We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry not returning”
Review of The Royal Oak Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luxborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Luxborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gatwick
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sorry not returning”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Our 3rd visit to the Oak for an evening meal found new owners.

The food was formulaic pub food that was reasonably cooked. I had burger which looked very bought in, the meat was entirely uninteresting, my wife Cajun chicken - similar Both came with chips that looked and tasted good, the best thing on either plate.

Beer well kept, Sauvignon blanc tasted as though it had been open too long.

Perfectly friendly service, but,
Sorry to say it was entirely forgettable. :-(

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Factor21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    32
    16
    11
    7
See reviews for
25
93
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

First thing to say is that the young barman and the manageress/cook were both brilliant - very friendly and very helpful. Our main problem was the complete lack of atmosphere on the night we stayed. Apparently the local farmers were all silaging so it was understandably quiet. Quiet we don't mind, but totally silent and empty was just depressing! Some low background music would have helped immensely. We would certainly have left if there had been anywhere else within walking distance but, having had a couple of drinks, we were stuck for the evening. With no TV set or wifi reception (so no internet radio) in our room, it would have been just as morgue-like back there. Until a handful of locals came in just before closing time, we were the only customers all evening. The pub can't help that of course and if you like total silence then this would have suited you well, but it didn't us.
As for food, dinner was pretty ordinary - not much choice and rather uninteresting - but breakfast was a different thing entirely. The full English, coffee, toast etc were all absolutely superb. Based solely on friendliness of staff and the breakfast this would be 5-star, but some little things made for a slightly frustrating stay. Besides lack of atmosphere, little things like putting a sign on the hotel entrance (which was locked) saying ignore the large closed sign on the bar door and go in there. (We had to phone from the call box across the road!) Or making sure there are toilet rolls in all the toilets, bins in the bedrooms are empty and that serviettes and spoons are provided at breakfast. It wouldn't have taken much to check all this and make for a much more satisfying stay.

Room Tip: If you need a room with a shower (we were happy with a bath), check that there is one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank playmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a great night at the Royal Oak Inn in Exmoor national park. We stayed in room 1 which had two single beds and a big window looking towards a small street. The rooms are above the town pub so their were a lot of people there that night. The walls were a bit thin so it was very easy to hear everything from the pub downstairs but that wasn't a big problem. The rooms were fresh and clean and were nicely decorated.

Room Tip: Room one with two single beds has a big and lovely window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is a wonderful old fashioned country pub that does fantastic food of a very high quality, the rooms are probably in need of a little refurbishment, but hopefully thay will still accept our two dogs. We have visited 3 times now and we have always been looked after extremely well, with avery young child, now a toddler and various dogs, nothing is too much trouble and a welcome pint of exmor gold or stag at 4. 30 in the afternoon before the crazy children time commences is always welcome. Our labrador and cocker love this pub and yes they particularly like their sausages, we have had good chats with the owner who is always welcoming and a delight to pass the time of day with highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MendipCommuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We only stayed for one night but the accommodation was great and location was set within a picturesque country side village. Would definitely stay there again. The pub attached is a great accompaniment. We loved the log fire and finding out about the history of buildings. The food was very good also.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Double Ensuite master room. Unfortunately the staff were unable to locate an iron f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordMrB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

1st visit Feb 12, 2nd visit stayed at the pub Mar 12, excellent stay, lovely clean room, great breakfast (includes a sausage for your dog), 3rd visit Nov 12 - going back to Porlock next Easter and will definitely be going again for a meal - the food is fab, staff very friendly and a great atmosphere - I love this pub, don't hesitate to visit :)

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShiphamSynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Likes: fabulous meal (great fish and meat dishes - the Game casserole was a hit with the boys, friendly fun service, great decor (cosy, log fires), great food, great menu, great prices, great location (although an adventure to find).
Dislikes: Nothing at all.

Room Tip: Didnt sleep here - just went for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBTraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luxborough
10.4 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
1.2 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
7.1 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Notley Arms Inn
The Notley Arms Inn
#1 of 2 in Monksilver
121 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#1 of 2 in Withypool
145 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel, Exford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Inn

Property: The Royal Oak Inn
Address: nr. Dunster, Luxborough, Exmoor National Park TA23OSH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Luxborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Luxborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the lovely village of luxborough. The Royal Oak is surrounded by some of the most Beautiful countryside in the British Isles.With recently refurbished accommodation this Inn has sat in this picturesque landscape since the 14th century. Inside, this building boosts original flagstone and cobble stone flooring coupled with stone walls and open beams which give the building an unrivalled character. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Luxborough
The Royal Oak Inn Luxborough, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing