We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT GO HERE!”
Review of La Villa des Sens - CLOSED

La Villa des Sens
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: LA VILLA DES SENS propose dans un cadre contemporain unique, une cuisine du marche mijotee avec poissons, crustaces, fruits et legumes de l'ile. Des recettes originales pleines de saveurs, misant sur la fraicheur et la simplicite. With an extraordinary market fresh cuisine, and a setting unique in all Moorea, La Villa Des Sens is renowned for its exceptional dining experience.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

we went to moorea and bora bora for our honeymoon and this place was recommended by our travel agent who prob gets a commission because the other hotel members who were going there for dinner were also recommended this place by the same travel agency. it was one of the worst dining experiences of our lives and luckily the rest of our trip was awesome but this was one of those moment ruiners. I truly believe this place is racist, and the french owner is extremely rude.

We went 3 couples from the same hotel, we were seated at the same time and sat near each other. couple 1: jewish couple ( but as the girl had joked.. prob couldnt tell they were jews prob though they were white) , couple 2: asian ( us) couple 3: one white male, one indian woman. couple 1: got their order first , then went to couple 3, then we had to flag him down to say that we would like to place our order.

the first 2 couples got their appetizer, so did we, then we waited for our entree.. we happened to order the same thing as couple 1: however couple 1's order came out first, then couple 3, while we waited. then we waited some more. finally we asked where or order is.. they said its coming.. then the other two couples moved on to dessert while we still had yet to get our entree. so we asked again... the owner rudely said its almost here almost here.. we asked what the trouble was as we ordered the same entrees as the other couple.. and he just walks away. at this pt we are so furious because an hr has passed and we still have not received our meal. the other coiuples are done and ready to pay.. we all have to take the same shuttle. they look at us and offer apologies.. sucks that happened to you.. whats going on. at this pt, we ask for the check we've lost our appteite.. and he keeps insisting its almost there. really an hr wait as now even couples who ordered mmuuuch after us and came in to the restaurant much later than us have already received their entrees. The owner was so rude, we ended up causing a scene. He would not bring us the check, so we walked up and asked for it while the whole restuarant stared.. not once did he offer an apology , he just said your entrees are coming.. wtf. the other couples were angry for us but I guess I have just never really endured such obvious discrimination.

go here if you support racism. the end.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank yjs2782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelly G, Responsable commercial at La Villa des Sens, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear yjs2782, Ia Orana,
Your experience back in July 2012 at La Villa des Sens was previously reported to us by your travel agency, which so you are aware does NOT get any commission for booking guests at La Villa des Sens but simply offer their advice & best recommendations from their long-time expertise of the islands. We are extremely sorry of what happened and what you felt was racism, and sincerely apologize about this, as we take this extremely seriously. The French person who looked after you that night was in no way the owner of the restaurant, and does no longer work within our team. The situation you described and the extreme waiting time you experienced does not reflect our usual level of service, and we are pleased to report that we have appointed a new Executive Chef in September 2012, who has been joined by new team members since then. They would sincerely be happy to serve you, should you return to our beautiful islands some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for La Villa des Sens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 70 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great night celebrating a 50 th birthday
Service excellent
Lots of Mumm champagne
The floor sliding at the end finished it off
And the staff were very accommodating with buckets of soapy water

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelly G, Responsable commercial at La Villa des Sens, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

This was a great night indeed! We sincerely thank you and your group for having this Awards Night at La Villa des Sens!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We wanted our last dinner on Moorea to be romantic, and the concierge at our resort recommended La Villa des Sens.

The entrance to the restaurant is beautiful and the view at night from the patio is stunning. Once inside there was no one to greet us, even though we had reservations and the driver from the resort associated with La Villa des Sens picked us up and brought us to the restaurant. We walked from one end of the restaurant to the other looking for staff (only two tables had guests when we arrived so they were not busy) until we found someone and were seated. Although bottled water came to our table right away, It took about 30 minutes for our order to be taken, then another 45 minutes for the food to arrive.

Meanwhile, in the mostly empty restaurant with a very long patio, they sat smokers next to us even though we had been there for a while already and were clearly not smoking. The disruption to our privacy was bad enough, and the smoke just made it worse.

We ordered the lamb and a shrimp dish. Both were fine, although nothing very memorable. After we finished we were offered desert. A few items looked good, but of a dozen deserts on the menu they only had 2 available, neither of which we were interested in.

The prices were by far the highest of any of the restaurants we visited in French Polynesia. Unfortunately the food and service did not live up to the expectation that high prices might indicate.

We walked back to our resort since the driver was not readily available.

This was our only bad dining experience during our week in French Polynesia. It is unfortunate because the location and ambiance are terrific.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank XlntAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a good choice for dining off the resort in Moorea. The food and service were very good and the premises are excellent. The chef does some innovative things with local ingredients with a strong French influence. The restaurant is fairly expensive but people should expect that in French Polynesia.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ceebee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I went to Villa des Sens on our honeymoon last week and we had a pretty terrible experience. This is my first trip advisor post, I'm not one to complain typically, but thought I needed to make others aware of my experience.

We were seated right away, and ordered a bottle of wine and some water initially. When about half an hour went by and we had no wine or water, we flagged down the one waitress staffed and cancelled our wine since we knew the cab back to our hotel was coming in another hour and didn't want to have to chug the wine. We finally received our water after sitting there for an hour. While waiting for our meal, we made a game out of counting the geckos on the ceiling - at one point, we counted up to 15, many of which were dangling precariously above our table! Our meal came 1.5 hours after we arrived and was fine but nothing great. We rushed through our meal and declined dessert in order to be on time for our cab (two other couples were in the same boat and we were all very disappointed with the restaurant)

We may have just been there on an unlucky night but they had one poor waitress working and couples kept piling into the restaurant. She did the best she could, and even called one of her friends to help, so I don't blame her, but think that management should have cancelled some of the reservations if they weren't staffed appropriately. The least they could have done was comped part of the meal (which was over $150 for entrees and water) but that didn't happen either. I can't tell you how happy we were to get back to the hotel and away from this place! The other 6 nights in Moorea and Bora Bora we had wonderful food so luckily this was our only big disappointment!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pattiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Villa des Sens also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing