We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice way to start a French Polynesia holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Papetoai
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A nice way to start a French Polynesia holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Intercontinental Moorea

On arrival to the IC Moorea, we were greeted by a very friendly Polynesian check in staff in Polynesian clothing. (I say this because if you go to Bora Bora IC Thalasso and Spa the staff there are dressed more in a hotel uniform) We were given a welcome drink (of orange/tropical juice) while we completed the paperwork. A porter then took us via golf cart to our OWB, which was 512. The OWB is nice, being a tropical island it's different to a modern 5 star room or suite. (I draw comparison to IC Bora Bora Thalasso, the bungalow there is much more modern and significantly more luxurious – typical of what you would imagine a 5 star resort in a tropical resort would be like – of course you pay a bit more in Bora Bora). But the IC Moorea bungalow is nice in it's own way and spacious enough, although the separate toilet is a bit of a squeeze. Bungalow 512 unfortunately or fortunately has coral underneath it, when you climb down the ladder, you are up to your knees in water. There were many different fish swimming amongst the coral which made for great snorkelling. Compared to the other OWB around us, it was not possible to dive in. We had to walk maybe 10 meters off the coral to reach the deeper water. It would have been nice to be able to dive off our deck straight into the water. If you want shallow water, this is the bungalow for you. The second thing which came as a surprise, is the water is actually an emerald green colour, not the light blue sky colour you imagine a tropical island paradise to be. (The colour of the Bora Bora water is what you imagine a tropical island paradise to be).

The bed was a comfortable king size bed, the ensuite had two sinks, a bathtub, a shower and a toilet. There was a separate sitting area, with desk, plus an outdoor deck with a ladder going down to the water.

Pool Area

Nice large arc shaped infinity pool with pool bar.
Large rectangular above ground infinity pool.
Adequate number of sun lounges etc, plus shadecloth covered sun lounges, tables / chairs.
These shadecloth covered areas are handy as the sun during the day is scorching hot! (at least at this time of the year!)

Food and Drink

Before I came to Moorea / Bora Bora I had read quite a lot of reports that the resort is expensive. Just to give you an idea, where I live in Australia (Cairns – great barrier reef), a McDonalds Big Mac is $5, an entree from a resta is generally $15-20 USD, a decent piece of steak in Australia will cost you $30-40 USD, a pizza from a restaurant is $25 USD, a hamburger / fries from a restaurant will be $18-20 USD. A good plate of pasta – 25 USD. Of course, having been to the USA myself previously, the prices in Australia are definitely more than what you pay for a similar meal in the USA. You won't beat the Bellagio (Las Vegas) buffet for price and variety but that is probably one extreme of how awesome food prices are in the USA. There are no free refills of drinks in Australia. So I wasn't overly shocked by the prices of meals here in Moorea although those from the USA would find prices here more expensive.

Breakfast – (in Fare Nui restaurant) - buffet has all the usual breakfast buffet things – fruits, youghurts, cereals, pastries, juices hot selections – bacon, scrambled eggs, beans, tomato, sausages. Eggs cooked to your liking. Fruit juices. Coffee etc. Nicely laid out in a nice tropical setting. If not included in the meal plan, this buffet will cost you 3701 XFP per person. (3850 XFP pp in IC Bora Bora Thalasso – much the same food, more modern / luxurious looking dining area and decor).

Lunch menu – we either ate down by the pool bar or at the casual restaurant (Fare Hana) under the more formal restaurant (Fare Nui) which also serves as the breakfast restaurant. Again to give you an idea – a caesar salad 1950 XFP, caesar salad with tuna or chicken skewers 2250 XFP, pizza 2000 XFP, various burgers 2000 XFP. Sirloin steak 2500 XFP. This food is fine. A sprite is 350 XFP, bottled mineral water 600 XFP. Again generally on par with prices in Australia! Cocktails alcoholic 1400 XFP and non alcoholic 1200XFP.

Dinner – you can choose to eat the casual menu in Fare Hana (same as lunch menu) or eat upstairs in the Fare Nui restaurant. You have a better selection and more speciality dishes. From memory one night I had the parrot fish fillet over rice (a bit more elaborate than I've just described), this was somewhere around 2900 XFP or so. The presentation is excellent. The most expensive dish from the restaurant was the lobster tail plus lasagne (again more elaborate than i've described), however this was ~ 5000 XFP. I didn't try this as the waitress said it wasn't a very big meal and the parrot fish was more substantial.

On certain nights and when there's more people they have special buffet nights, special theme nights, BBQ beach nights, but during our stay here, we didn't have an opportunity to try this.

For a bit of variety there are other restaurants around the island. There's a restaurant directly across from the IC Moorea, the “Las Villas Des Sens” (Legends Resort). This is about 50m from the road, visible from the main road. Very nice fine dining, very well presented, well worth a try if you'd like a change from Fare Nui. Entrees around 2600 XFP, mains 3000-3500 XFP.

Other activities

My wife and I tried out the day spa, we both had a shoulder/neck/back massage – 9400 XFP. Very relaxing.

Snorkelling gear – is free to use, but they take a 4000 XFP deposit per person, refundable upon returning the gear.

We were going to hire a car and drive round the island (8 hours – 8100XFP) however we decided on the Catamaran Mana round the island tour by boat (8500 XFP). This was definitely the thing to do, 4 hours in total, great commentary by Bernard the French skipper. There were only 5 passengers on board. We swam with reef sharks, sting rays, saw dolphins, plus all the beauty that Moorea has to offer. The water colour in different parts of the island are your various shades of blue, reminescent of what you see in the glossy island brochures. Plus you get a glimpse of what the other resort OWB look like too. The OWB of the sofitel and The Pearl Resort appear to have the light blue water colour you see in brochures. The hilton appears to be in deep blue water. That leaves the Intercontinental with it's emerald green water.

Staff
We don't speak French but we found the staff were friendly and helpful (despite what others have commented)
A particularly cheerful and friendly reception Polynesian staff member was Wilnie


Traveller tips at a glance & saving some money
you don't visit a place like this (or Bora Bora) because you cannot afford it, however there are a few smart ways you can make your money work for you

1. join the Ambassador club ($200) for guaranteed room upgrades, daily bottled water 1.5L and late check outs.
2. If you are concerned by the price of bottle water (600 XFP – 750ml sparkling at the restaurant), much more in the in-room mini-bar, then I found a filtered cold water dispenser in the gymnasium.
3. Bring your reef shoes as the bottom is full of coral off the OWB
4. if you borrow equipment, such as snorkelling equipment, or a power point adaptor, a sizeable deposit is charged (4000 for snorkelling gear per person, 8000 for power point adaptor) – this will come up on your bill if you don't return it!
5. If you are going to Bora Bora (especially IC Bora Bora Thalasso & Spa) after Moorea, catch the early flight. We caught the 14:40pm flight, which was a mistake because the difference between IC Moorea and IC Bora Bora Thalasso & Spa is huge, the earlier you get to Bora Bora, the better. Likewise, we caught the 15:05pm flight out of Bora Bora back to Papeete, there is a 18:30pm flight or so which maximises your time in Bora Bora
6. If you want to save some money, arrange your own transfers on arrival eg. Taxi from Papeete Airport to Ferry Terminal was 2000 XPF (just go to the taxi rank outside terminal – no shortage of taxis - ask driver the price before you get in taxi), Ferry from Papeete to Moorea 990 XFP per person (buy ticket at the ferry terminal), Ferry Terminal to IC Moorea 1000 XPF per person (Yellow mini-van “Moorea Explorer” - waiting at Ferry Terminal to take pax to their hotels), IC Moorea to Moorea Airport 1500 XPF per person. I just called them up (using the in-bunglow telephone) rather than going through the concierge. Unknown to me, the “Moorea Explorer” company confirms with the hotel your scheduled pickup time, so you won't miss your plane.
7. Arrange your own internal Tahiti flights using the Air Tahiti Nui website. Our internal flights from Moorea to Bora Bora and Bora Bora to Papeete was approx $800 USD for two people. I asked my travel agent in Australia their price, no where close to booking online direct.

Should I visit IC Moorea or IC Bora Bora Thalasso?
(note the IC Bora Bora Moana has the same feel as IC Moorea – a more tropical feel to it (these resorts are older) – whereas the IC Bora Bora Thalasso is much more modern, more luxurious)

This may help you decide:

Based on approx the same cost, if you can't decide between 5 nights in Moorea or 3 nights in Bora Bora? Bora Bora.
do you want to see lots of fish swimming off your OWB? – Moorea has coral and lots of fish, (Bora Bora bottom is sandy).
Do you want to see the typical colour of the water you dream about in an island paradise direct off your bungalow? Bora Bora.
If you want a luxurious modern bungalow that you step in and go “wow” - Bora Bora.
If you only go to Moorea, you will still go “wow”, or maybe “that's nice”, but once you have come to Bora Bora, you will see what I mean.
Do you want to feed dolphins? Moorea
Do you want to be on a bigger island so you can visit more local villages? Moorea
Do you want more land based activities (like ATV driving, golf)? Moorea
Do you want more local island restaurants? Moorea
Do you want to visit a day spa having a massage looking at the floor? Moorea (back, neck shoulders massage 9400 XFP)
Do you want to visit a day spa where you get a massage look through a glass bottom floor looking at fish swimming under you? Bora Bora (back, neck, shoulder massage 9600XFP)
Do you want to feed sting rays? Moorea and Bora Bora

Room Tip: make sure you ask about water depth if getting an overwater bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank danielt25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Sir,

Congratulations and thank you !!!

Congratulations for the job done. It is worth a press article.

Thank you for the quality of the report. This is simply us. No praise to the skies, no excessive criticism .No exaggeration in a way or another, just honestly observed and reported facts.

It seems you spent some good time in our islands. You enjoyed their diversity. This is the purpose of a trip.

I wish I met you for a drink and a chat.

With my warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,259
    721
    189
    79
    41
See reviews for
311
1,626
50
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed in a beach bungalow with our own mini infinity pool on the deck. The place is pretty vast, with its own sizable stretch of private beach, pontoons from where the dive boats launch, some big infinity pools, lagoons etc.

The bangalows were nice, and the service was very good and, I found, very friendly. In particular, the concierge was very helpful in arranging activities and excursions for us.

Everything very expensive of course - like all teh luxury resorts in FP.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmrenouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Ia Orana,
We are very pleased to know that you had a great time with us.
It is with pleasure that we pass on your compliments to our team.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Best regards from Moorea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed here in Sept of 2007, Words can't express how beautiful and magnificent this place was. The rooms were great, the staff was amazing the food was decent for another country cuisine.

The ocean water and pool was exquisite, snorkeling was so much fun and we got to see all the exotic fish.

Very expensive to eat in the Polynesia because everything is imported but it was such a life time dream to come here

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheriyah8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Customer,
I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our hotel.
I am always delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and is with pleasure that I will share your comments with my team.
Thank you again for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back to Moorea in the near future.
Cordially
Thierry Brovelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Staying in an over water bungalow for my honeymoon was a life long dream. And the IC in Moorea fulfilled that. Thankfully I had read the reviews and knew what to expect, and was mostly pleased with the accommodation. My husband on the other hand had not read any reviews and was expecting to get a lot more out of what we were paying for. We have traveled many places in the world and to other countries where we did not speak the language and for the amount of money you spend at the IC Moorea, you do not get the value or quality that you would want or expect. After spending $700 a night for the room we did not enjoying have to shell out another $30 a day for internet that we could not even use in the bungalow. Yes they follow the standard for food and room prices in FP which is crazy but they do have to import most everything, however the food is nothing special and the staff can be very rude and indifferent. Eat at local snack bars and roulettes for better prices and better tasting food. And if you do not speak French expect that you will be ignored. In the States, the Caribbean, South America and Australia, you get the royal treatment when you spend $700 a night at a resort. At the IC in Moorea as at most resorts in French Polynesia, you are made to feel like an annoyance and an inconvenience to the staff. We also used home away website and stayed at a vacation rental in Moorea, and we stayed at small pensions on other islands, the people at the smaller places treated us so much better than the big resort. It was worth staying a couple nights at the IC to have an overwater bungalow experience and to their credit the room was very nice and the lagoon and the resort was very clean and beautiful. It was a blast to snorkel right off our balcony, there was coral with tons of fish and rays right there! Plus being able to see the dolphins and sea turtles was awesome. Just based on the little I saw of the other resorts I would put this above or equal to the hilton and pearl, but if we go back to Moorea we will do a vacation rental again not the IC.

Room Tip: Bungalow 603 overwater was great, deep enough to jump into the water and swim and snorkel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Ia Orana from Moorea,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Guest satisfaction is our priority and your comments will enable us to continue to improve our service and facilities.

I am happy that your appreciated the lagoon and its rich and diverse marine life. It is definitely the gem of Polynesia; however Moorea is privileged to also benefit from a magnificent and natural volcanic range which provides another environment to discover.

I would like to thank you for your understanding of the difficulties of operating in such a remote location, the challenges (such as internet) and high prices which result. We do our best to alleviate these consequences; however it is true that one will never be able to compare Polynesia to the standards experience in Europe or America.

Sadly, your comment regarding the staff really surprises me. The majority of our staff speaks a very good level of English considering most are self taught and have limited access to higher education. The reputation of the ‘Polynesian Welcome’ comes from their genuine curiosity, kindness and warmth and I am confident that the employees at IC Moorea are not any different.

Once again, I thank you for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

There is no doubt that Moorea is a beautiful island and we enjoyed exploring and taking day trips, particularly the Ecotour trip with Bernard, to see the hump back whales, sharks and rays. Outstanding, so much so we did the trip twice.

However, it was a disappointing stay at the IC Moorea, where we booked for 10 nights. At one point I was ready to return home. However, the manager was very approachable and our issues were dealt with in an exceptional manner.

Food was pretty average considering the prices, but the specialised buffets with entertainment were good fun. We found the staff could be very intrusive at times, particularly when we hadn't dined at the restaurant for a couple of nights, when we had made alternative arrangements ourselves we actually received a phone call asking what we were doing!

The over water bungalow decor and furniture, as well as the bathroom were pretty dated. Our bungalow was situated over some type of water pump which kept us awake at first, still we got used to the noise. However, during the last 2 nights there was a problem and it sounded as thought it running dry, despite our complaints to reception, we could not get them to address or fix the issue, which resulted in a couple of sleepless nights. There were several power cuts through the night, which normally wouldn't be an issue, but my husband uses a CPAP machine, the staff went out of their way to run an extension to the bungalow from their generator so he could sleep comfortably, for which we were very grateful. When the manager was made aware of our problem he was kind enough to refund our expenditure for all our meals taken at the hotel and some accommodation to compensate us.

Staff were generally helpful, but could be quite arrogant and intrusive at times, particularly at reception. Restaurant and bar staff were very friendly and helpful, although there was a language barrier at times, especially if you don't speak French.

I could not help but compare our stay to one we had experienced in Fiji at the Outrigger earlier that year, the service and hotel certainly did not compare and meet our expectations. Sad to say that even though we enjoyed aspects of our holidays, i.e. day trips, exploring Moorea, snorkelling regularly from the bungalow deck (marine life exceptional), our stay at the IC was definitely not one of the highlights of our trip.

However, we wish to extend our thanks to the hotel manager, who was very understanding and went out of his way to assist us. Exceptional service there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Ia Orana from Moorea,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Rest assured that guest satisfaction is our priority and that your comments will help us continue to improve our service and facilities.

I am happy to hear that you appreciated the natural beauty of Moorea. It is a gem which holds many treasures however, the isolation and remoteness of the island results in complex logistics and expensive importation of goods which hotels, and all other forms of business, must align to.

Every unit of the resort was entirely renovated within the past 3 years. Being made with local materials the deco wants to give a tropical feeling and respect the sustainable development policy that we have embraced the last years. Consequently, this none ostentatious luxury can be sometimes perceived as giving a more aging feeling.

Similarly, our employees are on the constant lookout for ways to make your stay more enjoyable and I believe this is what you perceived as being intrusive. Rest assured, however that the intention was sincere and, like their efforts to converse in our guests’ home language, their genuine desire is to see you happy.

I would also like to thank you for your understanding of the challenging logistics of operating on such a remote location and the efforts made by the management.

Thank you again for your stay and comments.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

We were there during a very quiet week so it was very quiet throughout our stay. We stayed here a few days before heading to Bora Bora. If we visit again, I don’t think we would stay here again only because we would want to stay closer to the airport/other restaurants.

Check in: B
We were checked in quite quickly since there were no others there during this time. The lady who checked us in was professional and nice. The only reason I gave a middle rating was only because the entire process still took around 45 minutes. She spent about 15 minutes trying to fix the printer then another 10 minutes heading to the bar to fix us a tropical fruit juice which we much appreciated; however, after a long flight, we were hoping to just have an easy check in process.

Room: B
We stayed at a premium beach bungalow. The lady at check in mentioned that they had switched our room so I don’t know if it was for the better or worse. We were in a deluxe beach bungalow which was close to the main building and fairly close to the pools and main restaurant for breakfast. Our room looked clean and everything was stocked. The only reason for the B rating was that there were small little ants that would run all over, the desk where we put our water, sunglasses, etc. to the bathroom sink where we would wash our face and brush our teeth. From the best that we can see, there were none around the toilet and most importantly the bed. Other than the ants, everything else was great. The bungalow was spacious with a nice outdoor space to enjoy a snack or a glass of wine. The living room area had a nice sofa and armchair to relax. There was a great deal of privacy at this resort, the way each bungalow is situated, you can never see the next door bungalow which was great.

Restaurant: Fare Nui - Breakfast: B
We had breakfast included in our package so we were here every morning throughout our stay. There was a crepe/pancake and omelet station on the first day and then for the other days we had to order it which was not a problem. There were:
- fresh fruits, papaya, pineapple, mangoes, etc- I wish they had nets around the fruits since there would typically be a lot of flies or little bugs around the fruits which made it not too appetizing.
- fresh vegetables and cold cuts for salads
- plenty of pastries – croissants, chocolate croissants, rolls, fruit bread, cinnamon swirl – not sure if it was me but felt like the pastries were much more delicious than the US.

Amenities/Beach: B
There are 2 pools there, one is larger with a swim up bar, the other is sort of like a plunge pool. Pools were well kept. It was quiet while we there so we never had any issues getting a chair by the pool. The beach is also well kept; however, it is not the soft white sand, it is more like broken coral and sort of hurt to walk on. Kayaks are complimentary for 2 hours. There is an area where the soft coral/seaweed (?) which is fairly shallow so we had to steer carefully. Once we cleared that area, we did see a small reef shark and a few sting rays.
Snorkeling is also great right by the resort, especially by the stilts of the overwater bungalows. There were so many fish, well worth the effort of swimming against the current.

Dolphin Center: A
You can pay to swim with the dolphins but we did not indulge. We did however stroll there in the morning to watch the trainer feed the dolphins which was our budget way to catch the dolphins.

Location: B
This resort was situated away from most restaurants. There are only a few restaurants close by:
Les Tipaniers which will come to pick you up
La Villa Des Sens which is across the resort in the Legends resort
La Plantation which also offered pick up
For the other restaurants, La Mahagony, Rudy’s – the resort is too far away and you will need a car to get there.

There is a convenience store/market across the street which was very convenient. We bought water, juices and snacks there to bring back to our bungalow.

Because of our location, we ended up renting a car for 2 days during our 4 night stay. One of those days we went to Daniel's Pizza! Delicious and affordable! We actually brought one back for later but because of the little ants, we ended up having to throw it away.

All in all, it was a lovely resort with great snorkeling and friendly service. Next time though, we may opt to stay somewhere else with more restaurant selection and not a need to rent a car.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Ia Orana from Moorea,
First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay. Your comments are of great value and will enable us to further improve our service and facilities.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Moorea. It is indeed a very genuine island which managed to keep its’ natural state. However, like in any wild environment the presence of lush vegetation is complimented with its diverse inhabitants. Rest assured that housekeeping puts great effort is keeping ants away, however they are a persistent species which very much appreciate the beautiful flowers used for the romantic decoration of the bungalows!
On a similar note, Moorea is a relatively large island and restaurants, stores and hotels are spread out along the coastal road. Whilst we are indeed further from some outlets, hotels located in their proximity are further from the Tipaniers, Villa des Sens, La Plantation and the many other outlets nearby.
I would also like to seize this opportunity to thank you for your understanding of the adjustments necessary to maintain operation during the low season. Whilst when sufficient guests are present we open an egg and pancake stand, with few guests it is more logical to offer the same selection à la carte.
It was a pleasure welcoming you to our small piece of paradise. Rest assured that guest satisfaction is our priority and that we maintain continuous efforts to provide the best possible experience to all our guests.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Stayed at one of the over water bungalows... Amazing.
It would have been nicer if our bungalow was facing open water... still we had a great time.

Room Tip: Should request the location of your bungalow... some over water bungalows have better views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pekopoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Directeur général at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Ia Orana from Moorea,

Thank you very much for sharing this comment with us.
We are happy to see that you enjoyed the resort and hope to welcome you again soon.
With my warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papetoai
6.1 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
20.1 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa

Property: InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
Address: Papetoai 98729, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Papetoai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Papetoai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa is nestled between mountains and a lagoon on a stunning French Polynesian island. Right on the resort grounds is Moorea's widest range of activities, which includes the Moorea Dolphin Center, Bathys Diving Club, tennis, kayaking, canoeing, skiing and Jeep tours. The Arahurahu Marae temple is also worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort & Spa Moorea Hotel Moorea
Intercontinental Resort And Spa Moorea
Intercontinental Hotel Moorea
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing