We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”
Review of Staveley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Staveley House
Ranked #4 of 7 Rhos-on-Sea B&B and Inns
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

A two night stay. Arrived late evening but greeted cheerfully. Slept pretty well in quiet room. Breakfast really nice. Coffee in cafetiere good and strong. Hosts very friendly and helpful.
I shall probably try to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpaandla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
67
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just what we were looking for after a long drive from S Wales. Lovely comfy room I loved the décor bed hugely comfortable breakfast beautifully presented. Staveley House is well worth a visit.
We were in walking distance of restaurants the Italian restaurant as recommended by Steve was excellent best to book as can be busy. This my first visit to Rhos-on-Sea / Colwyn Bay hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just spent an excellent night here with my daughter in law and two grandsons. The place was even better than expected, lovely area, beautiful rooms and charming hosts - plus a great breakfast. What more could you want?!

Room Tip: The room I had at the front had a great view over the bay but the one at the back had views over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDavies2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked the Staveley House bed and breakfast because we had been let down by another hotel, but wanted to visit the Colwyn Bay Area and keep within a reasonable driving distance from Wirral for our son and his family to visit during our stay. We were very pleasantly greeted by Steve who let us into our room at 11 in the morning instead of waiting to book in at 4pm. This allowed us to go and explore the area without worrying about checking in. The free wifi was brilliant too as we checked where we wanted to go in just a couple of minutes before making our way out. The room was very comfortable and the whole building had a welcome feel. The TV and luxury en-suite was appreciated and the period touches of the furniture and the crockery for the tea and coffee were practical and pleasant. We had a good night sleep in the large bed and enjoyed a well cooked big breakfast. This is one of very few times when we had the right pillows and didn't have to ask for more. We parked in the grounds, but would have been just as happy to leave our car just round the corner as the road is nice, quiet and residential.

Room Tip: We stayed in the superior room with a king size bed. This has en-suite, but reviews suggest that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertsChalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic B&B
The rooms were spacious and very well decorated. Huge comfy bed and our own private bathroom. Lots of little nice touches such as magazines and DVD player with a selection of DVDs in the room. The owners were really nice and welcoming and provided a good breakfast. It's also pretty close to the coast and a few restraints. All in all great place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y2jericho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Visited this B&B recently, absolutely lovely place! The rooms were beautifully decorated, and the entire place was very elegantly decorated. Breakfast was good, and the owners were very welcoming. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Absynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at Staveley House for our 1st wedding anniversay and would like to say that it is a lovely bed and breakfast which felt more like a boutique hotel, which is set in the most perfect location. Our room was beautifully decorated and was spotlessly clean, with a lovely view, and the room was very very comfortable (I was so glad that we booked for 2 nights) The hosts were really friendly, it felt that we had known them for years and the breakfast was perfect. Sally and Steve offered ideas on where to eat at night and their recommendation of The Toad and Rhos Fynach were perfect for our special weekend. We can't recommend this beautiful B&B enough, it is perfect for a relaxing break. Thank you so much for such a lovely weekend and sorry that it has taken me so long to review, but didn't want to leave it unsaid.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhos-on-Sea
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
522 reviews
3.5 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,384 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ashmount Hotel
The Ashmount Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rhos-on-Sea
69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Whitehall Guest House
Whitehall Guest House
#2 of 7 in Rhos-on-Sea
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Northwood
The Northwood
#5 of 7 in Rhos-on-Sea
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staveley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staveley House

Property: Staveley House
Address: 83 Brompton Avenue, Rhos-on-Sea LL28 4TP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Rhos-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Rhos-on-Sea
Hotel Class:4 star — Staveley House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAVELEY HOUSE is a Contemporary & Stylish 4 Star Bed & Breakfast/Hotel in Rhos on Sea, Colwyn Bay, North Wales, with 3 large bedrooms available throughout most of the year. The guest house is Edwardian, built in 1906 and has original features which helps give the property character.Staveley House is situated just minutes away from numerous coffee shops, pubs, restaurants, vintage/curiosity/gift shops and the lovely beaches of Rhos on Sea. We are equally close to Colwyn Bays new beach & Porth Eirias watersports centre, Colwyn Bay town centre, railway station and Llandudno are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Staveley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staveley House Rhos-On-Sea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing