We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great traditional Italian grub”

Da Vittorio Ristorante
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Porto Palo
Price range: $16 - $58
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great traditional Italian grub”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

A great place that came highly recommended to us as we were keen to taste a good selection of traditional Italian small dishes. We went off-menu and asked the kitchen to knock together a few of their favourites, all of which were fish based. The raw prawns and octopus were excellent as was the sweet onion and caper dressing on the tempura. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colagatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    265
    124
    89
    103
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious, but stick to the menu and come hungry”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Have been numerous times to this restaurant and the food is always excellent. This restaurant was also featured as "The Naked Chef" in the BBC series on Sicily. Be aware though:
- Don't order from the menu, you're expected to take whatever the chef is preparing as menu de degustation that day
- It is usually really a lot, if you need to skip something try to take the menu without the secondi: you'll still have many different fresh antipastis and a few different pasta and/or risotto dishes, which should be more than enough

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank reneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“must have bribed lonely planet”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed in selinunte to visit the temples and the lonely planet recommended this restaurant only. Even though it was located circa 15 km far away from Selinunte we decided to go there after reading the reviews on trip advisor.
Unfortunately the location & the view are the only things this restaurant has to offer. Since it is a hotel at the same time they seem to be very much used to the customers coming from the hotel that seem to have a special menu.
Besides the fact that they looked at us as if we where aliens when we arrived (hotel guests have their attributed table), we were also not given a menu for at least 45 minutes (we were not the only ones that were waiting and wondering what was going on), we were asked to order drinks / wine before we even knew what we were going to eat, the service took ages. The waiters were simply ignoring the guest that were not from the hotel.
By the time that we finally got our anti pasti some of our neighbouring tables had finished the 4 course dinner.
The food was good enough, however over priced for my taste.
Paying proved more difficult than expected as well. First of all they seemed to have simply forgotten that we had asked for the bill and then they wanted to charge us a different table. By the time we walked to the counter the owner finally screwed up the waitress.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Gaensebluemchen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, excellent food and brilliant location”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This mist be one of the best restaurants located directly on a beach. Only restaurant in the area, great views of the sea and the food is excellent. Don't expect Michelin Star food. Think excellent home cooking and you get the idea. And of course seafood and fish dominates rightly so tge menue. We went several times and picked numerous different dishes. The quality was always very good at least. Hard to pick a favourite. Note the restaurant offer more casual outdoor and more formal indoor eating atmosphere. Definite recommendation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HV25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Huge meal”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great setting and service and a good alternative if you dont want to eat at la Foresteria every meal but we could have shared our meal, enormous amount of food which we found all over Sicily.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Vittorio Ristorante also viewed

Menfi, Province of Agrigento
Menfi, Province of Agrigento
 
Menfi, Province of Agrigento
Menfi, Province of Agrigento
 

Been to Da Vittorio Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing