We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brimnes Hotel & Cabins
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Siglo Hotel(Siglufjordur)
$267
$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siglunes Guesthouse(Siglufjordur)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nordurland by Keahotels(Akureyri)(Great Value!)
$122
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ibudir(Akureyri)
$119
$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri(Akureyri)(Great Value!)
$160
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$153
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Akureyri(Akureyri)(Great Value!)
$136
$127
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kjarnalundur(Akureyri)(Great Value!)
$116
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tindastoll(Saudarkrokur)
$261
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mikligardur(Saudarkrokur)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveler rating
226
103
25
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
103
25
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubsmall cabinthe kitchennorthern lightsgreat cabinski touringthree bedroomone nightsmall townlog cabinthe main hotelnorthern icelandwhale watching tripsurrounded by mountainsfree coffeestunning locationroad trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 362 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We arrived at noon and were led by a cheerful lady to our cabin. It was spacious and fully equipped, and there were enough beds for a whole family of 6 persons and more. The cabin itself
is built on the water, there is aprivate hot tub in the veranda and while having a quiet breakfast you can look outside and see northern divers and other ducks floating around. Couldn't be more relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A group of us stayed there for a ski touring trip. Well appointed log cabins in general. A few minor things could have been useful, but that'd just be me being picky, all the key things were provided. The cabins were nice and warm and free wifi very useful. Great location next to lake and near to some great ski touring areas, including several right on the door step. What really made the stay great though was the friendliness of the staff. We needed some oil and asked them for some and they were happy to provide. When we went to the restaurant for drinks they went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our evening. All in all, really glad we stayed there, location was perfect and the stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glen075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brimnes Hotel a, Manager at Brimnes Hotel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We are working on those little things you missed, as we feel that the little details do make all the difference. We hope you visit us again next season and find more of them to your convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Me and my girlfriend went there last week, where we were skiing and snowboarding most of the time. We had the time of our lives!
Those cabins are great, right next to the lake as well as the skiing area of Olafsfjordur. The hot tub was the higlight for me however, where we had an awesome view of the mountain side, which is gorgeous to say the least. Just make sure you don´t set the hot tub to warm, we made that mistake to begin with, very hot hot....
The two beds downstairs wasn´t the best place for us to sleep as a couple so we slept in this little attic where there was a king size mattress, this was a very nice set up for us.
The kitchen had everything we needed for some cooking which we did quite a lot of. The staff at the hotel was also very friendly, and helped us with whatever information we needed or extra things we needed, in our case multiple socket extension cord for computers&speakers.

Overall, we just had a great time, and we´re set on going there again as soon as possible, staying hopefully in the same cozy little cabin.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jonaxeljonsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brimnes Hotel a, Manager at Brimnes Hotel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you for a heart-warming review. You are always welcome back. We discourage people from changing the thermostat on our hot tubs as they should always be set to ideal temperature. Also it is good to remember to turn the water off after use, as the geothermal water is also used to heat up the cabin :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I spent 4 nights in one of the cabins and I couldn't be happier. It was very cosy and clean. The outside hot tub was an amazing place to come back to after spending the day outdoors, hiking and snowboarding. The cabin had a great view of the mountains and the lake scenery. There's plenty to do and hotel staff is very helpful with any activities you might want to do. This was my third stay at the hotel, and I'll be definitely coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilanDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brimnes Hotel a, Manager at Brimnes Hotel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

I can't stress how good it feels to see happy customers return with a smile on their face. We embrace it. Always welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The cabins of Brimnes hotel is a really good choice for families or couples. Selfcatering, no luxury but everything you need plus a hotpot on the veranda! Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was above average in Icelandic hotels but I did not have other meals at the restaurant there. Located by a quiet lake,the scenery is wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gudrunbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews