We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a couple of nights”
Review of The Royal Oak Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luxborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Luxborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok for a couple of nights”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

First things first, the place is in administration and is being run by a company to keep the place going whilst a buyer is found. That said, the two lady's running the place are doing the best they can with what they have, and a good job they are doing too! Lovely home cooked pub meals and nice beers and cider to accompany. The rooms are a bit on the small side and it is true there is no tv, if you find this a problem that's simply because you have forgot how to talk to your partner because we didn't really miss the tv and we are big tv watchers back home. Our room only had a bath and no shower. The location is very remote, no mobile phone reception and the nearest shop is miles away. The roads leading to the hotel are very narrow and at night are pitch black for miles and miles. The breakfasts are nice and plenty full and perfectly adequate for the day ahead, they also include cereal, yogurts, fruit and fruit juices aswell as the full English breakfast. Overall we probably wouldn't stay here again but that is not the hotels fault, it is simply because it's a bit too remote for our liking and have no reason to come back to this neck of the woods again. Minehead and Dunster are close by and worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    32
    16
    11
    7
See reviews for
25
93
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I booked without knowing how far off the beaten track it was. This 16c hotel fortunately had modern bedrooms and bathroom, which although ours was small it was clean and warm. It's true there was no mobile phone signal or even a TV, but it afforded us the opportunity to talk, read and get the travel games out. There were very few customers or guests, but the staff were friendly. Our breakfast and evening meals were served promptly and there was plenty of it. We stayed 4 nights.

Room Tip: Room 9 did not have storage to put clothes or toiletries in either the bedroom or bathroom. Also the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The pub is in a fabulous rural setting, quite remote with no mobile reception. Our road atlas and sat-nav had no difficulties in getting us here (though it is, technically, in Kingsbridge, not Luxborough). As others have commented, our 'small double room' (Room 11) was very small with limited room to manoeuvre, limited storage space for clothes and no TV. The en-suite bathroom was also compact and tricky to navigate around with a bath but no shower. We knew that the pub had had (financial) problems in the past but were more than pleased with the service provided and the current quality of the food. Dinner was tasty, above-average 'pub food' and the breakfast options were varied and the cooked options arrived in good time. Staff were friendly and helpful. On one evening the pub was holding its first ever pub quiz and many locals turned up for the event but completely ignored anyone in the place who was not a local. On the following evening, there was a total lack of atmosphere with only a couple of locals in for an early evening drink plus a handful of visitors like us. I can recommend it for anyone wanting a quiet stop-over for a night but would hesitate to consider more than just the one!

Room Tip: Carefully check size of room and facilities...if you want a shower for example, then ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

As previous reviewers have noted this once perfect little inn is now unrecognisable. The manageress and a couple of regular staff are lovely and trying really hard but there is just too much wrong, and the once buzzy atmosphere has gone totally. On both Friday and Saturday nights it was like the Marie celeste and you can see why. We don't mind quiet places, but this was dead and totally lacking atmosphere. Once the pub had a 'destination' restaurant notable for a fantastic menu, heavy on well prepared fresh fish and game; there is now a very poor and limited menu heavily reliant on chips and bought in stuff. Only fish was fish and chips. Mash had a strange taste of blue cheese. The remote location means you are a pretty captive audience so going elsewhere to eat is not an option if you want a drink. Guinness was off, so was soda water, selection of just three really nasty white wines, with loads of bottles of dregs in the fridge. Not the best choice for our wedding anniversary. Breakfast was a shambles our first day: we waited 50 minutes for our food and when we asked where it was were told snappishly it couldn't be helped! Tiny portions served on small plates. Scrambled egg was a solid mass and had actually been shaped into a tower... You shouldn't be able to do this to proper scrambled eggs! Mushrooms tinned. No TV anywhere and no newspapers. The previous owners really cared, gave attention to detail and it was a fabulous place to stay. It is now clearly going bust fast and needs a radical rethink to save it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephfromlondon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Having not paid attention and thought we were staying in Dunster we were a bit concerned to be directed to the middle of nowhere! But it was a fantastic mistake. We had a small room - bath only and no TV - but it was fine for a two night stay,and fantastic value.. Beautiful old pub, great breakfast and evening meal. Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerpeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The location is fantastic, if you manage to find the place. It is not in Luxborough, it is in Kingsbridge. The online directions are totally inadequate.

The quality of the breakfast was extremely variable, depending which cook was on duty.

When one books a small double room one at least expects to have somewhere to put some clothes and at least a shelf in the bathroom for a toothbrush. This room had nothing.

The bed was uncomfortably hard.

For what was provided this hotel was ridiculously expensive

Room Tip: Don't go for the small double room unless you have absolutely no baggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
464 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Pre-shoot dinner bed and breakfast for 14.

Private room for very filling and tasty dinner of wide variety. Drive in Somerset breakfast.

Excellently kept Cotleigh Tawny and Exmoor ales and top rated malt whiskey collection.

Well worth the long and sometimes tortuous drive.

No mobile reception - escapist bliss!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luxborough
10.4 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
1.2 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
7.1 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Notley Arms Inn
The Notley Arms Inn
#1 of 2 in Monksilver
121 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel, Exford
3.7 mi away
Exmoor Forest Inn
Exmoor Forest Inn
#1 of 2 in Simonsbath
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Inn

Property: The Royal Oak Inn
Address: nr. Dunster, Luxborough, Exmoor National Park TA23OSH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Luxborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Luxborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the lovely village of luxborough. The Royal Oak is surrounded by some of the most Beautiful countryside in the British Isles.With recently refurbished accommodation this Inn has sat in this picturesque landscape since the 14th century. Inside, this building boosts original flagstone and cobble stone flooring coupled with stone walls and open beams which give the building an unrivalled character. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Luxborough
The Royal Oak Inn Luxborough, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing