We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travelers have booked this property
Chalet Cuckoo - Secluded and Romantic
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet Cuckoo - Secluded and Romantic
Chalet Cuckoo - Romantic
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Chalet Cuckoo - Secluded and Romantic
Chalet Cuckoo - Romantic
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Cuckoo Comfort - underfloor heating, log stove and sofa bed
Chalet Cuckoo - in the sun
Enter a caption for your photo
Huge double bed inside the Raccard
Cuckoo Character - a Raccard
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Ayer, Canton of Valais, Swiss Alps

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Matt D
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

After a great trip to the Val D'annivers during the summer, we decided to return to Ayer for some winter activities. Chalet Cuckoo was a great place to stay. After a hard days skiing, it felt very welcoming at the end of the day and was a home from home. Hope to return in the autumn!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacquelin...
Meudon, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Holidays at chalet cuckoo in Ayer, Switzerland”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My husband and I are just coming back from 1 week at Chalet Cuckoo . Built on the top of the village of Ayer , the Chalet offers a beautiful panorama on the mountain . The owner gave us perfect instructions to drive to the place . Very cosy and clean the furniture is made of light tinted wood . The kitchen is well equipped with a dish washer and there is a very convenient washing machine . We could log our laptop . You can rest or take your meals on either of the 2 terraces and listen to the sound of the stream running nearby . .If the weather turns to rain , there is a tv set and a dvd player .We were lucky to get a sunny week and hiked every day on a new trail .At disposal , there are several useful maps for hiking in the mountain .
We will come back .
Tips : a grocery is opened during the summer in the village . A car is highly recommended , although there is a car postal service with a stop at Ayer and there are nice forest trails starting from the village .
No security deposit is asked

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The panorama from the chalet together with the quietness of the place
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shosh42
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed for 5 weeks (no mistake).The chalet is a perfect getaway from summer heat.
Very well equipped.Great view.
Everything we imagined and much more.
John the owner was very cooperative.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyrha_paw
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
1 review
“Super cool place and super cool owners!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed for 6 days and nights with our three dogs: a one year old St. Bernard girl, a white Canadian Shepherd and a Bernese Mountain Dog/ Belgian Malinoir mix. It was just perfect! We had the great opportunity to meet Tess and John as a surprise and they are such nice people. They are very uncomplicated and had no problem with our dogs. We loved Chalet Cuckoo - it is quirky, beautifully decorated, much bigger inside than we had anticipated. Well done, you two!
There are nice walks straight from the chalet and it is not too far from Martigny where we went to the Musee des chiens de Grand St. Bernard. Actually, it is not too far from anything one wants to see or do. Please John, can we stay at Chalet Cuckoo again?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quirky little big chalet itself - it felt like home away from home
Liked least: that we had to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauane
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“We absolutely loved cuckoo chalet”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Wonderful place, great decoration, very clean and well-maintained. We felt like we were in our own chalet.

The location is spectacular: beautiful mountains a grand pine tree in front of the chalet, , and, to our surprise, a lovely little stream besides the chalet.

This is a special place and perfect for those who seek contact with nature, peace, silence and the beauty of overpowering views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Difficult to say, but if I have to pick one: location;
Liked least: Everything was perfect;
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarrius_S...
San Agustin de Guadalix, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very good holiday house at Anniviers Valley”
Reviewed July 28, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

The house is sunny and cosy. It's perfectly equiped and in a very quiet place, with good views and near the village of Ayer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked everything
Liked least: The only thing to be aware about the house is that there is a 30-step stairs to the parking place
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood49
Boulder Creek, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Swiss Alpine Experience - Great Hiking”
Reviewed October 8, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

This property is perched in the eastern slope of the spectacular Val D'Annivier, above the quaint village of Ayer. The owner was extremely gracious and provided helpful information for use during our stay. We found the Chalet Cuckoo to be a comfortable and welcoming place to return to after our many daily walks in the surrounding area. The location is visually stunning, highlighted by a chain of snow-covered peaks, glaciers, and waterfalls at the south end of the valley beyond Zinal. There is a small grocery in Ayer, but nearby Vissoie has better facilities, including a food market, bakery, and butcher shop. Our late summer stay happened to coincide with the Désalpes de Nava, a celebration of the annual return of the cows from the high pasture in anticipation of winter. Lots of cowbells, raclette cheese, and local wine at the village festival! The road up from Sierre and the Rhone valley is a challenging drive, but seems to have provided a filter which has enabled this part of Switzerland to remain less touristed despite its incredible beauty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spectacular location
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing