We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Price Varation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Galleon

The Galleon
Ranked #6 of 38 Restaurants in Rhos-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Galleon fish & chip shop is a family owned business, trading with it's current owners since 1991, Andrew & Tina Whincup. The Galleon has been awarded many prestigious awards over the past 12 years, named Welsh Fish and Chip Shop of the Year 2002 by the Seafish Industry Authority, becoming runners up in the UK 2002 & 2003. Tina also came 3rd in Young Fish frier of the year competition in 1999. Here at The Galleon we pride ourselves on the quality of our product. Our customer service and food quality are by far the most important thing to us and we will be more than happy to take your comments on board.
Oldham
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Price Varation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I are on holiday again near Rhos on Sea. We always have the same meals and drink, so far this bank holiday week we have had our lunch in the Galleon 3 times, each time the Cod Fish, and chips have been perfect, and the coffe is fine. So far on 3 differant days the bill as varied as much as £1-20p for the same meals, I do not want to kick up a fuss over the price as we want to continue having our Lunches there while on holiday. Prices are expensive for the size of portions compaired to Greater Manchester. Service is slow but worth waiting for.

R &J A

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    35
    12
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tried to charge me double”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I can accept paying more for food if it is above the usual standard, but really, there is nothing to lift this above the usual fish and chips. It's all style over substance and, to be honest, I can do without my mushy peas being served in a porcelain pot. The shop is very busy, though God knows why, and it takes a long time to get served and to get the bill.

When I eventually received the bill, the biggest shock of all came. I had decided to treat myself, sad as that sounds, and I was eating alone. Initially, I thought the bill was a joke, and then I realised they had charged me twice for everything. Of course, I pointed out the error, and it was corrected. I would have just called it a mistake under other circumstances, but combined with the poor service, high prices and strictly average food, it makes for an establishment I can not recommend under any circumstances.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T0nyRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over priced & small portions!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a really expensive fish & chip shop and the portions are very small! You don't get value for money. £1.80 for a small (very small) portion of chips and £2.20 for a large (or so they say) portion of chips. This is my local fish and chip shop but think I will be travelling that extra mile for now on and going to Colwyn Bay!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
140 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Takeaway Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Takeaway fish, chips and peas were absolutely delicious. People were queuing up out of the door when we got there but service was slick so the queue moved quickly. The young staff were friendly and helpful. 'Would I like my peas on top of the chips?' 'Salt and vinegar on that?' Would I like extra salt and vinegar on the fish?'.
We ate them overlooking the harbour in the early evening. Beautifully crispy batter and gorgeous chips. A real feast and good value for money. Visited on 13th and 20th July 13.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely fish & chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Lovely fish, chips n peas n took them to eat by sea. Keep up the good work & don't let your standards drop. Deffo worth a visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank welsh1liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Galleon also viewed

Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
Rhos-on-Sea, Conwy County
 
Rhos-on-Sea, Conwy County
 

Been to The Galleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing