We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“breakfast buffet”

Arii Vahine Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Papetoai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: French, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Arii Vahine Gourmet Restaurant features a stunning panoramic ocean view and offers a perfect combination of Polynesian seafood and international cuisine. Our "a la carte" menu is available every evening, except for the wednesday, day of our barbecue buffet and the saturday, day of our surf & Turf buffet, both buffets with the best polynesian dance show of Moorea.
nanuet ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“breakfast buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Extensive buffet for breakfast- only complaint is that the buffet items not hot - bacon - French toast etec on the cold side. Beautiful view and good service. Coffee also not hot enough tho refilled when asked .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank suemwmco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    57
    22
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conakry, Guinea
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast, marginally above average a la carte, good weekly buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Restaurant located in the Hilton Resort. Most guests have breakfast here; maybe half have dinner here too. This broadly reflects what you can expect to encounter....

Excellent buffet breakfasts. Wide choice of American and continental items, with local touches thrown in too. I'm vegetarian and was very well served, but my meat-eating friends would enjoy just as much. Omelette station is speedy and tasty. As to be expected with the French influence, there are a wide range of bread and fruit choices. Fresh crepes are a highlight.

A la carte dinner is less impressive, if only because the restaurant needs to meet varied palates of international clientele. Food is capably cooked, well presented, courteously served, and reasonably tasty. B to B+ grades in all respects, but no As. You're not going to be disappointed, but neither blown away.

Theme nights (Sat and Wed when we visited) are very much worth it. Twice the price of an a la carte main course, but cheaper than a la carte three course (especially with shared bottle of wine free per two adults). Food was extensive, good, and varied. We kept going up to buffet....again and again.

If you have a half board reservation, you're going to be pretty happy. Likewise, if you only have breakfast included, you will eat here a couple of nights and eat out another couple of nights and be just as happy. Just don't arrive on a room only booking....there are almost non-existent breakfast alternatives on the island (unless your idea of breakfast is a Power Bar in your bedroom) and you will pay through the nose for the daily breakfast buffet.

Finally, enjoy Moorea......you can't fail to!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhingingP0M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, CA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Four breakfasts, four dinners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The breakfast buffet (included in our package, thank goodness) was fabulous! My vegan-diet husband was in heaven. Buffet included a variety of fruits and vegetables, pancakes, eggs, breakfast meats, sweet breads, non-sweet breads, crepes, made-to-order omelets, tofu, cheeses, cold cuts, potatoes, juices, yogurt... The servers were always friendly. The buffet closes at 10:00 and one morning we rolled in at 9:50. It was a bit of a scramble for us because they do close at 10:00 and some things were gone and they started putting everything away. My advice is go early so you can enjoy a relaxing breakfast. The hostesses and servers were always very friendly in the mornings. My favorite item was a crepe with banana jam and whip cream!
We also ate here every night of our trip. One night they had a Polynesian Buffet and Dancers. At about $85 per person (including one bottle of wine per 2) - it was well worth the delicious and abundant food and the entertainment. The buffet included grilled fish, pasta bar, salad, sushi, rice, grilled chicken, beef, desserts, bread, potatoes... The other nights we ate off the regular menu. Two nights we had exceptional service and one night we had mediocre service (a new guy I think). The food varied the same. Some items were exceptional, others mediocre. We always sat outside and it was very pleasant.
Based on all that and eight visits, I give it 4 stars. Menus are online at the Hilton Moorea website.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ro11WithIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great breakfast buffets.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This restaurant has great food for dinner but I loved the breakfast buffets. Such a variety that your eyes will always be bigger than your stomach. Fresh fruits, freshly baked breads and pastries. Made to order omelletes. Just keep in mind, the resort restaurants are quite pricey.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShireenH368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
179 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Dinner =Average, Breakfast=Excellent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We only ate here once during our stay, so this review is based on one meal, but the consensus among the four of us was that the main courses were average, not great. The bread basket was good but the fish, specifically the swordfish was overcooked to the point of being tough. The food was plated nicely, and the dessert was very good - the best part of the meal.

A buffet breakfast is served here in the mornings and that was excellent! The selection was the best of the three resorts we stayed at during our trip, even edging out the Four Seasons slightly. There is an omelet station, juice station, hot entrees including eggs, sausage, hash browns, waffles and pancakes on various days, yogurts, cereals, two different bread tables - one for breads and rolls and the other for "sweet" breads such as coconut rolls and pain au chocolat. There also was a table consisting entirely of jams.

Thus the average rating is based on our dinner experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tiffany8862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arii Vahine Restaurant also viewed

 
Moorea, Society Islands
 
Maharepa, Moorea
Cook's Bay, Moorea
 

Been to Arii Vahine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing