We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceptively good!!”
Review of Queens Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Queens Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Finghall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Deceptively good!!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Don't be influenced by the facade of the Queen's Head. When we arrived slightly early and sat in the car our initial thoughts were that it looked quite small and a bit tired.

How wrong were we. Round the back of the pub are 3 rooms and ours was modern and roomy with everything you could need for a short stay. The room was comfortable, clean and warm (too warm until I turned the heating down!!).

We dined in the restaurant which is large and modern in style and again totally belies the front of the building. Food portions were generous and very good as was breakfast with a good choice.

Wouldn't hesitate to book again when visiting the area .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alf_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    51
    6
    11
    1
See reviews for
54
150
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay at the beautifully located Queens Head with our two German Shepherd Dogs. The bedroom was warm, comfortable and spacious, the bar is full of character, and the food was perfect. Although our dogs were not allowed into the pub itself, we were able to leave them in the room whilst we went for meals, something that is rarely allowed and for which we were very grateful as we don't like to leave them in the car unnecessarily. A special mention goes to all the staff we came into contact with, who were, without exception, friendly and efficient. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tk963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Excellent hotel accommodation - we only stayed one night but the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The room was superb with complimentary tea/coffee biscuits and sweets. We also booked to eat in the restaurant, again excellent service with delicious food.

The breakfast was amazing fruit/yogurt followed by full English for husband and I had part of English everything was really good quality. Would definitely recommend staying or just eating in this quaint little pub with roaring open fire

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I were staying at Swinton Park but wanted a good quality meal at a reasonable price. We arrived to find ourselves the only guests in the entire hotel. My wife chose a starter and main course (Sea Bass) from the specials board whilst I had 2 courses (main - roast pheasant on haggis with a whisky sauce) from the early evening menu. Both were superb and exceeded our expectations in quality and price. Our waitress, Tracy, was very attentive and provided excellent service including letting me taste a couple of beers to ensure I chose the right one.

I would thoroughly recommend the meals and cannot praise the cooking enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just had the pleasure of spending a night in this wonderful Inn.

We have eaten here on a few occasions with our children and on the last time decided to book for my birthday weekend for just my husband and myself and I'm so glad we did!

Our room was lovely - food excellent as usual - service brilliant but discreet and although there was a 21st celebration taking place it did not disturb us at all! Many thanks - we always did appreciate your food but also now having a night with you made it perfect and to finish on a high note breakfast was to die for!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moray
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Only stayed one night while visiting friends, I had to drag myself away the following day, this is such a lovely pub set in outstanding countryside.

Stayed in a family room, which was actually an annex at the back of the pub, the rooms we immaculate, two bedrooms with a small sitting room and large bathroom. Everything you would need for a comfortable stay, complimentary tea, coffee, biscuits and a bowl of sweet, hairdryer and iron

Woke the next morning to the sound of the countryside, sheep and birdsong, it was so peaceful.

Breakfast was delicious, you chose from a menu and the food was all locally sourced.

I will definitely be making future visits to this pub and hopefully stay longer next time!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DottysueMoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Queen's Head is a hidden gem just off the A684, east of Leyburn in North Yorkshire. The pub is very old and charming, built in the 1600's. Two fireplaces and a great deal of atmosphere. There are modern rooms built onto the back, which are very nice and clean, but more like your average motel. What is so fantastic about the Queen's Head, besides the atmospheric pub, is the food. The owner is the chef and it is obvious he loves to cook. We had dinner and breakfast and both were superb.

We ordered an appetizer and main course for dinner. The appetizer was so large it could have served as dinner. It was labeled as Fish 'something'. Don't remember the name, unfortunately. I was expecting something like fish cakes. But what showed up was more like a fish crepe with the most delicious sauce I have ever tasted. We knew we'd be too full for the main course, but couldn't stop eating. The main course was also delicious with another great sauce. I had the Medallions of Beef.

I have a problem with the way they cook, or should I say, under cook, scrambled eggs in Britain, and usually ask if they could cook them a little dryer. But in this case I refrained from any comment and they were fantastic. So tasty. Some other reviewer labeled their review "Lucky to live near here!" I envy them. I'd be there all the time, but then I wouldn't be able to get through the door.

Besides being an excellent cook, the owner is very nice, as was the other employee who served us our drinks prior to dinner. Very friendly and helpful.

And although the motel part of the establishment is a little bland after the pub itself, it is certainly very nice and clean, and large. There were actually two bedrooms in my unit. Plus there is a lovely view out the back.

I heartily recommend the Queen's Head.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Finghall
10.7 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
3.2 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
431 reviews
3.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Countryman's Inn
Countryman's Inn
#1 of 2 in Hunton
125 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#5 of 8 in Middleham
204 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Three Coopers
The Three Coopers
#3 of 14 in Bedale
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Head

Property: Queens Head
Address: High Street, Finghall DL8 5ND, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Finghall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Finghall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Head 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quintessential English village pub with oak beams & open fires, but also featuring a modern restaurant, fantastic views and great accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Head Hotel Finghall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing