We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great people. Decent airport hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brentwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brentwood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kilbirnie
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great people. Decent airport hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

The facilities are a little dated, but the rooms are spacious and clean. The staff was excellent and always met me with a smiling face, even when I had to be shuttled to the airport at 4am! The location is great for quick stopovers.

Room Tip: If you need to be picked up by their shuttle, let the front desk know what time your flight lands be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReineS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear ReineS - thank you for submitting your favourable comments and review of the Brentwood Hotel. I am pleased that you found the staff to be helpful and that our location was ideal for your stopover. I trust that we will have the opportunity to host you again the next time you travel through Wellington.
Regards
Anthony Dey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    113
    90
    23
    16
See reviews for
48
77
30
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glen Innes, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

If your after a quick stopover with a free airport shuttle and 24 hr reception, this may be your place to stay.
We had to wait about 25 minutes for the bus, after having advised in advance of our arrival time, not the end of the world, but at 12.30 a.m, perhaps a little disappointing.
The room was fine, without being exceptional, it was certainly large.
The breakfast was adequate, although somewhat confusing with the upsell from a continental to a full cooked being a 2 dollar difference, which is really all that needs to be said.
Our return to the airport was more successful, so all in all our stay was o.k.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear michael l – thank you for submitting a review of your recent stopover with the Brentwood Hotel. I can understand you were disappointed in having to wait for the shuttle upon your arrival. As rule we are unable to pre-arrange pick up from the airport as our drivers are unable to wait at the airport due to the pick-up/drop arrangement in place and the fact that flights can be delayed. Our instructions for guests arriving into Wellington is to call the hotel from the free phone in arrivals once they have landed. The shuttle is then sent out to the airport. I apologise if this information wasn't communicated to you prior to your arrival. Thank you for your feedback regarding the explanation of the breakfast pricing and I will ensure that the restaurant staff communicate this accordingly. Once again thank you for your comments and I trust that we will have the opportunity to host you again the next time you travel through Wellington.
Regards
Anthony Dey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

This is a single level convention hotel very close to Wellington airport. It is a rambling place with accommodation wings going in various directions. The corridors have variously old worn carpets or vinyl and are pretty uneven in places. The room I had was 1960's style. The heater was ancient and gave off a tiny amount of heat. The paint was peeling in various places, but nonetheless everything was spotlessly clean. There is a swimming pool that might be inviting in Summer - but has no shelter or aesthetic charm - it is simply a pool in the ground surrounded by a bit of a lawn and a utilitarian regulation fence. The restaurant is very expensive for the quality of what's on offer. Because there is nothing else in the neighborhood (in fact there is nothing else in the neighborhood) there is no competition and management can rack up the prices accordingly. I had a very stodgy and obviously reheated from frozen vegetarian samosa served with a tiny dish of raita and an equally tiny amount of boiled red dhal. The location is okay for the airport only - otherwise this area is very uninspiring with suburban homes and a nearby school. There is a huge missed opportunity for someone to construct a hotel right at the Wellington airport with modern conference facilities.

Room Tip: Passable only if you must be near the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbhayHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear AbhayHamilton - thank you for submitting your comments and review of your recent stay with the Brentwood Hotel. The hotel was constructed in the 1960’s and is a low rise timber building with accommodation wings connecting off the central courtyard pool. Aspects of the original rimu timber have been retained to reflect the design style of the hotel. All of the corridors are carpeted with exposed timber borders in the ground floor areas and the foyer is tiled with ceramic tiles. I am disappointed that you meal was not up to expectation and that did not represent value for money, and I apologise for the meal not meeting your expectations. The dinner menu mains are priced from $26 - $31, which is well in-line with meal pricing in Wellington and are not inflated. There are a number of local restaurants/cafes and reception will always assist with recommendations. The Kilbirnie shopping precinct is within a 5 minute walk. Once again thank you submitting your comments
Regards
Anthony Dey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kilbirnie hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Checked into this hotel at 3am after work. Walked down the creepy ship like hallway that smells of musty to my room.. which had a huge stain beside the bed of.... who knows what and the stench of rotting carpet. Around 6am the airport (which sounds like it has a taxiway through the hotel) fired up as did the creaky floors upstairs.
The bathroom was nice though!!
You would hope it was cheap cos it sure was "economy"

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jordanm513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Jordan M - thank you for submitting your comments and review of your recent stay with the Brentwood Hotel. I am disappointed to read that your stay was less than satisfactory and sincerely apologise that we did not meet your expectations. We had recently experienced a leak from a hose in the corridor in that particular wing with the carpet taking a couple of days to fully dry leaving a musty odour. This has now been resolved. The room occupied has just had a complete new bathroom installation and we are now in the process of replacing the stained carpet which was a result of leak under the floor of the old bathroom. It had not been prudent to replace the carpet until we had completed the renovation and remedied the source of the leak. With our location 3.6km from the airport we do experience some aircraft noise with the first trans-Tasman flights departing at 6am. Once again thank you for your comments as it assists us to improve our service and facilities.
Regards
Anthony Dey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Brentwood ticked all the boxes. I booked 2 nights on separate websites which meant different prices and different rooms. The lady at check in was awesome and made it so I didn't have to change rooms after the first night. Room was big and comfortable and quiet. The hotel is a busy conference facility and accepts a lot of bus tours but it does not affect your stay. Had room service the first night and it was good. All in all good value for your money and very comfortable.

Room Tip: The rooms round the back of the hotel are quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Peter M - thank you for submitting your favourable comments and review of the Brentwood Hotel. It is pleasing to read that you were well looked after at check in with reception ensuring that you didn't need to change rooms. I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team who will appreciate the feedback. It is also pleasing that you found the rooms comfortable and value for money. Conferences are a significant part of our business however it is bus drivers that stay with us rather than tours, hence the coaches parked at the hotel. Once again thank you for your comments and I trust that we will have the opportunity to host you again the next time you travel through Wellington.
Regards
Anthony Dey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is our fourth visit to Wellington.
We have yet to find a reasonable price comfortable hotel.
The Brentwood has not keep up with the 21st century, Our room had one available electrical socket. Internet connection was NZ$15 per day. The first time I had been asked to pay.
This visit introduced me to the very good WiFi connections at NZ libraries!!
The lights had black marks on the wall above them.
Charges extra for the use of credit cards.

Wellington as the nations capital should look at its hotel stock. In my view not fit for purpose

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Robin C - thank you for submitting your comments and a review of your recent stay with the Brentwood Hotel. I am disappointed to read that your stay fell well below your expectations and that you did not find the hotel comfortable or reasonably priced. I would like to offer my unreserved apologies for the cleanliness not meeting your expectations as we place considerable importance on achieving a high standard of cleaning throughout the property. Our charges for internet and credit card surcharges are in line with other Wellington Hotels.
Regards
Anthony Dey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel is just right for people wanting to stay close to Wellington airport in a reasonably priced hotel. They also provide a shuttle and have 24 hour reception.
The cheapest rooms are on the first floor up a substantial stair case and there is no lift but all the rooms are large sized.
We were a group of three couples who all found the beds very uncomfortable as the beds are soft and old.
Also the restaurant meals were small in size and overpriced.
Get new beds and we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMBH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear KMBH01 - thank you for submitting your comments and a review of your recent stay with the Brentwood Hotel. I am pleased that the location and shuttle service suited your requirement for accommodation close to the airport. We are currently in the process of a total bed replacement programme with another substantial order due towards the end of this month. This will complete the replacement of all beds on the ground floor with the upper floor to be completed over the coming months. I trust that we will have the opportunity to host you again the next time you travel through Wellington.
Regards
Anthony Dey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilbirnie
1.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
2.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,476 reviews
1.9 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood Hotel

Property: Brentwood Hotel
Address: 16 - 20 Kemp St, Kilbirnie 6241, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kilbirnie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kilbirnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brentwood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brentwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood Hotel Wellington
Brentwood Hotel Greater Wellington/Kilbirnie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing