We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant apartment”
Review of Snells Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Snells Beach Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Snells Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was a one night stop over. We wish we had skipped Snells Beach because it is more of a destination place for those wanting to stay for the beach and related activities. Our apartment was very nice with a small living area, good kitchen, small bedroom and bath with a large tub. It was clean and well equipped but rather dull. We did get a good view of the lake from the deck but our unit was right on the highway coming into town. There was traffic all night and a neon sign outside the bedroom window. There was a blind on that window. Other than a walk on the beach there was nothing for us in this bedroom community, not even a restaurant other than take-out. We may have just not been able to find them. The Staff was friendly and helpful but we were glad to move on the following morning.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor view unit on the side AWAY from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jer-jeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathleeng_11, Owner at Snells Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Just for general information, Snells Beach is located right in the centre of the beautiful Matakana Coast & Country, where thousands of people come year round and keep coming back to enjoy the many and varied world class attractions. "If only we had more time" is a common refrain.
Located on the coast, it is of course the sea that can be seen, not a lake.
Yes, we are on a road, but it is cul-de-sac on a peninsula, and at night time it is so quiet you can hear a pin drop. Yes, there is a flourescent light at the front of the Motel, that turns off at midnight, and the 2 Units that are effected have a venetian blind and a block-out blind.
Snells Beach has 3 Restaurants (+ 3 more Restaurants under 5 mins away), 3 Cafes, 5 Takeaways, a Bakery and a Pub.
We hope that perhaps you can return another time and experience the other side of Snells Beach that so many people enjoy so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 147 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

Friend & I decided to get away for 1 night to have a break from the husbands and kids. Emailed hotel and got an immediate friendly reply. The owner gave me a range of different priced room options, we decided to spend a little extra for an upstairs unit and I am glad we did. We got a 1 brm with a double pullout sofa bed in the lounge. The unit was spacious, sunny and clean. I got the bedroom, bed was comfy and friend said the pullout was fine, just a little creaky every time she rolled over, wasn't worried about it though. Room had a DVD player and flat screen TV which was perfect to watch the chick flicks we had brought away. It is very handy to everything. Straight across the road is a licensed cafe where we had a yummy affordable lunch, also a deli, bakery (that was breakfast). Just down the road is The Warehouse and The Salty Dog Tavern. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Would recommend the upstairs units as they appear to get a lot more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roch1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed only 1 night -- but hope to stay again in the future for longer.
The unit was a 1 bedroom unit, upstairs with lovely views over the harbour to Kawau Island.
It's an easy walk to the shops and Restaurants, and also down to the beach and walkway.
It was a treat to have the separate bedroom, away from the TV!
The unit was supplied with everything we needed, was very clean, comfortable and had great pressure in the shower. We didn't use the pool or Spa pool, but both looked inviting.
Most importantly - the owners were very welcoming and helpful.
Would definitely recommend this Motel.

Room Tip: We loved the upstairs unit, but I'm sure the downstairs units would be just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morecambegirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed one night to be close to Auckland Airport for our next day flight. Very tidy motel. Room was large clean and well appointed with separate bedroom and comfortable bed. Friendly host who gave good information on local area. As was Good Friday many eating places were closed. If passing this way again would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elsdal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed one night in a "superior" room, which was a two bedroom "apartment" that had a room with a double bed and separate bedroom with two twin beds. There was a kitchen area with stove, fridge, microwave, and sink in an open living area with sofas and TV. Everything seemed worn and tired, but clean. Wifi was extra, and laundry facilities cost $5 NZD/wash or dry. The motel is across the street from several fast food shops.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for just one night on our trip around NZ. This motel suited us very well and we would have liked to stay longer. Helpful staff provided map and directions for our evening sightseeing of the local beaches, (lovely sunset walk on nearby peninsular). Room was large and spacious, facilities to a very high standard, comfortable bed, well laid out kitchenette, excellent bathroom and shower. Faultless!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank NS_Sevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Checked in just after 2pm which was earlier than we advised but was no problem. Very friendly service & we were given a map, advised best places to visit and also best time to swim in the sea. Pool onsite was warm & also a good size. Motel was very clean & tidy & a good size. Shops & Restaurants just across the road.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snells Beach
3.8 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
80 reviews
11.2 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
174 reviews
23.7 mi away
Aristotles North Shore
Aristotles North Shore
#1 of 1 in Wairau Valley
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
334 reviews
4.7 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Salty Dog Inn
The Salty Dog Inn
#1 of 2 in Snells Beach
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snells Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snells Beach Motel

Address: 289 Mahurangi East Road, Snells Beach, Auckland 0920, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Snells Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Snells Beach
Price Range: $102 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Snells Beach Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snells Beach Motel is only 50 minutes north of Auckland, near Warkworth and Matakana Coast Wine Country. 12 stylish self-contained one and two bedroom unit/apartments. Swimming Pool. Located a short stroll to safe swimming beach, adjacent to shops and restaurants. Close to stunning beaches & parks, famous vineyards, farmers market, Kawau Island ferry & Goat Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Snells Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snells Beach Motel Motor Hotel Snells Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing