We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vanira Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Beachfront
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Beachfront
    Reviews (237)
    Filter reviews
    237 results
    Traveler rating
    111
    77
    29
    9
    11
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    111
    77
    29
    9
    11
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsfew minutes drivemountain sideoverlooking the oceantwo nightsoutdoor showersmall fridgefrench polynesiarobinson crusoenight stayair conditioningspa bungalowsgarden of edenbugstaravaomountainsidetahitiisland
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    47 - 52 of 237 reviews
    Reviewed October 18, 2013

    This was our second visit to Vanira Lodge (the last being in 2008). Both visits we stayed in the Maara room (one of the 'nature fare'). We love it; it's like a treehouse with a fantastic sunset view. Yes, you'll come across some ants and a few geckos (hint: don't leave food out), but in an open-air concept room that's to be expected. Hint: there are also now the new air-conditioned jacuzzi rooms people looking for something a bit less rustic.

    It's also true that Karine, the owner, is very hands off. This is not a family pension where you all sit around the breakfast table and chat with your host/hostess. The fare/rooms are spread out enough so that everyone has their privacy and you may rarely run into other guests (I think that's what she's going for). She does have a very detailed informational guide in both French and English in the room that provides pretty much all the pertinent guest info as well as local restaurants and activities.

    We ate breakfast in our room. There's a pretty massive Carrefour in Taravao where you can stop and pick up groceries on the way. For dinner, guests can have room service delivered from the La Plage de Maui restaurant with 24 hours notice. There are not alot of restaurant choices in this area (a few more if you're there on a weekend). We always enjoy dinner for a night at the roulotte down the road.

    Things that have changed since 2008:
    The reception building is larger and closer to the guest rooms (it used to be a small bungalow at the front of the property), the breakfast room didn't exist along with the jacuzzi fare, and before there was no option for meals onsite.

    Overall, we really enjoyed the Vanira Lodge, but I also realize it's not for everyone. However, it's a perfect fit for Tahiti-Iti and I'm sure we'll go back there again.

    Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    Thank Hoppy_Chicago
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 24, 2013

    I feel slightly torn on this because I agree with both the good and the bad reviews. Robinson Crusoe meets Tarzan is absolutely right. The complex is on a good site, a hill overlooking the sea - with spectacular views and sunsets. I am not a natural walker but even for me the walks/hiking around Tahiti Iti are really exciting and beautiful and a great contrast to the blandness of the over-water bungalow experience. The Lodge recommended the nearby Teahupoo Tahiti Surfari Private Day Tours as a day out which made our whole trip to French Polynesia so I was very grateful to them. You would really need to do an outing like that to make the most of a trip here.The little houses themselves (or rather the one we stayed in) are just a little creepy. It would have been nice to have had a place to sit, have a drink and enjoy the view upstairs but the balcony is too narrow so you are forced downstairs under a slightly claustrophobic sail canopy. I don't mind (in fact we were amused by) the inevitable gheckos but my son had to move upstairs in the house because his bed seemed a magnet for little (I think harmless) centipedes. The beds (and linen) were not comfortable. But having said all this it felt as if not too much work could turn this into a really wonderful and exciting place. Maybe they should move away from the self catering concept too. All in all I'm very glad we stayed here.

    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Northlondontripper
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

    we stayed two night in the vai ora "bungalow" (with jacuzzi) at the end of 3 weeks french polynesia.

    + fantastic and extraordinary fare
    + open style of the bungalow and the jacuzzi
    + fridge (if you want to save some money, huge supermarket 10' min drive away)
    + jacuzzi - just nice
    + great place if you want relax and hang around on your deck!
    + free drinking water, coffee, and tea
    + free wifi (however at the reception only, where is not seat or table - you just stand outside)

    what could be improved in our
    view:
    reception could be much better, no one really welcomed us...
    improve wifi area or provide wifi in the rooms
    empty waste at least once a day or "make the room"

    our conclusion: recommended (however do not expect a too high service level), we would stay there again.

    • Stayed: July 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank swisscouple1983-rtw
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 6, 2013

    Architecture and design are unique, just wonderful and creative. The grounds are also lovely. Staff were very helpful. Great location near beach. We really enjoyed our stay. We received excellent advice about where to go for gardens or food.

    Room Tip: Main difference is size of units, but all are unique. We stayed in a smaller unit without a kitchen, and enjoyed it a lot.
    • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank BallardPritchett
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 5, 2013

    I love this place - but you have to want to be near Teahupo'o, otherwise you probably wouldn't bother to drive out there. Room are individual bungalows - think Robinson Crusoe meets Tarzan. Amazing views, small pool to cool off. Things I didn't love: uncomfortable molded fiberglass chaises by pool and bungalow and breakfast - ok, overpriced (like most breakfasts in Tahiti). We had a two-story bungalow, could have slept five but there were only two of us.
    Not for those who want tv, fitness center, English spoken, room service, etc. It is a GETAWAY!!

    Room Tip: Only a handful of bungalows, usually booked on weekends, call in advance for sure.
    • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank MsMalibu90265
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews