We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE TO GO”
Review of Queens Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Queens Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Finghall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
“GREAT PLACE TO GO”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

An absolutely fantastic old yorkshire inn with excellent accomadation great food lovely friendly staff,nothing was too much trouble.Perfect position to explore the dales and great views from the rooms,superb value for money,we will return again and again.Tim and Linda Grimsby

Room Tip: Try the Barn
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    52
    7
    11
    1
See reviews for
56
156
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Four of us ate from the Early Bird Menu, served until 7.30pm.
Excellent welcome, wonderfully attentive staff. The food wonderful.
The very homely bar area, with blazing fire, needed in on a cold April night in 2013.
The Restaurant with its wonderful views high over the countryside. This was a fantastic discovery, and we will return and tell all and sundry about this 'hidden' gem.
From the great pint on reception, the fantastically faultless food, the friendly staff and a great bottle of Shiraz.
What else is there to say.
GO THERE!! SOON!!!
We will.

Room Tip: Sadly we only visited the Restaurant, but had to search out this site since I needed to register a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DON G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights at Easter and had a great time. Our room was large enough for two people and a dog and the bed was the most comfortable we have slept in! We would have preferred a small transom window to open for fresh air during the night rather than the full size one but we managed however I can see it being more of an issue during warmer weather.
The food was amazing, I don't know how anyone can manage to eat three courses! At breakfast I happened to mention that for that evenings meal I would have liked a mixed grill which wasn't on the menu and that night there it was - huge! Service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaytripperUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Been here a few times now, the last time we came with family and is a nice village pub it is surprising how big it actually from the front. Staff are always friendly. There are always a lot of different things on the menu so is good if you like trying new things. Can't comment on the rooms but food is lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma and mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We eat here often and find the early bird menu (up until 7.30pm except Saturdays) excellent value with good choices. The Sunday lunch menu also offers 2 and 3 courses and never been disappointed yet. In winter the 2 open fires are inviting but we prefer to eat in the bar area due to it being warm and cosy. However the restaurant is equally as nice just not as cosy in winter. In summer perfect pub to call into for lunch for walkers giving the chance to sit out side and enjoy the view (weather permitting) or eat in the bar area without feeling uncomfortable in walking gear. There are some lovely walks around the area and also you are able to catch the Wensleydale Steam train in summer months from the village station to Redmire or from Leeming to Finghall as a stop off for the Queens Head.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkieYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booked a last minute two night break and met some friends at this lovely location. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Rooms very comfortable and clean with lovely views.The best part is the food, completely faultless and absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Booked a last minute 2 night stay at this lovely inn. The views are stunning, the pub is warm and inviting, good selection of ales, and a roaring fire! Bliss!
The room we had (The Warren) was great. There is a living area, with sofa, T.V etc, a very spacious bathroom with a good shower & bath. The bedroom was nicely furnished with a king size bed. Excellent!
The staff were friendly & helpful. The food is really good, the meals are excellent & the breakfasts are top class (amazing black pudding)!

Room Tip: We had 'The warren' which is a larger room with a separate living area as it can be used as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcthull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Finghall
10.7 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
3.2 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
443 reviews
3.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Richard the Third
Richard the Third
#2 of 8 in Middleham
408 reviews
4.3 mi away
Greyhound Inn
Greyhound Inn
#5 of 14 in Bedale
76 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Head

Property: Queens Head
Address: High Street, Finghall DL8 5ND, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Finghall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Finghall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Head 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quintessential English village pub with oak beams & open fires, but also featuring a modern restaurant, fantastic views and great accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Head Hotel Finghall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing