We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Friendly Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Food and Friendly Service”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was an overnight stop with a group of friends so we had little time to enjoy the full facilities of this well located country hotel.
My room in the new annex overlooking the cricket pitch was excellent. We enjoyed a superb meal which was served by friendly and competent staff.
Highly recommended and good value for money.

Room Tip: The only disadvantage of the rooms in the new annex is in bad weather when you need to walk a few ya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Quiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    232
    76
    17
    15
See reviews for
76
345
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one night on our way back to Ormskirk, from a holiday in Scotland.
Should have booked for longer. It was by far the best hotel in every aspect. Lovely rooms,
excellent food and friendly staff. Couldn't believe it was the cheapest one we stayed at!!

Room Tip: My room was number 12, overlooking a country lane but on the whole very quiet. Couldn't fault i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikethebike0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

went for a two night stay on a KGB deal B and B two nights two people for £99 3rd Sept 2012.
The hotel is located by the river Tyne on the edge of Bellingham village.
we were given a superior room at no extra charge over looking the river and cricket pitch ( not being used much and little in need of TLC !)
The hotel is in need of alot of TLC but the room was clean as was the large claw footed bath and shower.
The staff were very friendly, polite and helpful,
Breakfast was comprehensive. Best to pick specific items, sausages black pudding on the full english were not good. But local kippers were fine! Dont expect fresh orange juice its a 2 star !!
Evening meals were very good well cooked and presented, the staff serving were local girls who had a good sense of humour and made us feel welcome,

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel. Paid extra for a garden room and wasn't disappointed. Lovely king sized bed. Immaculate linen and decor topped off by the lovely views. Plenty of coffee, tea and milk in the room. Nice touches of iron and ironing board if you needed it and fold up chairs for the patio. Plumped for a bar meal as we had eaten lunch in Hexham. Lovely presented sandwiches and home made chips. Very reasonable prices too.
Breakfast did not disappoint, again immaculate linen, efficient service, beautifully cooked hot breakfast.
Staff couldn't do enough. Granted the main body of the house is dated and could do with some TLC but I couldn't fault this hotel other than because we had a garden room with patio doors we were unable to open a window through the night, but then again a lovely cup of coffee at 7.30am on the balcony overlooking the river more than made up for this.
Fabulous location to see Kielder and surrounding area. This hotel is certainly on my top ten list to go when I need to chill again. Can't comment on the pool. We went mid week and it may be different at weekends when busier.

Room Tip: Pay extra for garden rooms, really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the riverdale last Wednesday and after staying once previously I have to say we were disappointed! I took along my daughter two friends and my friends daughter and the main reason was for us to have some chill time and the kids to go in the pool....they were so excited but when we stepped from the very dated and unclean changing room through to the pool area we were disgusted!! It was like an area that time (and the cleaners) forgot!!!
Floors looked and felt filthy, the walls had plaster patches which needed painting, the tiles of pool made you want to climb straight out again and the sauna had rotting wood areas and felt very dated! The pool windows were all filthy and looked like needed a good steam clean! There was also lots of black particles floating around in pool with us, it was in fact closed an hour later due to problems but the pool filter being broke was just the tip of the iceberg! Also the patios in our room had black damp patches around and on curtains as did the blind in the bathroom!!! There was a flea jumping about on plate in restaurant and then the next day the breakfast was cold and two peoples orders were forgotten!!! Totally ruined what was a lovely hotel, our room was otherwise gorgeous and the setting and grounds are beautiful but I feel management really need to spend a bit money cleaning the place up as little games room which you walk through to reach the beautiful garden rooms was old tired shabby and not very pleasant! Very sad to take friends to a place which was lovely on my last visit there!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzannedavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We booked our hotel stay with a kgb deal and I'm assuming for this we got the most basic room, which in itself isn't a problem but just a warning to others it was worlds away from the rooms pictured on the website. The staff were lovely and very helpful and the restaurant was excellent with its changing daily menu. However this did not compensate the fact that the room was not up to standard. Also we were extremely disappointed that the two times we returned early from day trips to use the pool before dinner it was closed for maintenance! And also when we got up early the morning of our departure. Nothing was offered as an apology for this and I was very disappointed. When you chose a hotel with a pool you expect it to be open at least once during your stay!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmat90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpook
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Me and my better half booked in to this hotel for 2 nights B & B. I am not a good sleeper but the bed in this hotel was huge and extremely comfortable. So we were delighted with the Bed side of the deal. The breakfast did not let us down either, both mornings we ordered a full English with poached eggs. Perfectly poached they were too. The breakfast really set us up for the day - fabulous! Our first night we dined in the restaurant and again we were very pleased with the food, the presentation and the very friendly staff. A 2 course dinner for two people, with a bottle of house red was less than £50. Quality and standard were excellent. As with other reviews I have to agree that the hotel could do with a little TLC, our bathroom was clean but very 70s looking and some of the wallpaper was peeling. But!! I would definitely recommend this lovely place for a quiet break and delicious food. We will go back, whether or not the wallpaper is still peeling :o) thanks.

Room Tip: We had room 8 - it was clean tidy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishnPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellingham
4.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
13.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,092 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,494 reviews
24.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
359 reviews
21.5 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Bellingham NE48 2JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverdale Hall Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing