We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”

Lilikoi Garden Cafe
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Papetoai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to our polynesian "roulotte"! In the shade of our coconut grove you will find home made delicacies to enjoy in our garden or to take away to the beach. Open everyday from 11am to 3pm and from 6.30Pm to 8.30Pm on friday night. You will also discover a tiny shop in a gypsy caravan My Little Coconut Shop with local art craft. Come and ENJOY my cuisine, I use fresh local produce and make fresh ice cream and cake everyday. My receipes are a mix of french, japanese and american influences. See you soon at Lilikoi!!!
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

My husband and I were on our 10 day Honeymoon in Moorea and we discovered this place towards the end our trip. I wish I would have known sooner since we would have eaten here every day!! It's really close to the Hilton Resort (when you leave the hotel take a right and it's a 3 min walk). The food is amazing and you can't beat the prices. We had a variety of dishes such as the shrimp and rice, sandwiches, chicken, ice cream and burgers which were all handmade and AMAZING. On our last day we finished our meals and instead of ordering dessert....we got another burger, haha! Can't wait to visit again when she opens up her second shop. Much love and keep doing what you are doing :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jojo1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mozgap, Propriétaire at Lilikoi Garden Cafe, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Maruru Thank you so much!!!
See you soon in Moorea!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    68
    12
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Got HOSED!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Maybe it's because we're Asian, but we were ripped off by this harlot. I'm not sure how she's getting all of these great reviews, but our experience was horrible.

First, she BSs about how her ice cream is homemade as she takes out a container of supermarket ice cream.

Second, she scrapes out the ice cream and sorbet, and says it's difficult to scoop because it's still hard... So we end up with probably five tablespoons of the garbage.

Then she tells us our $13 ice cream is $24. After we call her out on it, she giggles to herself and says, "oh sorry... My math isn't great".

Horrible. Stay away... Unless you like to get hosed like swine in a mud bath.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank raycifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mozgap, Propriétaire at Lilikoi Garden Cafe, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
What a surprise to read your message, I do not understand all your anger about me. You came with your family I explained you that I just opened the café and that I will be happy to cook for you even if it was early. You ordered ice cream 2 scoops for about 6 people and one drink that's fine for me. Then you told me you had no pacific franc so I offered you to pay in dollars I made a mistake doing the exchange rate and told you I was sorry. You did not like my ice cream fine!!
I invite you in my kitchen so you can see that they are home made. The container I use to store my ice cream does look like a ice cream container yes that's the regulation here store ice cream in white plastic container!!
You can also see that I make ice cream with the fruits I have here on the island!

For the fact of being Asian I have no problem at all with that the best way to explain you that I respect asian people a lot is the fact that my husband is asian american too!!
So sorry for the bad experience, I hope you had a great time on Moorea and that you enjoyed your holidays!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charming Delish Garden”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Absolutely delicious! We heard great things on this spot and since my husband and I were staying at the Hilton we had to give it a try. Its a quick 5-10 minute walk from the hotel, as soon as you leave the hotel you make a right and keep walking straight. you'll bump into it on the left side of the street. Its a colorful outdoor garden Cafe with a super friendly owner/cook. The menu has a good variety of plates to choose from for better prices than the hotel. We were there for lunch and we both loved what we had. I also highly recommend you try the ice cream, its homemade! We had a lovely time here and surely recommend you visit this charming garden.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PinkCherry_0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mozgap, Propriétaire at Lilikoi Garden Cafe, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you much for your message, I'm sure you enjoyed Moorea a lot, hope to see you again here!!
Sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorea
1 review
“Sweet food sweet cook”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Dinner at Liylkoi ended a perfect day on Moorea for two Aussie visitors. Her truck is discretely located down a drive nearly opposite a beautiful beach where her cheerful presence gives you confidence to not look beyond her specials. Today it was coconut prawns with rice accompanied by breadfruit ( from across the fence) made into chips, followed by lemon (picked nearby) cake with a choice of homemade ice-creams - both vanilla and coconut were superb. Thanks, for a casual, fun dinner.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mozgap, Propriétaire at Lilikoi Garden Cafe, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Maruru for your message, I'm sure you had a great time in Moorea,
Sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch spot near the Hilton”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Thank goodness we read about this place before we came to Moorea! We decided to try this cafe for lunch, and ended up eating here 3 days in a row. The owner is so nice, with a great story. Also, the food was absolutely delicious and great "bang for your buck". We were tired of paying for overpriced sandwiches at the Hilton, so this was a great find. The price was around $35 USD for the two of us for lunch, which is a really low price on the island.

P.S. We are the couple from Dallas, and got our Hamburgers as soon as we got back. :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kholash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mozgap, Propriétaire at Lilikoi Garden Cafe, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your message, I was happy to talk about TEXAS with you!! I'm sure you had a great time in Moorea!! Sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lilikoi Garden Cafe also viewed

 
Maharepa, Moorea
Moorea, Society Islands
 
Moorea, Society Islands
 

Been to Lilikoi Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing