Go for a fantastic relaxing break you will love it, its a real seaside town.

Room Tip: The beach is stunning always something going on
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shirley-robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at Braddicks in a Lundy View caravan in mid August 2013.

The caravan (99) was brand new for this season and really nice as you'd expect a brand new caravan to be. It is smaller then the other Lundy View caravans and is only a 4 birth caravan but with potential for 6 as it has a sofa bed. The others are 6 to 8 birth. But this is pointed out on they're website. It also is tucked just behind the new apartments but is set at a more acute angle so you still have the "Lundy View", just! I think they should perhaps charge a little less for this caravan as it is smaller and doesn't have as good a view as the others. But that being said I'm still booked in for next year.

The kids didn't enjoy the entertainment very much. They had a new guy in I think and it was half hearted and not nearly as good as other places we have visited. We stayed in Ilfracombe holiday park last year and most reviews slated the entertainment but it was actually much better then braddicks.

All in all though, we're going back to braddicks next year, we didn't go back to ilfracombe holiday park! Braddicks is a lovely little site in a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

this review is purely regarding the ennisfarne buget pet chalet in which we spent a very uncomfortable week !! the rest of the braddicks monopoly was very good, pleasant staff and the pier house very good. Firstly the chalet had an unclean odour and generally unkempt and dated appearance, holes in the wall, bath tiles hanging off dodgy electrics, a kitchen that was totally inadequate and 3 single plug sockets. All furnishings were tatty , old and fusty. we refused to cook in the place and the beds and chairs gave us back and neck pain they were that uncomfortable. I appreciate this was cheap but we were overcharged. Why its expected that all dog owners are happy to reside in filth, baffles me and always will.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have just returned from a week here. We stayed in a Breakers van which was spacious and had a veranda which looked towards the sea. The caravan was spotlessly clean and exceptionally well-equipped. We went to the Pierhouse to eat every day and the food was absolutely delicious-could not fault it. The staff in the whole complex were polite and friendly and ensured we all had a fabulous time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joizkool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

we have been coming to Braddicks for years, infact my children prefer to come there than going aboard.The new caravans are great, loads of room with two toilets.the caravans are always spotless and the staff are so helpful.The Pier house bar is really nice and the food is great ,the sunday lunch is totally lush.The park is a short walk from the beach ,which i must say is a great beach for all the family with rock pools golden sand.The entertainment is great with the kid stuff early in the evening then BINGO then a show which a different every time we have gone there.We will be going there again very soon .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HealyWheelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a Lundy view caravan with a full sea view from the living room window. The caravan was well equipped, clean and tidy. The Pier house bar and restaurant does really nice food and has fantastic sea views. Nice sunset view on top deck. The entertainment provided in the evening was pretty decent. Kids stuff early on and a caberet act later. All in all very good.

Westward Ho is a nice quiet resort with a good beach. Being a small place there is only around 5 or 6 restaurants in the Village but all within walking distance of Braddicks and child friendly.



  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veno777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westward Ho
1.6 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
736 reviews
5.5 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,779 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beachside Holiday Park
Beachside Holiday Park
#1 of 9 in Westward Ho
422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westbeach Resort
Westbeach Resort
#4 of 9 in Westward Ho
102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Surf Bay Holiday Park
Surf Bay Holiday Park
#2 of 9 in Westward Ho
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braddicks Holiday Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braddicks Holiday Centre

Address: Merley Road, Westward Ho, Bideford EX39 1JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford > Westward Ho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Westward Ho
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family holiday park in North Devon. Self catering accommodation beside 2 miles of award winning Blue Flag sandy beach on the glorious coast line in Westward Ho! North Devon. Open all year round for short breaks and holidays offering centrally heated holiday homes, caravans, villas, chalets and apartments many with breathtaking sea views. Seasonal entertainment is available to all our guests within The Pier House, Seafront Bar & Bistro. Finalist in Devon Life Food and Drink awards 2014 for best family dining experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Braddicks Holiday Centre Hotel Bideford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing