We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A peaceful paradise!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Cortijo Opazo

Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Well equipped kitchen - apartment la Corona Comfortable sitting room - apartment la Corona
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Well equipped kitchen - apartment la Corona
Comfortable sitting room - apartment la Corona
Double bedroom - apartment la Corona
Out door dining for the apartment La Corona
Open plan living area of apartment El Lujar
Apartment El Lujar sitting area with french windows leading to patio
Bedroom of apartment El Lujar, facing the morning sun.
Log burning stove to supplement underfloor heating.
Outdoor dining for the apartment El Lujar
Great views in every direction
Situated in the countryside, but close to the village.
Exceptional garden for you to enjoy
Great vistas in all directions
Plenty of outdoor space
Garden full of charm, a veritable oasis in the Alpujarras
Our walking guides will take you to enchanting places
Garden full of delightful surprises
Home cooked food available on request
Delicious menus to suit all tastes
Extraordinary scenery and views from the house
Lively village fiestas
Our home grown fruit and veg usually available for you to buy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portugos, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
esoleindh...
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful paradise!”
Reviewed August 5, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 week stay! The apartment was lovely, spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. The outside patio area was perfect with ample shade during the hot afternoons and beautiful views of the surrounding mountains and garden. Our ramble through the garden each evening was a delight. Peace and tranquility with only the hum of bees and the occasionall soft ringing of the sheep's bells - a perfect place to relax and unwind. Robert and William are wonderful hosts, always taking the time to answer questions and offer suggestions for walks and visits in the area. We had a few dinners cooked by William and they
were delicious! We had a wonderful holiday and we will definitely return!

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, we are very pleased that you enjoyed not only the area but the ambience created by the house and garden. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm-a...
1 review
“The perfect holiday!”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

From the minute we arrived at this beautiful Cortigo we knew we were in for a treat. Robert and William met us at the door with a glass of wine which set the scene for the rest of the holiday. The Cortigo is set in a stunning location with well described walks available from the front door. The gardens are wonderful and reflect all the care and attention that Robert and William have put in to them - everywhere you turned there were more plants and views to catch the eye. And then there was William's cooking! Thank you both so much for a perfect holiday - and thanks to Ella and Oska too, who kept us company in the absence of our own doggie friends!

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2017
We are pleased that you had a good stay and that you enjoyed spending time in the gardens. Ella and Oska say 'Hi!'
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyR289
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury walking holiday, stunning base, personalised walks, outstanding food.”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Every aspect of Cortijo Opazo is perfect. The apartments are very comfortable and everything works! The fabulous garden, all at your disposal, is full of birds and insects. The views are amazing and the food (if you chose the all-inclusive option) is exceptionally good. The walking is fabulous with great scenery, flora and fauna and the meticulous walking notes are tailor-made to your requirements. We could not recommend this walking holiday more highly.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2017
Thank you for your positive comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and that our walking guides helped you get the most out of this special area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady M
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful retreat in the Alpujarras”
Reviewed February 13, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We have just returned from a long weekend at Cortijo Opazo. We stayed in one of the apartments which was fully furnished, with underfloor heating, and contained all you may need to cater for yourself. However, if you don't feel like cooking, Robert and William, the owners, offer a choice of 2/3 course meals prepared to a very high standard.
The area is perfect for walking and Robert and William provide a selection of laminated walking guides which you will find inside the apartment. We only managed to do two of these walks this time but we will be back later in the year to do more! However, Cortijo Opazo is so peaceful that you may just want to relax on your own terrace or in their garden which everyone is welcome to enjoy. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased you enjoyed the location and the great walking. Look forward to seeing you again later in the year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanzeni...
Benissa, Spain
1 review
“A fabulous relaxing place to stay”
Reviewed January 9, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We only had a week which went very fast! We could take our dogs which was great for us and The facilities were perfect for them as we had wonderful country side for walking.
We especially chose Cortijo Opazo as we thought it looked a place to relax and we were not disapointed.
The shepherd and his sheep went by each day with their tinkling bella which we loved to hear, and other than that we just heard the sound of birds.
The apartment was cosy with underfloor healing and provided everything we needed, and the garden which is open to the public in the summer was lovely to sit in .
We sampled one of the meals which can be provided by William and Robert on our last night . It was so deliciious i wished we had let them feed us every night.
William and Robert were on hand to help us , and made us most welcome.
I would reccommend Cortijo Opazo to anyone looking for a special relaxing holiday,
It is a really special place to stay.

Date of stay: December 2016
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2017
It was lovely to meet you and your dogs, and we are very pleased you all had a good stay. Thank you for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and enjoyable”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We’re just back from a very enjoyable and relaxing five days at Cortijo Opazo. Great location for walking which we did on each of the days – Robert and William provided us with a varied itinerary dropping us off and picking us up on the days where we started/finished away from the house. We went for the fully catered option – their evening meals were excellent and varied and we enjoyed different foods some of which we wouldn’t normally have selected – along with the wine, it was all very welcome at the end of a day of walking. Breakfast was included along with a packed lunch each day – again William and Robert varied the selection and provided more than enough to keep us going. The accommodation was perfect for our requirements – along with the private outside areas and access to the gardens this made for a quiet and relaxing experience. Our thanks to both of you for a great holiday.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Food/meals
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2016
We are pleased that you enjoyed our full board option for a walking holiday at Cortijo Opazo, thanks for taking the time to leave your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1she...
sheffield, UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“stunning, peaceful, tranquil - with additional cats and dogs”
Reviewed July 2, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We've just got back from a five night stay at the Green Mountain Yurt (NOT the lodgings) and we're fairly fed up to be leaving such a beautiful spot in Las Alpujarras. The yurt itself is a lovely romantic spot, furnished with a comfy bed. The kitchen is a well appointed camp style one, with a two ring hob, hot and cold running water and a cool box/fridge along with all the crockery and dishes and plates you could need. The solar powered shower provides ample hot water depending on the weather. The composting toilet takes a bit of getting used to/bodily adjusting - without being too graphic, solids go in the back part of the loo, fluids in the front, and in true Ghostbusters style, you mustn't cross the streams! You're also responsible for emptying the toilet out, which is a simple job of removing the biodegradeable plastic bags out of the loo and taking them to the composting area below the yurt. So if that gets you squeamish, look elsewhere!

Anyway, that's the practicalities - you'll also get the thrill of listening to a chorus of bees from the nearby bee hives; cicchadas chirping away; frogs ribbiting at night; bird song aplenty; Robert and William's dogs, Ella and Oscar coming to say hello and, if you're exceptionally lucky, friendly cats coming for a stroke and a fuss. Minimal light pollution means you can sleep under the stars, quite literally, if its warm enough. It is a perfect place for a chill out and a potter. There are some easy to follow walking guides provided by your hosts, from relatively easy 7 km hikes to tricky 18 km slogs through the mountains. If you're brave enough to drive the narrow switchbacks and hairpin bends, you've got a whole region to explore, but even if you chicken out (like me) then Robert and William can arrange a lift from a friend of theirs, John, who's a mine of information of the local area and Spain as a whole. If you do stay here, you MUST sample William's cooking, which is exceptional.

If you are on foot, you'll need strong walking boots and a desire and ability to walk decent distance - the nearest town is 1.5 km away. This is a beautiful location to chill out and recharge, but you'll need a car if you want to explore more than a book, the view and your own wistful sighs as you take it all in. And please do be nice to the kitties if they visit you!

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: the composting toilets - and the flies!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2016
Thank you for your review, you have made the whole place sound very exciting. Thank you also for pointing out that this is not about Cortijo Opazo self catering apartments but about our eco Green Mountain Yurt - Cortijo Opazo itself is fully plumbed with conventional facilities. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing