We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, simple "superior" room”
Review of Snells Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Snells Beach Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Snells Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed one night in a "superior" room, which was a two bedroom "apartment" that had a room with a double bed and separate bedroom with two twin beds. There was a kitchen area with stove, fridge, microwave, and sink in an open living area with sofas and TV. Everything seemed worn and tired, but clean. Wifi was extra, and laundry facilities cost $5 NZD/wash or dry. The motel is across the street from several fast food shops.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 153 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for just one night on our trip around NZ. This motel suited us very well and we would have liked to stay longer. Helpful staff provided map and directions for our evening sightseeing of the local beaches, (lovely sunset walk on nearby peninsular). Room was large and spacious, facilities to a very high standard, comfortable bed, well laid out kitchenette, excellent bathroom and shower. Faultless!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank NS_Sevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Checked in just after 2pm which was earlier than we advised but was no problem. Very friendly service & we were given a map, advised best places to visit and also best time to swim in the sea. Pool onsite was warm & also a good size. Motel was very clean & tidy & a good size. Shops & Restaurants just across the road.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at this motel for just one night as we were travelling through. It is an excellent motel, with great facilities and very helpful staff. Only one block from the beach with a sheltered bay. On the day we were there, the beach had a lot of seaweed although I don't know if that's normal

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Simple but comfortable and meticulously clean accommodation; location that is not the most beautiful (just off the main road so sometimes a bit tricky to cross with children) but is extremely convenient with a little shopping/eating strip across the road and plenty of wonderful beaches and walks in regional parks within a short drive; and accommodating hosts. There is also a nice looking swimming pool that we haven't tried (because of all of these great beaches). I would not perhaps choose it for a romantic getaway, but for a family trip (three nights) it was a fantastic choice and at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

we love it beautiful views,close to shops and restaurant, staff were so helpful room more than comfortable, we enjoyed our stay,
Meal over the road was a roast beef, lamb, pork with veg roast potatoes to take away or eat in the staff were helpful called Alis roast potatoes

Room Tip: We had a upstairs room more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janetandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Robin gave us a wonderful travelogue about the area that set us up for an enjoyable two day visit. The unit we were in was ground floor with limited privacy and quite small with a hard bed but workable kitchen. Managed to get the internet working eventually. Probably good value for the cost. Just over the road from the shops.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audreyslittleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathleeng_11, Owner at Snells Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We always want to act on any suggested improvements, but unfortunatelyTrip Advisor reviewers use nome-de-plumes so we cannot do this as we do not know which unit is being commented on.
All of our units have a separate bedroom, lounge and kitchen area. We do not have any studio units.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snells Beach
3.8 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
81 reviews
11.3 mi away
Edgewater Motel
Edgewater Motel
#6 of 8 in Orewa
65 reviews
15.1 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
86 reviews
4.7 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
150 reviews
12 mi away
Orewa Beachcomber
Orewa Beachcomber
#1 of 8 in Orewa
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snells Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snells Beach Motel

Address: 289 Mahurangi East Road, Snells Beach, Auckland 0920, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Snells Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Snells Beach
Price Range: $104 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Snells Beach Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snells Beach Motel is only 50 minutes north of Auckland, near Warkworth and Matakana Coast Wine Country. 12 stylish self-contained one and two bedroom unit/apartments. Swimming Pool. Located a short stroll to safe swimming beach, adjacent to shops and restaurants. Close to stunning beaches & parks, famous vineyards, farmers market, Kawau Island ferry & Goat Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Snells Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snells Beach Motel Motor Hotel Snells Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing