We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what we expected!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Papetoai
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Exactly what we expected!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Traveled to FP for our honeymoon in October of 2011. We stayed in an over water bungalow and it was exactly what we expected from FP. Warning.....there are rats, yes rats. They didn't bother us at all nor did we see them during the day, but at night they do come out due to the close proximity to the water.. They didn't frighten me as I didn't the them but we did find evidence of them from time to time. Bungalows are very private and give you the true experience. Food on the resort as in most locations is expensive, suggest taking a meal package. Overall the IC delivered on everything for our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRL903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Ia Orana from Moorea!
Thank you for your stay at our Hotel and for your comment.
I am delighted to hear that you feel you made the right choice and that you enjoyed our facilities and fell in love with this very true and authentic island. As you noticed, Moorea is very unspoilt and wild. This also explains the presence and diversity of fauna and flora that are inevitably part of any natural environments.
Hopefully see you again one day!
kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    712
    188
    77
    41
See reviews for
303
1,608
50
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

This is a real honeymoon resort. But also great for kids. We stayed in the main hotel with view over the pool towards the sea. It was great. Close to pools and could see the shows without having to pay the huge price for dinner. Great view of sunset. Very close to great beach and sea swimming. The rooms are big and comfortable. If you want to "eat in" take coffee plunger, cutlery, plates, corkscrew and visit the supermarket. Meals are extremely expensive in the hotel (and all hotels on Moorea) but the local restaurants are reasonable and very good. The hotel will call restaurants and for evening meals the restaurants will collect you and take you home. Taxis are also available but a bit costly.

Room Tip: View towards sea was good. Bungalows over sea probably over rated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferne_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Ia Orana from Moorea!
I would like to thank you for your comment.
We are happy to see that most aspects of your stay met your expectations and we hope that you have brought home some pleasant memories of French Polynesia.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back one day.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chickamauga, Georgia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were greeted immediately upon arrival with a drink and seated to fill out our reservations form. We arrived around noon and were told our room would not be ready until later in the afternoon. We had the option of using the changing room for 15 minutes, but opted not to. We were given a code to the wifi that would work as long as we were in the lobby. After checking in on our daughter, we decided to walk around the grounds and get lunch. The grounds are well maintained. Our first shock on food prices was at lunch. We split a hamburger and our bill ended up being around $50.00 for lunch. We knew it was expensive, but that was a little shock at first. We never ate dinner at the resort as we went to restaurants that would pick us up from the hotel. The breakfast buffet was just okay, and finding anyone to help you other than to bring you a bill was impossible. We were not pleased with our breakfast service at all. Now on to our room..we were given an upgrade to a beach bungalow when we got to our room. It was good size, but I was surprised at the limited amount of storage/closet space. I never unpacked and gave my husband the closet space. The actual room with a toilet had a smell so we just kept that door closed. There was a nice shower and large bathtub to relax in. The deck was where we spent the most time. We enjoyed sitting out there and relaxing and the sunsets from the deck were amazing. We were close to the turtle reserve and I went to watch the feeding of the turtles and learned more about the turtles. You can also swim with the dolphins at the resort for around $200.00 p.p. Although the resort had a few negatives, overall our stay was very nice and the hotel staff (besides the restaurant) did try to make sure that our visit was pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Tammy,
Ia Orana from Moorea!
I would like to thank you for your visit and for your comment.
We are happy to see that most aspects of your stay met your expectations and we hope that you have brought home some pleasant memories of French Polynesia.
Whilst the majority of comments received regarding service are more than positive, we are extremely sorry that your you had such a different experience.
We hope to see you back one day.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

From check in to check out, the staff really was interested in ensuring the visit was special. While I didn't dine at the gourmet restaurant, I thought the food and service in the daytime restaurants was very good. And, I thought the overall pricing of the resort was very reasonable. The beach was great and the excursions from the resort were fantastic. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Ia Orana from Moorea!
Thank you for your visit and for your beautiful comment.
It is always encouraging to hear that my staff is meeting expectations and I hope that you will keep memories of your visit to Moorea forever and ever.
Hopefully see you again one day.
In the meantime take care of yourselves.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

We are a married couple in our late 20's and recently got back from this beautiful resort after a week-long stay and I don't think we could have chosen a better place for us in Moorea. I booked this hotel after much research (and confusion!) into the various resort options available and after staying on this gorgeous island, came to the conclusion that it's important to do your research and choose the resort that best suits the kind of holiday you are hoping for as they are all gorgeous but offer quite different things!

After visiting them all our view is the Sofitel is the most isolated but has the best beach-front and most romantic-looking dining areas but also a very average pool, the Hilton has a better location on the island than the Sofitel and has the nicest Overwater Bungalows (more private and some have a nicer outlook) but is very compact in design and has a small beach and the Intercontinental has the nicest grounds, widest beach, most luxurious pools and amenities but the rooms/bungalows are more traditional and less modern than the other resorts.

I'd recommend the IC if you are looking for a relaxing resort experience on a large, quiet property but also want a little more action than sitting on the beach for a week! There is lots to do at this property and great on-site access to the many ocean excursions that leave from the IC's jetty. We felt we could be quite independent here as there was a little shop at the end of the driveway to buy drinks and snacks and we were in easy walking distance to a some great restaurants (Le Sunset, Mayflower, Les Tipaniers etc) who also offered a free pick up service through the Concierge.

While staying here you are able to kayak out on your own to two little islands/'motus' from the resort beach or paddle out to the shark/stingray area (just look for all the tour boats!) and there is also a swim-up bar at the resort, along with two infinity pools, a large private lagoon you can snorkel, paddle board or kayak around, as well as the ocean (bring water-shoes as there is coral everywhere in Moorea!).

In terms of the 'busyness' of this resort, we found it to be very quiet (we were in bustling Hawaii 6 months ago and Moorea was nothing like that!), we could easily get a chair on the beach or at the lagoon anytime and there was never a wait for a table at the restaurants or bar, the smaller of the two pools was usually empty with just a handful of people in the larger one. While we were there the guests seemed to mostly be French couples and groups, along with a few American honeymooners and retired couples, there were a few children around but definitely not as many as we expected.

For our accommodation we stayed in a Garden Bungalow with plunge pool and loved it, the resort was fully booked when we arrived but as we are Ambassador members we were given the option to be upgraded to an Overwater bungalow in another day or two when one became free but we really liked the peace and privacy of our garden room and pool so we declined.

The bungalow was very clean and cosy and decorated in the traditional style, we didn't see any bugs but we did have a small lizard visit one night, but you get that in the tropics, he didn't bother us and was rather cute! The decor at the IC is on the traditional side of things and not as modern or luxe as the bungalows at the Hilton and Sofitel, it didn't matter to us, but is something to note if you are wanting all out luxury or are on your honeymoon and wanting something a bit more special.

We had breakfast included in our stay and found the selection to be very good, plenty of fruits, cereals, yoghurts, breads and cooked options - make sure you try the fresh fruit juices! Throughout our stay we ate at both of the resort restaurants and enjoyed the food and drinks. Poisson cru was my favourite and my husband enjoyed the burgers! The Buffet and show on the beach was wonderful! The Saturday night buffet was especially good - four or five dessert tables filled with French pastries and other goodies, fabulous!

We really enjoyed walking around the peaceful, well-kept grounds each day and discovering new places to sit in a hammock or beach chair and watch the world go by, the dolphins at the resort seem very well cared for and were fun to watch as were the turtles.

Was it expensive to come here? Yes, it's French Polynesia and you will pay a lot for food, drinks, accommodation and activities but was it worth it? Yes! So worth it for the wonderful memories you will make and the drop dead gorgeous scenery that will blow you away! We had a magical stay in Moorea and the IC really added to our experience, lovely staff, great facilities and such a peaceful place to get away from it all, we would love to come back someday!

Mauruuru IC Moorea!

Room Tip: Best rooms at this resort are the Beach bungalows and Garden bungalows with plunge pools, most of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kat201125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Kat,
Ia Orana from Moorea!
Thank you for your very kind and detailed comments.
I am sure that your recommendations will be very useful to future visitors of Moorea.
You paint a very accurate and magical picture of our Island.
Come back soon for another celebration!
With my warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stop #1 (of 5) of our French Polynesian honeymoon. Stayed 4 nights. Overwater Bungalow

This was a great 1st stop and overall, a very good hotel (Intercon. standards). ROOMS were very nice, beautiful deck with a sitting area to watch the sunset. Water around bungalow is shallow enough to walk on ground but you need water shoes. It's very rocky and lots of sea cucumbers roaming around (eww). Be careful of cats! They walk around the property and are very friendly. We named the one that kept coming by bungalow "Pierre". Usually they are ok but I heard stories of couples petting them and letting them in to their bungalow and then can't get rid of them after. ACTIVITIES are cheaper here than on Bora Bora or Taha'a so we did the ATV and the whale/dolphin watch + motu lunch here. Both lots of fun. Guides were wonderful. there's also a dolphin center which was really cool but expensive if you wanted to swim with them. FOOD was good but nothing special. We really enjoyed the "poisson cru", local traditional dish consisting of raw tuna, vegetables and coconut milk on rice. We found the food repetitive after a while so went off the resort for dinner twice.

It's pretty far from the airport (45 min drive) compared to the Hilton, which is pretty annoying. It's also far from the main town, where there are lots of restaurants (and cabs are not that cheap... it was around $30-40 each way to the Hilton - which is closer to the town). Closer restaurants provide shuttle service so that was nice.

Overall a good stay and a good starting point for our vacation. We followed this stop with Raiatea, Le Taha'a, Bora Bora and Tahiti (layover).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vtsui1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea!
I would like to thank you for your comment.
We are happy to see that most aspects of your stay met your expectations and we hope that you have brought home some pleasant memories of French Polynesia.
Looking forward to welcome you one day.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

This hotel was really beautiful and the service was great. We worked with Custom Tahiti to book our Tahiti trip and they sent us great gifts to the room! The breakfast buffet at the hotel was great, and the pool area was really a fun spot to hang around and grab a drink at the swim up bar. We really enjoyed our Garden Bungalow as well. It was very large and super private. We were very happy here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Monika,
Ia Orana from Moorea!
Thank you for your wonderful comment.
What a great compliment for us to read how you were happy with your stay at our hotel.
Thank you again for your visit.

Kind sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papetoai
6.1 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
20.1 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
0.0 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#3 of 3 in Maharepa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa

Property: InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
Address: Papetoai 98729, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Papetoai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Papetoai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa is nestled between mountains and a lagoon on a stunning French Polynesian island. Right on the resort grounds is Moorea's widest range of activities, which includes the Moorea Dolphin Center, Bathys Diving Club, tennis, kayaking, canoeing, skiing and Jeep tours. The Arahurahu Marae temple is also worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort & Spa Moorea Hotel Moorea
Intercontinental Resort And Spa Moorea
Intercontinental Hotel Moorea
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing