We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 747 Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
747 Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kilbirnie
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“comfortable stay”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

It was nice to stay at 747 Motel. Although one of the rooms we hired had separate basin taps for hot and cold water which is not in vogue nowadays, overall experience was good. Cooking and fridge facility was great. Neat and clean environment. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. overall experience 9 out of 10.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnny N, Owner at 747 Motel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Tajs

Thank you for submitting a review of your stay( April) at the 747 Motel

I am pleased to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful, and your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room and Cooking and fridge facility. Your comments are appreciated . We are aware that the separate basin taps for hot and cold water which is not in vogue nowadays, and we are in process of changing them to the modern one.
We certainly look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    10
    8
    9
See reviews for
14
16
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Te Awamutu
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We booked this motel because of the location to the pool which is right across the road, fantastic!
We had Unit 2 which looks like it has been upgraded. We found it comfortable for the 2 of us and as we stayed 2 nights, had our room cleaned and serviced as well. I would agree with the comment about it not being Delux but great for the price. I thought we might have been disturbed by aircraft or traffiic noise but had no problems.
The owners were lovely and helpful. We hadn't realized that we could ask for a pickup from the airport, if we had we would have saved $14.50. Got dropped off though which was great.
Thai restaurant just down the road was great and the pools have a good cafe as well, which we should have used on the Sunday morning as nothing else was open at 8.30am, apart from Subway!!!
Would definatly stay there again if we come down for a Masters swiming competition again.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raro20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Photos often don't tell the truth. Would be worth staying if all you're looking for is a reasonably comfortable bed for the night and a free shuttle to or from the airport. Staff were friendly, but we didn't consider it value for money. It was very cramped and the bathroom was sub standard.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kilbirnie hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Just stayed the one night before early morning flight out. Room advertised on wotif as deluxe top floor studio. Mmmmmm! Room whilst very compact was clean, functional with two single beds pushed together to make a king. Room certainly wasn't deluxe thou! But the owners were certainly friendly enough, helpful and took us to the airport early with no charge. Good spot for grabbing a bite to eat as has a few restaurants, eateries round the corner. Think it would be a good idea to remove the deluxe part from any advertising so as not to disappoint!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I stayed overnight before an early flight out of Wellington. There were still renovations being carried out in the lobby, and I experienced teething problems with the new phone system. The new owner was very helpful and lent me his mobile to make my call, he also got up extra early to run me out to the airport next morning. Well done, thank you. Besides the airport, this property is handy to shops, and across the road from a park and a swimming and fitness centre.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2011

The service was exceptional. Room was exactly what I was looking for, nothing flash but tidy and comfortable. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamNZ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2011

The new owners were very friendly and looked after both my mother and myself very well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrintus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilbirnie
0.2 mi away
Brentwood Hotel
Brentwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilbirnie
279 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
651 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#45 of 46 in Wellington
337 reviews
1.6 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
0.9 mi away
Airport Motel
Airport Motel
#39 of 46 in Wellington
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 747 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 747 Motel

Property: 747 Motel
Address: 80 Kilbirnie Crescent | Wellington Airport, Kilbirnie, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kilbirnie
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kilbirnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 747 Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
747 MOTEL PROVIDES AN ATTRACTIVE STYLE OF ACCOMMODATION747 Motel is located just minutes away from the Wellington airport, Wellington city centre, Kilbirnie's new Regional Indoor Community Sports centre and is across the road from the Wellington Regional Aquatic centre. The Weta Cave, Weta Studio and the Wind Sculptures on Cobham Drive are nearby attractions. 747 Motel is also close to great cafes, major supermarkets and the bus route to city centre. An ideal stay for budget travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your 747 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
747 Motel Greater Wellington/Kilbirnie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing