We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun!”

Toatea Creperie & Bar
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Papetoai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Built over a natural aquarium, the Toatea Restaurant & Bar appears to float on water and offers sweeping views over the lagoon and Moorea's majestic peaks. The Toatea features a la carte menu of Brittany Crepes. The only overwater Restaurant & Bar in French Polynesia. Open every evenings.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Great food and atmosophere!!! Eat your crepe while you watch black tip reef sharks swim below! It was amazing! The food and the view!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ashlee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    580
    175
    54
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fun setting, crepes were okay”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The crepes were pretty good, my husand didn't care for them so much. I thought they were good except REALLY salty. The crepes were big enough to share. I would recommend getting one entree crepe and one dessert crepe It was fun to watch the sharks at night and sit over the water. This restaurant is subject to some high winds.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank abc345345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pavilion
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fun place to eat”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I loved stopping by for Crepes after dark. The lights shinning down in the water showed the fish swimming around under the dock. The crepes were very good. Loved the variety to chose from, even dessert crepes to top off your evening.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PavilionSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An option”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Teenage prefers crepe. That was the main reason we selected Toatea for our last night's dinner in Moorea. The other reason was shark watching. There are always a few black tip sharks underneath the board walk.
The 2 savoury crepes were way too salty. We had waited a long time for the dessert. Should have asked them to come up together!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat_Family120824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A Favorite Restaurant from Our Honeymoon”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I can't say enough about this restaurant and the chef. I wish we had eaten here more during our stay. We thought the food was delicious, very different from any other places we ate during our honeymoon, and had downright fun dishes. All the seating is outside on the walkways, and they put lights on the water so you can watch all of the fish and the sharks swim underneath of you. This was so entertaining for us. The chef comes around to visit each table and genuinely cares that you enjoy your dish. Even before that, I had asked for ham to be left off of a dish (as I am allergic but I didn't mention this,) and he stopped by to suggest adding a few other toppings at no additional charge. Very thoughtful! Overall they have great food and a great atmosphere. Definitely stop by!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aduncan722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toatea Creperie & Bar also viewed

 
Maharepa, Moorea
Haapiti, Moorea
 

Been to Toatea Creperie & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing