We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food briliant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Hexham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food briliant hotel”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel is in a great setting near Keild Water,and on the banks of the Tyne River. The food is brilliant and the staff very atentive Thier is a swmming pool and the bedrooms are all of a good size. Their are lots of walks in the area and one of the best value for money golf courses in the area very near by. I can not stress enough how good the food is.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the ciricket ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    232
    76
    17
    15
See reviews for
76
345
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed two night midweek with dogs in large room overlooking cricket pitch. Room was clean and spacious, great for getting out with the dogs for a quick run. Super food and staff were very helpful. Can recommend the rather splendid dessert wine. Great place to go for walks with dogs. Good value and will return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipertech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The room was clean and tidy, and large in size. Although the bathroom was tired and could do with an upate. The pool was spacious but again needed a good paint. Everything just looks a little tired and in need of updating. The breakfast was good, although the service was organised chaos but friendly. The venu could be so much better with just little touches here and there. Such as water in the room and a fresh lick of paint, but we think it was worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sararogers58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel-en-le-Frith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Visited the hotel overnight - Stayed in Room 6, a large and comfortable room. Last time we had such a large room was in Hotel Borobudur Jakarta. For dinner we had a pate starter, with salmon & pheasant to follow. This was freshly prepared, superbly cooked and served, staff were friendly, good humoured, We could not have purchased that food in Cambridgeshire where we live, for the same price.

Room Tip: Room 6 is a SIde Room overlooking the bridge and river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fortress384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed for a weekend and found the hotel a great place to stay. Our bed was very comfy and the décor in the room was stylish. The staff were all very friendly, our room was spotless and the food was excellent.
I have many different food intolerances and have never been catered for so well (after ringing the reception to discuss my food request, the chef designed me my own menu). The disable facilities are also a great standard for any one who finds stairs difficult. Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arsefacemilburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have just returned from a very relaxing and enjoyable weekend break at Riverdale Hall. Our room, no.25, overlooked the cricket field and river, with a balcony, ideal for sunbathing or stargazing. The room was nicely decorated with a huge comfortable bed and modern en-suite with a shower over the bath. The hotel pool is a bit scruffy, but the water is nice and warm. The hotel supply pool towels and will even lend you a costume if you have forgotten to bring your own. We had dinner both nights at the hotel and the food was excellent and reasonably-priced with quick, efficient service.
Bellingham is a short distance from the Kielder Forest Park with it's Dark Sky Observatory, Mountain Biking trails, forest walks and water sports. The hotel has a secure place to store bikes and also accepts well-behaved dogs.
We would recommend Riverdale Hall for a relaxing break in beautiful scenery, with the bonus of great food,

Room Tip: 'Garden rooms' at the back of the hotel are very quiet and have balconies overlooking the cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
Level Contributor
130 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I've eaten here many times and for many different occassions including Sunday lunches, Xmas day lunch, kid's birthday parties and private functions. It has always been a pleasant experience. Food is freshly prepared and with a good choice, and prices reasonable. The location is very good, with views across Northumberland and a great place to stop if walking.
I can't comment on what it is like as a hotel, but I would be happy to stay there. My only niggle with it is that it looks a bit tired in places but not to the point where it would spoil your visit. It benefits from good weather. when you can stroll about outside. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedgehog344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellingham
13.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,092 reviews
4.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,493 reviews
24.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
21.5 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Bellingham NE48 2JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverdale Hall Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing