We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night”
Review of Queens Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queens Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Finghall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

really nice place to eat and to stop comfortable rooms with great views and friendly staff. would defiantly stay again. good selection of beers and drinks all served perfectly. we stayed on a Saturday night so the atmosphere in the pub was great value friendly locals.

Room Tip: only 3 rooms so be quick
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 282 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

We took the dog on holiday; 3 night stay for all-day walking in glorious countryside with lovely weather.
We ate here every night and enjoyed the last night even more than the first. We usually get bored with a menu by the second night, but not here. It was always different and you just knew that it was going to be a perfect finish to the day.
Other reviewers have described it better than me..............but I'm sure you will enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We live very near to the Queens Head but this was our first visit; it certainly wont be our last 1 The Early Bird menu is inventive and flavoursome as well as being excellent value for money..The pub has a very pleasant and welcoming atmosphere and the staff are all professional, welcoming and friendly. Excellent all round !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Boyes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful meal in this fantastic venue. Having been put off a pub nearer to where we were staying, we checked Trip Advisor and were influenced by the excellent reviews. At short notice we rang and reserved a table although we could have walked in and been served. Initially we were offered a table in the restaurant but since the pub looked so inviting we chose to eat there. The service was excellent; friendly yet professional, and very courteous. The menu is superb and , when my first choice was unavailable, the waitress recommended a further dish which turned out to be first class. My wife (who is a VERY harsh critic) was bowled away by the quality and flavours. Great atmosphere, friendly staff and an excellent price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Have been here quite a few times when visiting friends and the food never disappoints. This time though we had our four year old granddaughter staying with us too. Helen, the fantastic owner, got us seated and order taken very quickly as a large party was booked at the same time. The staff are always friendly, helpful and pleasant. The menu changes and the veggie starter of grilled hallumi was delicious, the mains of our party included steak, cooked perfectly as required, fish, melt in the mouth, steak and kidney pie generous, tender meat, tasty gravy. We shared puds! They have fantastic desert platter great for sharing too. I have an egg allergy which can be a pain when eating out. This is never a problem when we eat here as they go the extra mile to adapt their dishes so I can try them. Looking forward to visiting Yorkshire again and the Queens Head of course!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JaneAnne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Visited the Queens Head on Thursday 29th August 2013. Just the sort of atmosphere we like. Olde worlde. Excellent service and the meals were sublime. My brother had the gammon, I had chicken in white wine sauce with mushrooms and my father had liver and onions. Good choice of vegetables and the meal was cooked beautifully. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

On the last evening of our stay in the Yorkshire Dales, I had booked a dinner for 8 in the The Queen's Head in Finghall near Leyburn. This was my second visit to the restaurant in two years time. The Queen's Head is situated on a hill overlooking Lower Wensleydale. We started with a drink on the terrace on the backside of The Queen's Head. Lovely views of Lower Wensleydale. A friendly lady told us we could go inside when finished with our drinks. Our table was situated in the modern restaurant room of the Queen's Head. Spacious, comfortable and quiet. Different starters and mains were ordered, all of excellent taste and with attention to presentation on the plate! Service is excellent. A perfect closure of our stay in the Dales.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisDessein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Head

Address: High Street, Finghall DL8 5ND, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Finghall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Finghall
Price Range: $93 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Head 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quintessential English village pub with oak beams & open fires, but also featuring a modern restaurant, fantastic views and great accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Head Hotel Finghall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing