We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Snells Beach

“Delicious & faultless ”

Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen
Reserve a Table
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Glass House is the spectacular home of Brick Bay Wines and gateway to the Brick Bay Sculpture Trail. Cantilevered over a shimmering lake, The Glass House Kitchen offers relaxed all-day dining showcasing the freshest seasonal produce. Our passionate chefs create contemporary New Zealand cuisine, inspired by our farm produce, our orchards, gardens and other locally sourced ingredients. The tempting menu encompasses brunch, lunch, platters and small bites, while locally roasted coffee and irresistible sweets make the perfect morning or afternoon tea. From the magnificent transparency of The Glass House or our tranquil outdoor dining spaces, you can view the vineyard at close-hand, witnessing the individual care that underpins a small artisan vineyard. Taste our highly acclaimed range of handcrafted wines, alongside our estate grown olive oil and honey. We celebrate a classic Pinot Gris, a deliciously fruity Rose and distinctively complex red wines made from our Bordeaux varieties.
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

Food was so delicious, excellent quality, fresh, tasty, beautifully presented. Great coffee. Loved my Rosè. Faultless service. Beautiful setting. Great value. You must buy their olive oil, it’s exceptional.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank crystalgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna D, General Manager at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We really appreciate your amazing review - thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 530 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2020

Beautiful place and great food. The Glasshouse staff were friendly and helpful. The outdoor setting is perfect for 14-16 people.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ssam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna D, General Manager at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the great review! Visit again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020

Gorgeous setting, lovely staff and outstanding food. My falafel salad had beautiful edible flowers from the garden and a wonderful balance of fresh flavours. My husband had squid and it was so good he wouldn't share any of it. My Dad, who is notoriously hard to please, had the courgettes and eggs, and he gushed about it. The wine was a bit different and the perfect accompaniment. We finished off with the raw cheesecake, pecan slice and a chocolate sundae - they were also excellent. Brick Bay is a wonderful day out - I highly recommend it.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carlyrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrickBay, Marketing & Communications at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2020

Thanks for your great review! We appreciate the positive feedback :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020 via mobile

Gorgeous location beside a large tranquil lily pond that was in full bloom when we visited.
Prompt friendly and efficient service
Great wine selection with tasting paddles of Brick Bay wine available. Highly recommend the Sav.
Oysters: phenomenal. We ordered tempura-style, accompanied by a perfectly balanced champagne vinaigrette and aioli. 5/5.
Coconut and lime cured fish: Too creamy with the coconut overwhelming the other flavours. No acidity or chilli detected. Salt and pepper required. 2/5
Kumara, ginger, and coriander salad: very challenging to eat. The fennel wasn't chopped at all and thus required one to hack through, all the while showering my white shirt with vinaigrette. The felafel was also under cooked. Not an elegant dish! 1/5
Chicken salad: good. Fresh ingredients and flavours which worked well. 4/5.

If you walk the sculpture trail, would recommend two hours for the trail to enjoy at a leisurely pace.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank AndrewW6641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrickBay, Marketing & Communications at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to review us, we're sorry that you didn't enjoy the falafel salad or coconut lime fish.
These two dishes are usually absolute favourites so we'll pass on your feedback to our chefs to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020 via mobile

The glasshouse restaurant was recommended to us by the host of our guesthouse in Devonport. We had the chance of calling in one lunchtime and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Well recommended !

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank DontworryboutitIdont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrickBay, Marketing & Communications at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2020

Thanks for the great review - we really appreciate it and hope you come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing