We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This resort is absolutely beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Papetoai
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This resort is absolutely beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The grounds of this resort are perfectly maintained. Plenty of beautiful flowers everywhere. It's lovely to be able to walk past the dolphin center and watch the dolphins, or stop by the sea turtle rehabilitation center and watch the turtles. We upgraded to an overwater bungalow and we were so glad we did. We love to snorkel and watch the fish. There were so many kind of fish, and they weren't afraid of us! We'd snorkel for hours just outside our bungalow. Bring some fish food and watch the fish go crazy. The staff is very friendly, and the service is incredible. We highly recommend this resort and hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: If you enjoy snorkeling or watching the fish, an overwater bungalow is worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Jamie,
Ia Orana from Moorea!

Thank you for your wonderful comments. You paint a very accurate and magical picture of the snorkeling at our Hotel.
Your very appreciative comments are being shared with our entire team as we all feel a great sense of satisfaction and joy in knowing that we have collectively ensured that you really enjoyed your stay with us and that you intend to return.

Thanks again for your encouragement and we look forward to welcoming you back to Moorea in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,259
    722
    189
    79
    41
See reviews for
312
1,626
50
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a half board basis. The breakfasts were good with unusual fresh fruit and an omelette bar. The pain au chocolate were delicious. On one of the evenings there was a Tahitian show, with music and dancing. Generally, we hate entertainment for the masses, but this was good. The opportunity to have our photograph taken with the hunky men and gorgeous women at the end was a definite bonus! We bought a bottle of wine (which cost about £20) and drank tap water, which was good. There was a bottle of water in our room when we arrived but we didn't really need it. The garden room was large, clean and conveniently situated with a small plunge pool and a large double bed. We swam in the main pool early in the mornings. It was about 40m long and, although it curved slightly to follow the shape of the beach, we were able to swim laps. We walked to the nearby town (about 25 minutes). There was very little there but the walk was pleasant enough. We also swam in the sea where we saw manta rays and some colourful fish. The staff were helpful and very polite. I loved the way some of the women sang or hummed along to their traditional songs as they were working - refreshing! At the end of the day, this place is like paradise and something would have to be seriously wrong to not enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Eileen,
Ia Orana from Moorea!

Thank you for your comment and for your stay at our Hotel.

“The women sang or hummed along to their traditional songs as they were working “ : this phrase in itself represents the polynesian culture and I am very happy to learn that you have enjoyed that. Every action is always sincere and genuine, making our little group of islands a very special place.

We hope to see you back one day.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The service, food & all around experience was incredible! I highly recommend getting a package with breakfast included. It was the best breakfast spread I have ever seen in my many travels. The snorkeling outside our bungalow was breath taking. We were so happy & relaxed in our temporary home that it took a bit of coaxing to even want to leave & explore the island.

Room Tip: OWB 502!! Amazing sunrises. 3 Dolphins are your neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tami R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Tami,
Ia Orana from Moorea!

I would like to thank you for your time sharing this review.
It is a real pleasure for the whole team to read your wonderful comments.
I am happy to learn that you enjoyed every minute of your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Mauururu roa

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We traveled to Moorea for three days at the start of our August 2013 honeymoon in French Polynesia and stayed at the Intercontinental Moorea during our time. The best I can say is that this hotel was satisfactory. That said, for the price, I was underwhelmed and could easily be convinced to stay elsewhere on any future trips.

The rooms were spacious and clean, the beds are huge and comfortable, the food was edible, the staff was generally friendly (particularly the concierge!), the lagoon had some ok snorkeling, the water pressure was good and the location was beautiful. They have kayaks you can take out for two hours at a time, and many of the island water excursions run from the dive shop at this hotel, which is convenient. If you buy IC Ambassador status ($200 a year and definitely worth it if you are going on your honeymoon to Moorea/Bora Bora for a while), you get free internet, fresh fruit and daily water bottles; otherwise, you will pay out the nose for internet and water. The hotel is a 4500 XPF cab ride from the ferry dock, and a 1500 XPF/per person shared van ride to the airport. Like all nicer hotels in French Polynesia, the food and drinks are quite expensive (e.g. 2000 XPF for a cocktail and 2000 XPF for a mediocre burger), but we found the quality of the food to be just ok and ate at restaurants outside the hotel as much as possible since most will shuttle you for free and have better quality and/or prices. The snorkeling around the hotel is pretty limited since I think much of the coral is dead, but the lagoon at the hotel is worth an hour or two as there are some smaller fish to see and the water is very calm.

We are IC Ambassadors and IHG Rewards members, though are loyal to another hotel brand that has an excellent rewards program. We were staying on points here, which I suspect is the reason that we were initially given a standard room in the main building next to the pool (#168) and with not much of a view. The room was a typical hotel room on the small-ish side and was noisy being right next to the pool where kids play, so I do not think we were given any upgrade (nor, as they pointed out, are they required to give you one staying on points per their rewards program fine print, but we were on our honeymoon.. give me a break, Intercontinental). We are generally low maintenance travelers, but given it was as special occasion (and let’s be honest, we had spent a lot on the room and to get to FP), we spoke with the front desk about changing rooms and were only offered a $150+ a night upgrade to a pool bunglow. The pool bungalow room ended up being significantly larger and had a private plunge pool, but is not very near the beach and was all the towards the end of the row of bungalows and right next to the gym bungalow and spa. I would say just be aware that you will likely get put in a standard room and have to pay for any kind of upgrade from a standard room (which is truly nothing great).

Overall, we were definitely not made to feel special as honeymooners at this hotel, but perhaps because this place is packed with the same. Not that it was required, but other hotels we stayed at did make us feel special and I think everyone wants a bit of fanfare/romance on their honeymoon. Maybe we have just been spoiled by the other hotel chain we regularly stay with on business and pleasure, but Intercontinental could stand to step it up a bit at this hotel given the price point. We stayed at a few other Intercontinental hotels in French Polynesia and preferred them to this hotel, though Moorea is certainly beautiful.

Room Tip: Room 168 is in the main building and looks out on to the pool, which can be a bit noisy. We would no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lawblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your visit and comments.

We are sorry to learn that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations.
We understand the pleasure of benefiting from the Ambassador memberships' complimentary upgrade however, as you mention, it is the programs' policy that this benefit is not applicable for reservations using point redemption. For the comfort of our guests we try and be flexible however, we are in the midst of our high season and our occupancy simply does not allow it.
Regarding pricing, it is well know that French Polynesia is an expensive destination and trust us that we, living here, also suffer from it and understand your frustration. Cost of living is high due to the remote location and extremely complicated logistics but it is a small price to pay for all the unique experiences our islands have to offer.
Finally, we are sorry that you did not appreciate the food offered at the hotel. Thankfully the majority of feedback are extremely positive and culinary tastes and preferences vary greatly from one individual to another, especially with a destination like Moorea which receives visitors from such diverse nationalities and demographics.

Thank you once again for your visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
160 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a great resort. It feels secluded and private while still being open to the sea and local area. Stretching across a few acres it includes over the water bachs and standard rooms, which we had.

The restaurants are great, the outdoor bar rolling onto the sand superb. The staff are fantastic and service was perfect, which, I have to say was surprisingly unexpected.

I'd highly recommend the whale, dolphin, ray and shark tour that leaves from here. It was an amazing day out.

The only bugbear was the dolphins. I know, we're kiwis, so we are sensitive about these things and it isn't our country, blah blah blah. However, we don't think that exploiting dolphins for money is a great thing to do.

Anyway, other than that, we had a fantastic time and we'd go back,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atomic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea!

I would like to sincerely thank you for your comment.
I am very happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel.

We have taken good notes on your views concerning the Moorea Dolphin Center.
Understanding fully well what you are up against, we shall read to you that the Moorea Dolphin Center is dedicated to the highest standards of care for his three dolphins by following the Alliance of Marine Mammal Parks and Aquariums as well as the International Marine Animal Trainers' Association commitments.
You also might want to visit their website providing the philosophy of their company towards interaction, education, conservation and research departments.

Thanks again for your encouragement and we look forward to welcoming you back to Moorea in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
211 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I was only stopping off at the INC Moorea to ‘rest up’ after a long trip according to my travel agent. Wow were we pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Frankly, today we were very sad to leave to fly off to Bora Bora.

We stayed in OWB 512 which was absolutely perfect in every way. It was large, comfortable, all the modern amenities, and had a stunning view. I cannot begin to tell you how rich the marine life is at the INC Moorea. I am in BB now and there is no comparison…the INC Moorea is far better for sealife. Just snorkeling outside of our bungalow we saw reef sharks, rays, stone fish, parrot fish, octopi, puffer fish, sea cucumbers….just to name a few. The coral is beautiful and it was some of the best waters I have ever seen. You will be amazed.

We stayed by the pools most of the day and they are both great. Two infinity edge pools that are the perfect temperature. There was never a shortage of chairs and the staff was courteous and kind. We used the kayaks several times and had fun exploring the area. In addition, we did the topdive and had a trip of a lifetime (it was the first dive for both of us). The staff was amazing and made you feel safe and relaxed. We also did the TIki Village show which was a really positive experience and meal. The show was very good.

Breakfast was an A+++ and always fresh and plentiful. We also had lunch by the pool and it was very good.

Our only negatives were an extremely rude French concierge (rude every time we spoke to him) and the beach BBQ. For the price, the food was very average and the show was simply not good.

All in all this place is amazing and we cannot wait to return. Hats off the INC Moorea for a great resort.

Room Tip: Room 512 is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew_branham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Andrew,
Ia Orana from Moorea!

There is no better compliment than hearing that you cannot wait for come back…
We are thrilled to read your comments and see that you have taken back with you some wonderful memories.
Thank you for your stay and for your compliments.

I am sorry to learn that you left with mixed feelings regarding the staff of our Conciergerie, the warmth and kindness of our staff are recurring compliments leaving most guests very satisfied.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon our small piece of paradise …

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

First of all, I must thank my travel agent, Lisa Corso from Tahiti Legends for recommending the ICH! She knows so much about Tahiti and we could not have had a better trip! We split our time between Moorea and Bora Bora and loved every minute!! Based on her recommendation we joined the Ambassador program for the InterContinental- this guarantees you an upgrade, bottled water in your room every day, free WiFi and late check out! So worth the $200!!

We were in room 604, over the water bungalow! It was very private and quiet. We were actually right across from the Dolphin Center which was very cool to see the dolphins everyday as we walked back and forth to our hut.

The views were simply amazing, the room was perfect and we truly were able to relax and unwind.

While we stayed in Bora Bora, we went on the ATV Tour which was a lot of fun, participated in the Dolphin encounter, I think my husband would have preferred to swim with them but I was happy we had the experience with the dolphins! We also went on the shark and sting ray feeding, you feed the sting ray not the fish. The snorkeling was really good!

We booked the Tahitian dance show on Saturday, it was supposed to be outside but the weather was unpredictable so they moved it inside at Fare Nui. The buffet dinner and entertainment was very good. Just wished it was outside! Nicholas was very attentive to our needs both at lunch and at dinner! He really paid attention to all of the guests!

Yumi, the concierge was very nice and recommended some restaurants for us! We like the Mayflower, Coco d'lle and Fare Nui the best.

Moorea is so beautiful! We are happy that we were fortunate enough to celebrate our 15 wedding anniversary in the French Polynesia!

Room Tip: Over the water bungalows are very private, make sure you ask for one where the water is not shallow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina_NY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sabrina,
Ia Orana from Moorea!
I am delighted to learn that we were able to contribute to your special birthday.
It is always encouraging to hear that my staff is meeting expectations and I hope that you will keep memories of your visit to Moorea forever and ever.
Come back soon for another celebration!
Kind sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papetoai
6.1 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
20.1 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa

Property: InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
Address: Papetoai 98729, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Papetoai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Papetoai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa is nestled between mountains and a lagoon on a stunning French Polynesian island. Right on the resort grounds is Moorea's widest range of activities, which includes the Moorea Dolphin Center, Bathys Diving Club, tennis, kayaking, canoeing, skiing and Jeep tours. The Arahurahu Marae temple is also worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort & Spa Moorea Hotel Moorea
Intercontinental Resort And Spa Moorea
Intercontinental Hotel Moorea
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing