We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“anniversary meal”
Review of Rhos Fynach

Rhos Fynach
Ranked #12 of 38 Restaurants in Rhos-on-Sea
Price range: $6 - $39
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a family friendly pub and restaurant serving food all day. Great outdoor seating to accommodate up to 200 people with comfortable benches and umbrellas and inside we can accommodate up to 70 people. Superb open fireplace in the winter and a wide range of real ales.
kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“anniversary meal”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

as we were staying in wales with family,my wife and i decided to try the Rhos Fynach for our 3rd wedding annivesary and we were not disappointed .the food was very good with a wide range of meals and very good value for money,and the staff were very helpful .we would definitely
recomend a visit to this part of wales

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank longhaul2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    124
    53
    42
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LLandudno
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good pub - gone bad”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Dear management at Rhos Fynach
what on earth are you doing?
This was great pub - all it needed was a bit of a spruce up, opening hours you could count on & improvements to the function capability!

The outside space has been ruined by the addition of the dirty plastic screens -all they do is offer a grimy view to the park and keep the smoke in the space - now over crowded with tables. The outside space is also filthy.
As for the carbuncle in the middle of the site - a monstrosity!!
I am all for change - but this is change for the worst. As a local who has enjoyed summer drinks and meals there for many years - I have now stopped going - as have many others I know, because of these monstrous, unrequired changes! No one has a good word to say!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Happygirltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Pub/Restaurant”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have visited the Rhos Fynach several times both in the pub ad in the restaurant. The service, quality of food has always been of high standard and not overpriced. Along with The Toad, Rhos-on-Sea is blessed with two excellent evening dinner venues.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average Food and beer”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Can't understand all these good reviews. The food is equivalent to a Whetherspoons or Harvester. If you like it there you're probably going to like it here. Like those places very busy. Thai green curry tasteless and nan bread hard and dry. Go to the Cottage Loaf in Llandudno to see how it should be done.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pokerbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, odd rules on eating outside”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We visited this place twice during a week's holiday. First time, fish and chips, which while not setting the world alight, were ok. My wife had a very nice prawn cocktail sandwich which she loved and this is why we returned. Second time, rump steak. Cooked as ordered, very nice thanks very much.

The odd part is the various rules. For example, on the first visit we were not able to order from the full menu when sitting outside. It was only slightly different from the outside menu, didn't seem worth the distinction. Second visit, at a similar time and on a glorious evening we were this time not able to eat outside at all because it had turned 5pm. This is even though inside they had trouble seating us. I don't have a problem paying on order to sit outside, seems a shame they'd choose to make it difficult.

Only other remark I'd make is that we ordered 3x ice creams at £4 each. When we received one solitary scoop of ice cream in each desert, my wife felt the need to complain (which she rarely does). Sure enough, another two scoops each appeared.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brayster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhos Fynach also viewed

Rhos-on-Sea, Conwy County
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 
Rhos-on-Sea, Conwy County
 

Been to Rhos Fynach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing