We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay.”
Review of Plas Rhos House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plas Rhos House
Ranked #1 of 7 Rhos-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay at Plas Rhos guest house and had a really nice stay.The house overlooks rhos and colwyn bay on a nice road just above the promenade. The view is just amazing. We parked free just up the road. There are few steps up to the house which has a beautiful terrace area with outdoor seating and plenty of blossoming plants. We had booked a double room which was very nice overlooking the back of the house, nice drinks tray with a bottle of water, small decanter of sherry. Biscuits, and a chocolate each, A nice bathroom with overhead shower. (we where only staying for one night so we didn't book a sea view room, but wished we had as the view was so nice). All the bedrooms seem to be on the first floor. The ground floor has a nice lounge area, a bar area ( unsure of when the bar is open,has it would have been nice to sit out at the front in the garden) the dining room was really nice with fancy shaped windows.and well dressed tables.
There's lots of little shops.a couple of bars and resteraunts just up the road.
On Saturday evening we dined at a local Italian ( booked night before) which was very nice and in walking distance.
After a good nights sleep we went down for breakfast, ( you fill a breakfast request form in,the night before stating what time and your breakfast requirements) we started with fresh fruit salad (which was freshly prepared fresh fruit) topped with Creme frais, a full cooked breakfast. Juices. Tea. Mixed toast. It was very nice.
The owners take a lot of pride in there house and it shows.

Room Tip: Bedroom very nice and quite.( a bit small) but I would choose a sea view room next time.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaynor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlasRhos, Owner at Plas Rhos House, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for leaving a review for us. It is always good to receive feed back. We will never be complacent as we continuously strive to meet guests expectations.We are pleased that you found our home a Nice Place to Stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Yours,
Susan & Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Plas Rhos House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 163 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at Plas Rhos for 1 evening last week.We booked last minute and our only regret was we
we couldnt stay longer. A lovely room with sea view a really good breakfast and a beautifull house, what more could you want would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

When booking the Plas Rhos the first impression is the bed and breakfast accomadation is on the same level as the pavement there are winding steps to the entrance and when asked about rear entrance this was worse, steep narrow steps to the rear which took you to the front door.
Owner offered help with cases and explained that steps were explained about on their web site but the sites that you first find when booking Trivago etc dont mention this in any detail.
The point is if you are in out several times a day you climbing a lot of steps
Car park at rear takes three cars at a push and parking at the front is restricted to parking between 6pm to 8am in between you have to park on the seafront 75-100yds away.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlasRhos, Owner at Plas Rhos House, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your detailed review of Plas Rhos House. We are most concerned with the satisfaction of all our guests and the feedback provided by you is of great value to us. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations regarding access to our Bed & Breakfast, however Plas Rhos is typical of a Victorian Gentleman's residence built in this area.
I would recommend for the most complete details including our 'Access Statement' and photo gallery of our facilities to visit our own website. Many secondary sites and comparison websites such as 'Trivago' have limits on the details and number of photos they post of each hotel. Thank you again for your detailed review.
Kind Regards
Susan & Colin Hazelden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was our 6th visit and pleased to say its always lovely to return to Plas Rhos.

Fabulous breakfast - the best. Local bacon and sausage in a lovely 'full welsh'. Fruit and cereals. Great coffee.

The bedrooms and breakfast room always look freshly decorated and its always clean and tidy.

Colin and Susan will offer advise on where to eat or visit if you need help.

Will be back soon.

Room Tip: The Bay Room is fab - stayed in this room last year
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and her mum have just come back from a two day break staying in the twin bedroom with sea view - she couldn't stop raving on what a great time they'd had . The room was lovely with chairs facing the beautiful sea view which was breathtaking and very well kept. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful! Both owners Susan and Colin couldn't do enough for you -very helpful. Would definitely recommend and will be visiting again. It's nice to find hotel quality with the friendliness and cosiness of a well deserved 5star B and B!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daz1967Stockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just had a lovely bank holiday weekend at Plas Rhos house at Rhos on sea, North Wales. My hubby had booked it for us as a surprise to me to celebrate our wedding anniversary . We had the beautiful front room bed with the very nice antique furniture and a great sea view. Breakfast was very tasty. The host Sandra was very welcoming and extremely understanding of our slight red wine mishap in our room !! Would definitely reccomend it

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackieandken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Great welcome when we arrived. Room perfect and the view from the window was so good I couldnt drag myself away. Comfy chairs in the window ensured that I could sit there with a nice cup of tea. I would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhos-on-Sea
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
536 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
702 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bryn Holcombe
Bryn Holcombe
#2 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,250 reviews
4.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,248 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ashmount Hotel
The Ashmount Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rhos-on-Sea
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Rhos House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Rhos House

Address: 53 Cayley Promenade | Colwyn Bay, Rhos-on-Sea LL28 4EP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Rhos-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Rhos-on-Sea
Price Range: $96 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plas Rhos House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plas Rhos House is a luxury 5 star Bed & Breakfast, located in a beautiful and peaceful part of north Wales with stunning views of the sea. Only five minutes walk from the village of Rhos-on-Sea with its Restaurants, Bars and Shops and only four miles from Llandudno and Conwy. Snowdonia National Park is within easy reach and only a 30 minute drive away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Plas Rhos House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Rhos House Rhos-On-Sea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing