We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some modernisation and it will be good.”
Review of Brentwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brentwood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kilbirnie
Stratford, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Needs some modernisation and it will be good.”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at the Brentwood hotel for two nights while attending a conference there. The hotel is very close to Wellington airport (about 5 minutes in a taxi). The conference facilities are good and it is obvious that hosting conferences is the hotels main purpose and specialty. The rooms however are old and in much need of a makeover. The decor is drab and the room I stayed in smelt musty.

The room was fitted with a heater and no air conditioning. So if you want to cool down you must open a window. This is fine however the traffic noise and the noise of aircraft is quite significant. On one entire half of my bed, the mattress springs had collapsed which made it impossible to sleep on that side.

The bathroom was slightly more modern than the rest of the room and was a bit cluttered. I stayed in an upstairs room (there are only two floors) and there is no lift so expect to have to lug your suitcases one flight. The floors throughout the accommodation wings are creaky so people walking past your room make quite a bit of noise.

The restaurant serves average quality food at standard prices. The staff in the restaurant and throughout the hotel are friendly and attentive. Overall the hotel focuses more on the conference experience but could pay a bit more attention to the accommodation.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaPvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear BaPvE, Thank you for submitting a review of your recent stay while attending conference at the Brentwood Hotel. I am pleased that you found the conference facilities good and while it is our speciality, sports groups and airport travellers are also an important part of our business. We are aware that our rooms are due for refurbishment and it is our intention to begin an upgrade programme next year which includes ongoing bed replacement. While there is no lift to the upper floor, Porters are available to assist guests with luggage to their rooms. I apologise if this service was not offered to you at the time of check-in. Once again thank you for your comments and I trust that we may have the opportunity to host you again the next time you travel to Wellington.
Regards
Anthony Dey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    119
    92
    27
    16
See reviews for
50
81
32
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Masterton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My family often flies to Australia but have not stayed the night before in Wellington. Due to a very early start I found the Brentwood Hotel on line and am so pleased that I did. The staff are polite and friendly, the room was clean, tidy and modern and the shuttle service to the airport was a pleasant experience. We left our car at no charge and on returning rang them from the airport, the shuttle arrived within 5 minutes, the front desk had our keys available and we were able to leave.
I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to stay and we will be using their service again without a doubt.
Well done Brentwood Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Rae A, Thank you for submitting a review of your recent stay at the Brentwood Hotel and for your favourable comments regarding our service and facilities. The location of the Hotel does offer a convenient and peace of mind accommodation solution for travellers departing Wellington on the early morning Trans Tasman flights. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you travel through Wellington.
Regards
Anthony Dey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I was attending a conference in Wellington and the location of this hotel was great. It is close to airport, close to new stadium, pool etc. However, being close to an airport means it is noisey with airport noise, and also travellers coming and going at all times including early in the morning and later in the evenings. My main gripe was the bed. It was so hard that I tried the main bed, spare bed and sofa bed. One of other persons on the same conference said she had a shocking sleep as her bed was very uncomfortable. Brentwood is tidy, food facilities and location handy near the airport, but the lack of a good sleep sropped the rating for me.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear poppynz, Thank you for taking time to submit a review of your recent stay at the Brentwood Hotel. It is disappointing that both you and a colleague found your beds to be uncomfortable on this occasion. We are replacing beds on an ongoing basis and have changed our bed supplier. We recognise the importance of providing a quality bed for a restful nights sleep. I am pleased that you found the location, tidiness and food favourable. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again on your next visit to Wellington.
Regards
Anthony Dey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Was there for a conference. Excellent facilities. Vey friendly and helpful staff. Great food. Spacious accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caro8880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Caro8880, Thank you for submitting a review of your stay during your conference at the Brentwood Hotel. I am pleased to hear that our team took care of you during your stay and that you enjoyed your meals. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you visit Wellington.
Regards
Anthony Dey. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Used the Brentwood for a base for a conference
Great hotel, conference rooms, service and food were top notch.
Rooms were clean and tidy and hotel was nice and warm inside
Great location as its only 5 mins from the Airport
Only down side was it was noisy at night with people running through the hallways

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_dudeAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear the_dudeAuckland, Thank you for submitting a review of your stay during your conference at the Brentwood Hotel. We appreciate your favourable comments regarding your experience of our services and conference facilities. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again on your next visit to Wellington.
Regards
Anthony Dey. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I spent a weekend in June at the Brentwood Hotel attending a conference. We were met at the airport by the hotels shuttle. Check in was very efficient and the staff throughout the weekend were courteous and helpful. A very good venue for a Wellington conference.

Room Tip: Rooms appear to be of equal standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caerlaverock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear caerlaverock. Thank you for submitting a review of your stay during your conference at the Brentwood Hotel. I am pleased to hear that our team took care of you during your stay and that you found our conference facilities provided a good venue. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you visit Wellington.
Regards
Anthony Dey. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I was with a group of 60 or so ladies at a Mary Kay event - I was there last year too
Picked up at the airport a cosy fire in reception and lovely coffee and food available on arrival
Check in easy and room although tired decor was clean and the bed comfortable
Food at all meals was excellent and staff fab considering the number of people checking out on Saturday and us checking in and we aren't quiet when we are together
Easy transport back to the airport with courtesy and a smile - thank you

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albakirky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear albakirky. Thank you for submitting a review of your recent stay at the Brentwood Hotel. I am pleased to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful, and your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room and quality of your meals. Your comments are appreciated and I will ensure they are passed onto the team. It is good to read that our shuttle driver dropped you off to the airport with courtesy and a smile. We are aware that the décor of our rooms is showing some age and our intention is to commence a programme to address this in the latter part of the year. We certainly look forward to hosting you again this time next year.

Regards
Anthony Dey. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilbirnie
1.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
672 reviews
2.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,144 reviews
1.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.9 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
753 reviews
1.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood Hotel

Property: Brentwood Hotel
Address: 16 - 20 Kemp St, Kilbirnie 6241, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kilbirnie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kilbirnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brentwood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brentwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood Hotel Wellington
Brentwood Hotel Greater Wellington/Kilbirnie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing