We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but not great food”
Review of La Dolce Vita

La Dolce Vita
Ranked #3 of 40 Restaurants in Rhos-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Good value but not great food”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We visited this restaurant early August based on the reviews in this site. The set menu was good value for money and the portions are a good size but the quality of the food isn't great which was a little disappointing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Freyggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    60
    28
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“pleasant”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I went with my husband and sister in law mid week, we had the set meal for £20 with a choice of starter main and dessert then coffee to finish, very good value though I must say the veg was minimal on the plate. The wine was just above average price £14.95 but I thought their lager at £3.80 a pint was a little over priced. The decor is very dated and dark really needs a make over! but the staff very lovely and pleasant except the older small man who really needs to smile, the owner is the chef who came and had a chat with us, what a lovely man too. Would go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarnieEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Lovely food , lovely place and really friendly staff, couldn't do enough for us. We will definitely be returning with out a doubt !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naneyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely food and a great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Six of us went to La Dolce Vita last Saturday night. Have been here on a number of occassions but it's been a while since I last went. The house menu was brilliant, great choices at an affordable price (£20 for 3 courses and coffee). We all had different things and we were all really pleased with the food. Service was friendly and efficient and the atmosphere is buzzing. Definitely be revisiting soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food. Well priced.”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Went with my sister as our kids were away.
They managed to find her a downstairs seat due toi her disability which was nice.
Food was really nice. She ordered from set menu and I had things off the specials menu. All good except for a minor problem with a cold starter which was resolved.
Wine reasonably priced for a restaurant. Set menu offered good choice for £20 for 3 courses.
If one were to be critical at all it would be that it is more traditional Welsh / British food with an Italian twist at least on our set and sepcials menu). However, it was cooked so well (we had lamb shank and crispy duck) we didn't mind! I guess most of the elderly punters want this around here which is why the restaurant keeps busy so well when others have failed.

As usual arfound here, we were the last customers (everyone eats dinner so early around here!).

Pleasant evening. We will be back :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsTrellisN0rthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

 
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing