We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay before flight they offer park and fly.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brentwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brentwood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kilbirnie
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good place to stay before flight they offer park and fly.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Good tidy hotel with good rates and seven days free parking which is a great saving over the airport parking charges. The shuttle is free to and from airport which is about 4 mins drive in normal traffic. Subway kfc and supermarket a short walk from hotel which is handy if you don't want to eat at the hotel. Bathroom was a little tired but clean and bed was a little bouncy and on wheels. Staff forgot to put portacot in room but on contacting reception they had one to us in a few minutes which was great.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room that opens to carpark for easy access
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bec1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear bec1978. Thank you for choosing the Brentwood Hotel and taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay. Our free 24hr airport shuttle and seven days free parking is very popular with guests flying in/out of Wellington due to the convenience of our location and on site parking. I am pleased that you found the hotel clean and tidy.

My apologies they we did not have a cot in your room prior to your arrival. Our procedure is for this to be set up in advance and this was an oversight on our behalf.

I trust we may have the opportunity to host you again the next time you travel through Wellington.

Regards
Anthony Dey. General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    110
    88
    22
    15
See reviews for
47
74
30
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

This hotel is perfect for early morning flights. The free shuttle to the airport is really convenient. The rooms were ok, a bit dated. The bed was super soft (one would say even too soft and saggy). Couldn't seem to adjust the temperature in the room. Only had a heater, and thus no way to cool it down. The lady on reception when we checked in was way over worked, and trying to do too many things at once. As a result, she was a bit gruff and check in took ages.

All in all, the location next to the airport and the free shuttle are good enough to overlook the other small annoyances. I would definitely book here again for an early morning flight.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Po2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Po2000 Thank you for choosing to stay with the Brentwood Hotel during your recent visit to Wellington and for commenting on your stay with us. I am pleased that our location to Wellington Airport and our 24hr free shuttle service to/from the airport was convenient for your stay.

We intend to commence a soft refurbishment improvement programme of our rooms later this year, which will also involve some bed replacement. Due to the style of the hotel we do not have a cooling system in our rooms.

I do apologise for the delay and response you received from our reception staff upon your check in. While we have experienced a busy period during March we do expect our frontline staff to offer friendly and welcoming service. Unforeseen circumstances have had an impact on our staffing level in reception at times over the past month, which we have now remedied. We do recognise the importance of providing an efficient check in and check out service.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again on your next visit to Wellington.

Regards Anthony Dey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

I have stayed here often but this time was a little disappointing. Upon paying a rate higher than I have previously, we stayed in a dated (but clean room) but the bathroom had a musty smell, the lino was lifting off the wet floor shower area and the formica wall boards are all broken around the bottom of the shower. The refrigerator was very nosiy turning on and off all night and very noisy flooring in the corridor with people up and down all night. I have never stayed in this area of the Brentwood before and have been quite satified with the rooms I have stayed in previously. Overall an average stay.

Room Tip: request a room with updated bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Tania. Thank you for the time to submit a review of your recent stay with the Brentwood Hotel as we appreciate all feedback from our customers. I am disappointed that your stay with us on this occasion did not match your previous experiences.

I do apologise that you found the bathroom disgusting and I agree that it does require repair. We are taking corrective action to repair the damage to the section of Formica wall and the lino where it has lifted. We will also be replacing the refrigerator. The hotel was extremely busy during the time of your stay, so I do apologise if movement of other guests caused you some inconvenience. I am more than happy to discuss these aspects of your stay if would like to contact me at your convenience.

I am pleased that you found the room to be clean as we recognise that a high standard of cleanliness throughout the property is important to all travellers. I trust that we will have the opportunity to host you again the next time you are in Wellington.
Regards Anthony Dey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Have stayed here often. Staff are always friendly and approachable. Great location for meetings, handy to the airport and a short drive to town around Evans Bay.

Rooms & decor are dated but still great value. Great menu too!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiWanderers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Hi Kiwitravels01. Thank you for choosing to stay with the Brentwood Hotel and for commenting on your stays with us. I am pleased that you find our team friendly, and our location convenient for meetings and the proximity to the airport. Thank you also for your comment about the menu which is due to change in the coming weeks. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit.
Anthony Dey. General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawera, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

The Brentwood offers good size rooms with good parking facilities at a very good price. Check in was straightforward and directions to our rooms were clear. While the rooms were slightly dated they were spacious, warm and clean. If you prefer a firm bed, then you'll love these beds.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the ground floor with parking ourside, that way you can get in and out of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Hi Allie H. Thank you for submitting your recent review of the Brentwood Hotel. We appreciate your feed back and hope that it assists other visitors to Wellington. I am pleased you found the hotel facilities suitable and priced appropriately. We are intending to commence a refurbishment of the hotel rooms at some time in 2012, although a date has not been set at this time. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again on your next visit to Wellington.
Anthony Dey. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Very polite and friendly staff, large rooms flat screen TV spacious bathroom. Hotel offers a free shuttle service to the airport and also pickup, plus they will store your car for a week free. Good 3 1/2 star.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet as hotel is not on a busy route.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwis_in_Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you for comments regarding your recent stay with us, as we appreciate your feedback. I am pleased that you found our staff polite and friendly. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Wellington.
Anthony Dey. General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

spend a night in a very good sized room, booked over the internet directly. Really was good value for money - however it was about a $30 taxi ride into the city and then return, so the reality is that if you are even considering going into the downtown of Wellington for a night of bars, clubs etc you are better to stay in the city. However would stay there again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toja69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentwoodManager, General Manager at Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Brentwood Hotel. I am pleased you found the room suitable and priced appropriately for the purpose of your stay. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again on your next visit to Wellington.
Anthony Dey. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilbirnie
1.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
2.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood Hotel

Property: Brentwood Hotel
Address: 16 - 20 Kemp St, Kilbirnie 6241, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kilbirnie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kilbirnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brentwood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Brentwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood Hotel Wellington
Brentwood Hotel Greater Wellington/Kilbirnie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing