We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute break.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Queens Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queens Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Finghall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
northumberland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Last minute break.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booked a last minute two night break and met some friends at this lovely location. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Rooms very comfortable and clean with lovely views.The best part is the food, completely faultless and absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    48
    6
    10
    1
See reviews for
50
145
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hull
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Booked a last minute 2 night stay at this lovely inn. The views are stunning, the pub is warm and inviting, good selection of ales, and a roaring fire! Bliss!
The room we had (The Warren) was great. There is a living area, with sofa, T.V etc, a very spacious bathroom with a good shower & bath. The bedroom was nicely furnished with a king size bed. Excellent!
The staff were friendly & helpful. The food is really good, the meals are excellent & the breakfasts are top class (amazing black pudding)!

Room Tip: We had 'The warren' which is a larger room with a separate living area as it can be used as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcthull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We booked this at the last minute - with a heavy discount as it was 2nd January - Spacious room at the back of the hotel - great room facilities and a big bathroom. Dinner was excellent in the pub - wide range of food available from pub grub to proper evening dinner fare - and excellent puddings! York flagstone floors, fire in the hearth and good selection of real ale. Breakfast with fresh eggs from the farm next door and home made marmalade. Great views from the dining room. Apparently its very busy in the summer months with walkers and visitors to the dales - but for us this was a welcome bit of seclusion out on the wild and wooly moorland at an extremely reasonable price.

Room Tip: There are three rooms - so this isn't really relevant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We found the food really good here but the huge portion size defeated us at every course! The veggie risotto looked rather bland but was full of flavour. Great selection of vegetables too. The liquorice ice cream was the best I have ever tasted....really intense flavour. Staff were extra nice....going out of their way to answer questions about the cheeses. The dining room at the back was empty when we arrived so was lacking in atmosphere but eventually a few people arrived which helped. Just one little niggle....don't sit too close to the door to the loos.....a touch breezy and whiffy when people come and go.....!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allexie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keighley
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We recently had a lovely long walk around the beautiful countryside in this area. We stopped for a couple of drinks in this pub and when my husband asked for another drink, he was told the pub was closing up (this was at 3.45pm on a Saturday afternoon) for a private party, immediately!. If you have visited this area you will know it is not just that easy to walk to another pub!. I would have thought that a member of staff would have mentioned this event was taking place when we arrived and then we could have planned where to move on to.. We were basically ejected at a minute's notice and were both most upset. Won't be visiting again!.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunshinekeighley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We drove out to this pub for dinner on a Sunday evening. As we walked in there was a warm and welcoming feel, continued by the staff's pleasant and welcoming manner. The beer was good with a range on tap. We sat next to a warm open fire and ordered off the fixed price menu. There was a good choice of food with local fayre as well as more gastro options and the price was very reasonable. The food was excellent when it came and service was impecable. We were offered more bread, more vegetables and well looked after. The only downside of the evening was how quiet the pub was - only two other groups in the bar, so the atmosphere was slightly lacking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smile4goodkarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We drove out to this pub for dinner on a Sunday evening. As we walked in there was a warm and welcoming feel, continued by the staff's pleasant and welcoming manner. The beer was good with a range on tap. We sat next to a warm open fire and ordered off the fixed price menu. There was a good choice of food with local fayre as well as more gastro options and the price was very reasonable. The food was excellent when it came and service was impecable. We were offered more bread, more vegetables and well looked after. The only downside of the evening was how quiet the pub was - only two other groups in the bar, so the atmosphere was slightly lacking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smile4goodkarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Finghall
3.2 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
411 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
3.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Countryman's Inn
Countryman's Inn
#1 of 2 in Hunton
122 reviews
4.3 mi away
Clyde House
Clyde House
#2 of 20 in Leyburn
273 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Castle Arms Inn
The Castle Arms Inn
#1 of 14 in Bedale
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Head

Property: Queens Head
Address: High Street, Finghall DL8 5ND, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Finghall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Finghall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Head 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quintessential English village pub with oak beams & open fires, but also featuring a modern restaurant, fantastic views and great accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Head Hotel Finghall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing