We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August Bank Holiday at the Ashmount”
Review of The Ashmount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ashmount Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Rhos-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 28, 2013

From stepping into the spacious reception we received a warm and friendly welcome from our hosts Judy and Peter. Accurate information of the area was given freely which is very important when the stay is a short one which ours was.

The hotel itself is pleasant, very clean and overall a very nice place to stay - well done to the hosts for having such a high standard! The breakfast was very, very good and eaten in a lovely dining room. We would without doubt stay there again.

As the hotel is based very close to the sea front it makes it an ideal base. A few minutes away in Rhos are good restaurants and cafes so eating out is no problem. You are in a good position at the Ashwood to explore all North Wales has to offer. We are just sorry our stay was not longer - still perhaps next time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelPerlaDorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 72 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed at the Ashmount from 24th - 26th August 2013. We required ground floor rooms, because my mother uses a wheelchair. We had two very good rooms next to each other. The twin room had external access for a wheelchair, if necessary. Our stay was wonderful, the hosts Judith & Peter were most hospitable and could not do enough for us. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had, it was cooked fresh from your order. Cannot recommend this hotel more highly. We hope to visit again in the Autumn.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the 1st floor or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulmosley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very warm welcome from host and hostess on arrival!!
Very nice and friendly atmosphere and cosy!
Our room was big enough for just one night though probably for a week would have been a little restrictive. Bathroom on the small size but these very small negative comments are outweighed by all that is nice about the place.
Super fresh cooked full breakfast (by the host).
All round an excellent value stay.
Short walk to the pub where we had a lovely meal.
Hotel is 2 minutes from the promenade.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taurean_traveller122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed at the Ashmount from 22nd July - 25th it was a very enjoyable The only fault was the sea gulls kept me awake.
The rooms where spotless, comfortable beds, breakfast was excellent too much for me
I would stay there again

Thankyou for your hospitality

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliaBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have just come back from a 3 day stay here and i have to say it was a lovely stay. This hotel was a little quiet for me (26 years old) but perfect for my Mum and Nan. The two hotel owners Peter and Judith did everything possible to make our stay comfortable and nothing was too much of a issue. The one thing i would say is if they could have a outside seating area (if they have apologies i didn't see much of the hotel) that would be perfect. It is set back from the center of Rhos on Sea and is about a 5 to 7 minute walk into the town and a 10 minute drive into Llandudno.

Breakfast was amazing - nothing was a issue and food was very good.

The rooms were tidy and clean and very comfortable. The showers could use a little updating but that shouldn't stop you coming here.

All in all a very good place to stay and one i would certainly recommend again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were very well treated by Peter and Judith. went out of their way to welcome us and give us insight into nearby areas and attractions.
They have a wonderful lounge area and the highlight was the VHS player and few classic VHS tapes to while away your time.
Only small issue, hence the 4 stars was that the hotel is in need of some renovation - especially rooms need thicker curtains (couldn't sleep past 5:00 am due to bright sun shine) and perhaps double glazed windows, because if the sunshine don't get you, the mating seagulls will :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varun_mukthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here on a visit to the area. We were on holiday from Texas, U.S.A.
The hotel is very well run and such friendly staff.Nice Clean rooms.

This hotel is only bed and breakfast. The breakfast was excellent, with a good choice.and plenty of it.

I would recommend this Hotel, you wont be disappointed.....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doreencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhos-on-Sea
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
553 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Northwood
The Northwood
#5 of 7 in Rhos-on-Sea
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rhos-On-Sea Golf Club
Rhos-On-Sea Golf Club
#1 of 1 in Penrhyn Bay
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whitehall Guest House
Whitehall Guest House
#2 of 7 in Rhos-on-Sea
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plas Rhos House
Plas Rhos House
#1 of 7 in Rhos-on-Sea
165 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Colbourn Hotel B&B
The Colbourn Hotel B&B
#1 of 9 in Colwyn Bay
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashmount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashmount Hotel

Address: 18 College Avenue, Rhos-on-Sea LL28 4NT, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Rhos-on-Sea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Rhos-on-Sea
Price Range: $88 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ashmount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly welcome to North Wales is offered to all our guests at the Ashmount by the resident hosts and proprietors Peter & Judith Underhill. Our personal attention is ensured at all times so that your stay at the Ashmount is comfortable and pleasant leaving you with many happy memories of your time spent with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Ashmount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashmount Hotel Rhos-On-Sea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing