We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Salty Dog Inn
Nearby Hotels
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Warkworth Lodge(Warkworth)(Great Value!)
$80
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matakana Motel(Matakana)(Great Value!)
$110
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Waves Motel(Orewa)(Great Value!)
$120
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snells Beach Motel(Snells Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
42
89
38
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
89
38
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalty dogbreakfast was includedenglish style pubincluded in the room ratelast minute bookingenjoyed our staywonderful staybistro menuthe ground floorwould stay againaccommodationwarehousecerealunitsroomywarkworthauckland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 192 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Great place and great food. Décor is somewhat dated in rooms but room very clean and tidy and a bargin for the price. Staff very good too. We would stay again for sure. Free breakfast was a great start to the day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzsteve1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. I am sure when you come back next time you will notice the suttle changes with new pictures on walls, new covers on beds and chair covers. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My partner and I had a fantastic evening at the Salty Dog Inn, and we would definitely recommend both bar and restaurant. The food was tasty, plentiful and of great value -my husband especially enjoyed the scotch fillet. There was a little wait for the meal, but the restaurant was filled to capacity and the meals were worth it.The service was friendly, hospitable and efficient, with our glasses never left empty. Staff was very knowledgeable about the area and the waitresses were warm and personable. We would definitely return, and found it difficult to find any faults.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Lovely feedback and it means a lot to all our staff to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We do look forward to you returning. Keep and eye on our facebook page to see what is happening up this way. Kind regards Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Fabulous location and set up. This place badly needs a make over. The rooms are dated and bit smelly. Old decor television etc. their biggest downfall and surprisingly lacking insight, is their charge for tea and coffee at the complimentary breakfast....it's almost insulting... Whose idea was that!!!! Why not just provide a simple but nice continental breakfast with a pot of tea or coffee.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinoeaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Your feedback is warranted and appreciated as this is how we can address the issues. You will be pleased to know that we no longer charge for tea and coffee or juice with breakfast. Most of our rooms have had a slight up grade with new pictures on the walls, new pillows and couch covers, new bed covers and throws on the beds, also new lamps. It has made a remarkable difference. I do take on board all comments that are placed on our feedback and hope that is due course I can address each and everyone. Having only been at the Salty for a year It is about having the funds to use in all areas. Watch this space I am sure you will see positive changes each time you come. Hope you will come back and enjoy some time with us again soon. Kind regards Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

As another reviewer has said, there isn't anything I could really fault with this place.
We had a grab voucher deal which was great value, including a bottle of wine & a cooked breakfast both mornings. We weren't even sure the rooms would be serviced for the price but they were. Had a meal at the bistro which was also lovely, the staff were nice too. Location was good. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AucklandWino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Don't you love those deals on Grab one???? Thank you for your feedback it is much appreciated. I am very proud our our team here at the Salty and I am glad they made you feel welcome. We are slowly making suttle changes to the rooms and when you come back and stay with us again I am sure you will see the difference. Take care until we meet again, Kind regards Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have always seen this motel when up at Snells Beach so thought we would give it a go, and we are glad we did!

We booked a double roomed upstairs unit with Spa, the rooms were lovely and clean, the bed was fantastic, the spa bath was heaven. The view from the balcony out across rolling hills was majestic and the perfect way to watch the sun setting. Our only slight annoyances were the couches had completely lost all their support so were really uncomfortable, and the shower was an open shower so water flooded out all over the bathroom floor.

All the staff were so friendly and great at conversation....and we loved dinner at the onsite restaurant - it was sooo busy and popular and we can understand why as the food was fabulous, service great and waitresses lovely.

The location is perfect, there is a great cafe close by (2 minutes walk!) for an amazing breakfast, a mini supermarket for any extras you need and a bottle shop too. And with just a slightly longer walk you can reach the stunning beach or with a small drive you are close to many great vineyards and restaurants - perfect!

We will definitely stay again - and bring the kids next time!

Room Tip: An upstairs two bedroom unit has amazing views and a great spa pool.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shecrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will like us on facebook so you can be notified of our up and coming events. We appreciate feedback and the time it takes as this is a very helpful tool for up-skilling and rewarding our team. Thank you

Kind regards
Debbie Patten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews