We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”
Review of Plas Rhos House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plas Rhos House
Ranked #1 of 7 Rhos-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I had a great stay here this past weekend. The single room is a nice size for a single, but with the balcony, it feels bigger. Really nice to come back in the evenings and listen to the waves while enjoying a cup of tea. Given that it rained much of the time I was in Wales, it was awfully nice to be able to catch the sunrise without even leaving my room on my first morning -- it was almost the last glimpse of sun I'd had all weekend, but gave my holiday a lovely start. Breakfasts were great too. The first day I had the full Welsh, and it sustained me all the way through to a late picnic lunch on Snowdon. Rhos is a fairly quiet town, but that was exactly what I was looking for - not keen on jostling with lots of holidaymakers for tables in restaurants, etc I ate at Rhos Fynach pub and Dolcevita restaurant, both about a 5-10 min walk away. There's a bus stop to whisk one in to Llandudno and further just minutes away, and had it not been miserably rainy and cold, I would have attempted the walk back from Llandudno at least once because the views along the way were fantastic. All in all, a great stay.

Room Tip: As single rooms go, this was one of the best I stayed in, entirely due to the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelling_is_bliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 165 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

Great B&B, the rooms are well decorated, comfertable and clean with nice little touches to make you feel at home and the view from the house is well worth seeing, added to that is the friendly and welcoming manor of the hosts who will help you without being obtrusive.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjowoolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I think the title says it all. A very nice b&b that we love to return to.

The rooms are very clean and redecorated regularly. We stayed in the Bay Room this visit which has a wonderful sea view. We have stayed in 3 other rooms, all clean and tidy.

The Plas Rhos breakfast, in our opinion, is possibily the best b&b breakfast in the Country. All locally sourced produce.

There are many good pubs and restaurants nearby and if you need any help, Colin and Susan will offer useful advice on where to try.

Rhos on sea is a great base to cover many attractions in North Wales and we like Rhos because it doesnt have the manic feel that Llandudno sometimes has.

Parking is good, with street parking which doesnt get too busy.

Room Tip: The Bay room has a great sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

we had a room to the back which was decorated tastfully, accomodation is lovely and clean, friendly service and the best breakfast choice you could ask for. It was very difficult to decide what to have as the food looked so tempting

Room Tip: wished we had gone for a sea view as the view was lovely on a good day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moforsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We had a beautifully decorated room overlooking the Irish Sea. The owners were very welcoming and their breakfasts first class. It is one of the cleanest places we have ever stayed in. We had a meal at Rhos Fynach Hotel which was delicious - Welsh Lamb.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zorro16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights. What a brilliant B & B. The photos (although nice) do not do the place justice. Our room (a twin) appeared to have recently been refurbished - and done really tastefully! it was also spotlessly clean.
The breakfast was SUPERB. (i'll say it again - SUPERB- it really was that good). Every one of the items really was top quality and extremely well cooked. The quantity was also spot on - not too little, not piled high - but just right!
if we ever go back to Rhos on Sea we will definatley return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doonst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Lovely room, lovely view, lovely location. lovely breakfast. What more could you ask for. We stayed here for a chilled weekend in North Wales. Although it was a busy time in the sorrounding area, particularly the larger resorts. Plas Rhos was an oasis of peace. We had the deluxe bay room on the first floor with a sea view, and we were not disappointed. Everything was nice, everything worked and everything was spotless. An evening at the local Italian was very nice, recomended by our hosts, and our breakfast after an hours walk along the shore the next morning hit the spot nicely. Just a very nice place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rhos-on-Sea hotels
0 mi away
Whitehall Guest House
Whitehall Guest House
#2 of 7 in Rhos-on-Sea
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ashmount Hotel
The Ashmount Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rhos-on-Sea
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Northwood
The Northwood
#5 of 7 in Rhos-on-Sea
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Staveley House
Staveley House
#4 of 7 in Rhos-on-Sea
118 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Plas Rhos House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Rhos House

Address: 53 Cayley Promenade | Colwyn Bay, Rhos-on-Sea LL28 4EP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Rhos-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Rhos-on-Sea
Price Range: $119 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plas Rhos House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plas Rhos House is a luxury 5 star Bed & Breakfast, located in a beautiful and peaceful part of north Wales with stunning views of the sea. Only five minutes walk from the village of Rhos-on-Sea with its Restaurants, Bars and Shops and only four miles from Llandudno and Conwy. Snowdonia National Park is within easy reach and only a 30 minute drive away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Plas Rhos House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Rhos House Rhos-On-Sea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing