We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well positioned - decore is tired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brentwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brentwood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kilbirnie
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well positioned - decore is tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in May 2013. Location is great - near the airport & there is a free shuttle service to collect you and take you back to the airport. We stayed in a room in the 500's - wing and the decore is very tired. These rooms - though adequate, require refurbishment, & it's questionable whether this room was worth what we paid. As other reviewers state, the reception area has had the money spent on it, and it ends there. This place is busy with conferences so if you have an inner (close to reception) room, prepare for some noise. Location to the city is easy, it is walkable (just over an hour) and bus services plentiful. Best aspect was the reception staff who are very helpful and courteous, and the location (close to airport).

Room Tip: Away from reception & conference areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ck999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear ck999, thank you for submitting a review of your recent stay at the Brentwood Hotel. I am pleased that you found our location close to the airport and the free shuttle service ideal for the purpose of your stay. It is also pleasing that you found the service from our reception staff helpful and courteous, and we will share your comments with them. We endeavour to provide a value for money service, so I do apologise if you found this to be questionable on this occasion. We are also mindful that areas of the property are due for an upgrade and refurbishment. I trust that we may have the opportunity to host you again the next time you visit Wellington.
Regards
Anthony Dey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    110
    88
    22
    15
See reviews for
47
74
30
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Hotel is close to the Airport and find the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic but always clean and the food is good and a reasonable price. The Hotel has a shuttle service to take guests to the Airport and run 24/7. If you are travelling overseas yo are able to leave your vehicle at the hotel for a reasonable charge. The hotel is handy to shops and normal transport services.

Room Tip: Unless you are travelling by air this hotel is a little too far out of the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank palmykop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear palmykop, you for submitting your comments and a review of your stay with the Brentwood Hotel prior to your overseas travel. I appreciate you comments regarding the cleanliness of the rooms, the quality of the food and the friendly service you receive from our team. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you pass through Wellington
Regards
Anthony Dey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a terrible night at the Brentwood. The only positive aspect was the staff who tried to be helpful even late at night when we rang to complain about the noise.

The hotel has been updated in parts, but mainly the reception area and conference rooms. Our room was truly horrible. I thought we had walked in to a 1970s room and least that's how old the furnishings looked and felt. The décor was drab and unappealing.

Our main problem was the other 'guests' who were attending a conference and staying overnight. They congregated in the room next door, kept going out through the doors to smoke and then as the more alcohol they consumed the louder they became. Although not the hotel's fault, these people should be given rooms away from the other guests.

We complained at 11pm about the noise and they still kept going. I think someone else complained at midnight because it finally went quiet. At 7am though, we had to listen to the man next door retching. Really classy.

The hotel offers a shuttle to the airport, but nothing would tempt me to stay here again. I hope the company who booked the conference was made aware of their employees behaviour.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, ask to be away from conference attendees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Tripper2Melbourne, thank you for submitting your comments and a review of your recent stay with the Brentwood Hotel. I appreciate your comments and concerns regarding the noise you had to endure from a small number of other Hotel guests during your stay. I do apologise for the disruption and disturbance that this caused you. I note our staff attended to the matter requesting these people to quieten down due to the time of night. It is disappointing for a small minority to cause this level of disruption and discomfort to other guests. I can assure you that this type of behaviour is not a true reflection of our conference delegates, who are a significant portion of our business. While conferences are important to us, so are all of our customers, who choose to stay with us for a variety of reasons and we endeavour to provide the same level of service to all of our guests on a consistent basis.
Regards
Anthony Dey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kilbirnie hotels

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed for a convention, two nights, and the King Rooms can sleep up to four and are good clean basic rooms, no complaints.
The food was good and the staff very helpful and rather cheek :)
The Kauri rooms were very good and the full space is wider than it appears online. The stage apparently can go higher but the two steps are high enough though the people at the back may struggle to see.
Would stay again though of course it's not the best location for a holiday but excellent for the convention with shops nearby and very, very quiet.

Room Tip: If looking for a hotel to see Wellington this is NOT for you unless you have a car though buses are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbo686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Robbo686, thank you for submitting your review of your recent stay while attending conference at the hotel. I appreciate you comments regarding the cleanliness of the rooms, the quality of the food and the helpful service you received from our team. I also appreciate your favourable comments regarding our conference facilities and that you found the Kauri Room appropriate for the convention you attended.
Regards
Anthony Dey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was the worst hotel experience of my life and I have travelled extensively through Eastern Europe last century. The wing of the hotel we were placed in has soviet style swinging fire doors and our room was directly adjacent to a set of these. Every passing guest created a massive noise and we were unable to sleep. We were travelling with an infant (which was stated on the booking) and placed in the middle of a teenage sports team that met all night in the corridor and left the hotel at 4am with all the swinging fire door noise. Old, tired and if the fire doors are still required in this era, possibly unsafe.

Room Tip: If you must stay at this hotel insist on a wing without fire doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank WKeiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear WKeiller - thank you for submitting your comments and a review of your recent stay with the Brentwood Hotel. I would like to offer my unreserved apologies for the disruptive noise that resulted in an unpleasant stay for you and your family. We endeavour to meet all guest requests and it is unfortunate in this instance that the rooms’ allocated placed you adjacent to a sport group. Due to the Hotel being full at the time of your stay these were the only interconnecting rooms available to meet your requirements. The fire doors are checked regularly as part of our fire system audit (monthly) and comply under the building warrant of fitness. If you would like to discuss your stay further with me I can be contacted directly at the hotel or via email: anthony@brentwoodhotel.co.nz.
Regards
Anthony Dey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

It's your run of the mill hotel nothing special really stands out. Great location if you want to be near the airport. Overpriced given location and distance from cbd.

The room was very clean and spacious and really comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nivram13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear nivram13, thank you for submitting a review of your recent stay with the Brentwood Hotel and your favourable comment regarding the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms. While we are located out of the city centre, our location is convenient for both airport stopovers and conference groups with the benefit of our free airport shuttle service. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you travel through Wellington.
Regards
Anthony Dey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great place for a conference! We had our Dystonia Conference (movement disorder) there this weekend and we thought it was great. An older hotel though clean, warm and comfortable. The meals and teas we had were good too and I was brilliantly catered for as a Coeliac. The staff were friendly and helpful even though they were busy. Would recommend whole-heartedly.
Grace and Roger Terry.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerandGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Grace and Roger, thank you for submitting your review of your recent stay while attending conference at the hotel. I appreciate your very favourable comments regarding the service, meals, and your overall recommendation of our conference facilities. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you attend conference in Wellington.
Regards
Anthony Dey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilbirnie
1.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
2.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood Hotel

Property: Brentwood Hotel
Address: 16 - 20 Kemp St, Kilbirnie 6241, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kilbirnie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kilbirnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brentwood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Brentwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood Hotel Wellington
Brentwood Hotel Greater Wellington/Kilbirnie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing