We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Cortijo Opazo

Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Well equipped kitchen - apartment la Corona Comfortable sitting room - apartment la Corona
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Well equipped kitchen - apartment la Corona
Comfortable sitting room - apartment la Corona
Double bedroom - apartment la Corona
Out door dining for the apartment La Corona
Open plan living area of apartment El Lujar
Apartment El Lujar sitting area with french windows leading to patio
Bedroom of apartment El Lujar, facing the morning sun.
Log burning stove to supplement underfloor heating.
Outdoor dining for the apartment El Lujar
Great views in every direction
Situated in the countryside, but close to the village.
Exceptional garden for you to enjoy
Great vistas in all directions
Plenty of outdoor space
Garden full of charm, a veritable oasis in the Alpujarras
Our walking guides will take you to enchanting places
Garden full of delightful surprises
Home cooked food available on request
Delicious menus to suit all tastes
Extraordinary scenery and views from the house
Lively village fiestas
Our home grown fruit and veg usually available for you to buy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portugos, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Shirlinsp...
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My sister and I stayed 4 nights at Cortijo Opazo. We loved the place and gardens. William and Robert were very helpful and provided excellent walking guides and information about the area plus very accurate instructions on how to get there. We both enjoyed the quality meals cooked by Robert and William. It was a real luxury being able to have our meals provided. Our accomodation was very nice and well appointed. Size wise it was possibly better suited to a couple than two friends, as we found it just a bit small. We would both love to go back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of the accommodation
Liked least: Not having a view of the mountains and valleys from our accommodation. We didn't realise there were two apartments and would have preferred the front apartment if it was available.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2015
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Cortijo Opazo and we were only too happy to cook for you. We advertise El Lujar as being suitable for a couple, but had we known in advance we could have organised two single beds rather than one double - this is a request that we often fulfil. Just let us know if you plan to return and we will arrange it for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation in the heart of a great walking area!”
Reviewed October 16, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just spent two wonderful weeks staying at Cortijo Opazo where we enjoyed great walking, comfortable and quiet accomodation and some really good local restaurants. There is nothing about this holiday I would have changed. The apartment is very well equipped should you decide to cook for yourself. We breakfasted outside enjoying the wonderful views from the terrace.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2015
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at Cortijo Opazo. We are pleased to read how much you enjoyed the area and the accommodation itself.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardler61...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lovely property, fantastic location, very quiet and peaceful.
Excellent hosts.
A beautiful area with fascinating little villages, great walks, wonderful scenery, although you would need to be fit
to do the climbs, nowhere any level walks.
For us, a car was a must have, especially if you want to eat out at night (good food at good prices - authentic Spanish food).
A fantastic holiday.
Thank you Robert and William.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to go home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2015
Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed our authentic little corner of Spain and that the charm of the Alpujarras worked its magic on you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen B
1 review
“The ultimate glamping experience”
Reviewed September 18, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a fantastic week staying in the yurt at Cortijo Opazo - it was a truly romantic setting, with all our needs catered for. Beautiful gardens, spectacular views, considerate hosts and gorgeous hikes to go on locally. Couldn't fault it. Combined with a couple of nights in Granada, this is the ultimate relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and spectacular views, a colourful and romantic yurt
Liked least: wasps - but there wasn't anything to be done about those!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2015
We are pleased that you enjoyed your choice of 'Glamping' in our rather special yurt that we have placed in a hidden spot at the end of our garden. It is good that you got so much out of what was a relaxing holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin C
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Oasis of calm”
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a wonderful time in this beautiful place, with it's wonderful garden and serene surroundings.
We were made to feel extremely welcome and the accommodation was excellent.
We will definitely stay there again when we return to the Alpujarras.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the garden and surroundings
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we look forward to seeing you here again when your travel plans allow.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oddoneout
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot for a restful summer break”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a wonderfully relaxing week in the La Corona apartment at Cortijo Opazo. We’d wanted somewhere to just relax and de-stress from busy city life and this was ideal, with many happy hours spent reading on the shady terrace or, when we wanted, out in the sunny garden. Exploring and shopping locally was easy and fun (apart from a few scary mountain roads as we drove further afield!) and we enjoyed cooking with the wide range of fresh local ingredients from the shops in Pitres. We had two excellent meals prepared by William and served on our terrace by Robert as the sun set – beautifully fresh home-cooked food, several steps above the local restaurant fare (which wasn’t at all bad either). The August sun, steep hills and our wish to take it easy meant that, shamefully, we didn’t take advantage of the helpful walking guides provided by our hosts, but we did take their recommendation for a quiet beach and had a very happy day down on the coast. Overall, a restful and reinvigorating holiday. Heartily recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace, quiet and privacy
Liked least: Nothing I can think of!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2015
Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased that Cortijo Opazo and the Alpujarras gave you the relaxation you were after.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candidsna...
Devon, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect chill-out or walking holiday.”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is the holiday for anyone who wants to relax in a beautiful quiet setting, or who wants to do some stunning walks.
This is southern Spain, so the climate is superb, and being in the hills you avoid the sweltering hot days of the coast.
The location is a quiet hillside, conveniently close to shops, bars, restaurants in nearby Pitres and Portugos villages. Views are south to some of the foothills of the Sierra Nevada, and you don't have to go very far to get views of the high mountains (snow still apparent in June!)
Accommodation is simple, very clean, and just right for such a holiday. We stayed in El Lujar and really appreciated the collection of books in the shelves, provided by our hosts. Private courtyard and terrace were peaceful and, thankfully, shaded, with fine views of the garden and surrounding hills.
The garden is a major feature of the Cortijo, and is colourfully stocked with fine garden flowers that you just don't expect in this quite arid part of the country.
We did about 5 walks, all local, and quite demanding because of the hilly nature of the area. The tracks are very old connections between the villages, for people on foot or horse, and mules. One walk involved going up and down rocky zig-zag paths at the sides of a steep gorge - a new experience for us!
Robert and William are the perfect hosts. They leave you in peace but are always on hand if want to chat or get some advice on something. Sampling their menu is a must - both are excellent chefs. We definitely recommend this on at least your first night after a long journey.
The only essential day trip for us was to Granada and the Alhambra. Everyone should see this at least once in their life.
We highly recommend Cortijo Opaza for a holiday, and intend going back, possibly taking advantage of the hosts' new coastal apartment at La Herradura for part of our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review, we appreciate your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed the accommodation, the garden and this fabulous area. It was a pleasure to spend time chatting with you both and we look forward to seeing you here again - or in La Herradura at Opazo Beach (opazobeach.com) - soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing