We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vanira Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$263
$194
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $251/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$389
$381
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$324
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
$179
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$363
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of $522/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Village Temanoha(Cook's Bay)(Great Value!)
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
114
77
29
9
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
77
29
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench polynesiafew minutes drivemountain sideoverlooking the oceanoutdoor showertwo nightssmall fridgeair conditioningrobinson crusoespa bungalowsgarden of edentaravaomountainsideantstahitiislandsurf
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 241 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2011

The list of good things about Viana lodge are short
Fantastic, beautiful property and view

The bad list is endless
It is so dirty, there is mould growing on everything, chicken poo all over your outside deck, and the kitchen is filthy. Check out my photo of the blankets provided.
The service is terrible.
Our Electricity went out and had to go searching for answers, they said 2 hours but ended up being 5. I was Unable to cook our breakfast or lunch and I was paying more for a room with a kitchen. No apologies, no coming to mop our big puddle under defrosted fridge, no enquries about our the food in our fridge.
I also Asked for a bungalow that closes up so no mice, bugs, geckos etc but roof is not closed in and there are big gab under door for mice.

The Owner karine is nice but keeps herself and house separate and she is only available 8-10am this would be ok if the lady left to help spoke any English. In a tourist destination that would really help so you have no way of asking for help or enquries during the day. When you do go to her office be prepared for the two barking dogs that coming running strait at you. Very scary and I refused to walk there without my husband beside me.
Lunch is supposed to be available during certain hours in the gazebo but I sat there for 2 hours waiting one day and never saw a soul. I ate breakfast there the first morning, it wasn't very nice and after I saw how dirty the kitchen was I wouldn't eat there again anyway.
All the places to eat are a good 20 mins walk away and we went out for dinner one night and had to walk back up the long drive way and hill in the pitch black. The property does not have any lighting to light the way.
Our bungalow was near a pond that had a terribly Noisy pump and was sucking dry water. You couldn't hear anything else all day and night. Since the owner never comes up to the bungalows she wouldnt notice and eventually My husband went and played around with it and got it fixed himself.

This property and accommodation could be something really special if the owner took more interest in it and her workers. Until that time I would not recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SHELLF100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Vanira lodge was in a beautiful area and the bungalows were exactly like the pictures. We were lucky enough to have almost perfect weather our whole trip, though it does seem to rain much more down in Tahiti-iti.

The downside to this place is that the owners are almost non-existent. We would have liked some tips on what to do in the area (e.g. we would have loved a horse trek) but were forced to walk up and down the road until we found a shop or something to do because we could not find the owners anywhere around the lodge. We had no idea if they even knew we were there which was slightly disconcerting. The office hours are 8 a.m. - 10 a.m which seemed rather lazy to us.

However, the groundskeeper, Amelliano was one of the friendliest people we met on our entire stay in Tahiti. He gave us coconut and fruit and will give you a ride to the shop if you need one. He was also able to help us with a boat ride to our next destination (Pension Bonjouir) and his presence made the whole stay much more pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RFultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

All bungalows have an incridible natural architecture, surrounded by beatiful graden and ocean view!!!!
Is the perfect place to stay with friends, family or couple.
Have a nice trip......
Greetings....mariano.-

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marianosturla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Simply the most beatyefull place I know. All the times I travel to the French Polinesia, I stay on Tahiti Island for a week just because of the beautyness of Vanira Lodge. Tahiti is a very nice Island, specialli Tahiti Iti and even more because of Teahupoo, preciselly where Vanira Lodge is located: up a hill, between a gorgeous vegetation, with the most incredible view, with incredible sunsets and with the exclusive taste of its chambers ecologically builded.... the truth is that there is no words for me to describe this place. I have been all arround the world, and this is my favorite spot, with all the simplicity I want, with all the kindness of they owners and with it´s blessed landscape. I would be very glad to share my experience and sugestions to everyone, so contact me.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bornes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

"... a guest house with a difference..." very funny to read this sentence on the website of this place. "...sweetness, harmony & tranquillity " sounds even funnier... Vanira Lodge is a place where:
– "all-natural 'fare'" is made with a lot of plastic material and smells veeery bad
– the "natural" roof is watered at least five times a day (for ex. at 5 a.m. even if it has been raining for weeks)... and yes, the watering is quite noisy and yes, it IS a mosquitos heaven
– the nearest beach is 3km away and it's an ugly communal-next to the parking lot-beach
– the nearest food is far too far away for somebody without the car (don't even try to go to Vanira without the car)
– the bicycles are a) broken b) no air in the wheels
– there is no possibility to walk anywhere except to the mini-mini swimming pool and back, otherwise you have to walk on a quite busy road
– heavy construction works start early (8 a.m.)
– Wi-fi is only working next to the owner's office, far away from the bungalows (when the owner doesn't switch it off – surprisingly it happens )
– the owner is never there (official reception desk's working hours are from 8 a.m. till 10 a.m., but that cannot be guaranteed)
– when you menage to meet the owner and try to complain about the noise or some other problems, the owner will rather shout on you than try to help (don't even think about excuses).

As somebody else already suggested: the owners, please change the profession.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jagumiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanira, propriétaire at Vanira Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2010
Google Translation

Les bungalows de Vanira Lodge sont situés dans un grand parc de 2 hectares en haut d'une colline surplombant la mer, face au coucher de soleil, et entre deux plages, l'une de sable noir à 3km et l'autre de sable blanc à 6km. Il y a des commerces dans le village à 15mn à pied. Il est préférable de louer une voiture pour visiter Tahiti et la presqu'île. Ce sont des "fare" réalisés en grande partie à l'aide de matériaux locaux : bois, pierres de rivière, corail, bambou. Vanira Lodge existe depuis 5 ans et reçoit une centaines de visiteurs par mois pour la plupart ravis de leur séjour. Depuis 5 ans également, les agences et tour opérateurs nous renouvellent leur confiance en nous programmant sur leurs catalogues et sites. Outre la piscine, nous mettons à disposition gratuitement des vélos, et des kayaks ainsi qu'une connexion wifi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews