We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Nicole and her staff were wonderfully accomodating and nothing was too much trouble. Our room had a shared balcony with a beautiful view looking out over the grass and trees and river. We watched a game of cricket from our balcony in the early evening. It was bliss. Our bed was huge, with cool crisp good quality linen and our room was tastefully decorated with everything we might need, including an iron and ironing board. It was one of the best nights sleep in a hotel ever! Dogs are very welcome here and our Beagle loved it! We had our evening meal out on the deck as it was warm, and had our breakfast in the bar (no dogs in dining room which is sensible) but we certainly didnt feel like we were missing out on anything. Truly wonderful.

Room Tip: the staff here are very accomodating - so whatever it is you need, just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 596 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

Just spent 2 nights at the hotel. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the food was good, we had a lovely room with balcony overlooking the river and the weather was beautiful. The hotel is well placed for exploring Northumberland - we visited Holy Island, Bamburgh and Seahouses and there are lovely walks from the hotel along the river and to the waterfalls. The only real negative was the pool area which was very much in need of some TLC. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony or river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed in many hotels over the years and this one is second to none. The staff without exception were very pleasant and helpful. The room was spotless spacious and as it was warm weekend they had left a sheet in case we didn't want to use the duvet. They asked us if we would prefer fresh milk instead of the little carton milk that is the usual for making tea in the room. We were asked if we wanted newspapers. The pool was superb clean and towels available at the reception rather than using the room towels. I believe they had swimming costumes for those who didn't bring them. Internet available at no extra charge like some hotels do. The evening meals were absolutely outstanding. Well Done to all the staff you made our stay perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the cricket pitch were the new refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nor5053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

we spent a 2 night weekend here on 18th and 19th May. The room was adequate, though the bathroom was a little tired and the shower was awkward to use. There were 2 cask ales on draught, and a good selection of wines. The menu was reasonably varied with a choice of 5 main courses, and all the food eaten was very nice. The staff were all extremely friendly and coped well with what was a busy weekend.
The location is a little remote though close to Bellingham itself.
If I was going back to the area would recommend this hotel if only for the food.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruce b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

After reading some of the reviews I felt a bit apprehensive as we had asked friends along. I was delighted with the hotel. Staff all very friendly. Our rooms were overlooking the cricket pitch and were a good size. Bed very comfy. Food very good and well priced. We had lunch in the Cheviot pub in bellingham which was lovely. Would recommend this to others

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JolanWestLothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Riverdale Hall is a very nice Hotel situated in Bellingham near Hexham. We initially thought it was next to Hadrian's Wall so we could enjoy some long walks but it wasn't quite so near as we had hoped, however there are lovely river walks from the Hotel itself.
There was a BAAFEST event taking place in the garden and cricket field whilst we were there which meant the car park was packed with visitors cars attending the event all weekend. The overflow car park was in the field opposite which was also busy. We thought that priority should be given to Hotel guests for parking. The restaurant was also very busy with visitors attending the event on the Sunday evening and had been booked up in advance so we weren't able to reserve a table on our second night.
The room was clean and small but nice; the old sash windows didn't open at all and we like fresh air. The heating is controlled by the hotel. The bed was very uncomfortable sadly; one of those you roll into the middle of and very spongy however they may be better in other rooms. The bathroom was in desperate need of updating and had no window and the smells from the kitchen were quite strong. We had a room at the front of the Hotel which was very noisy as the kitchens are below and the car park is at the front of the Hotel.
There is an indoor pool at the hotel but we didn't use this as again it was too busy. This is open to the public providing they have a meal at the hotel.
On the subject of food, the one meal we did have there on the Saturday night was lovely, very nice food indeed. We can thoroughly recommend it. Breakfast was nice also.
The bar area has stools all around it so we had trouble getting to the bar at times as it was difficult reaching over people so we went into Bellingham village where there are 3 pubs. One of the pubs is the Cheviot where they serve very nice meals and large portions! The staff were very friendly too.
Overall it was an enjoyable stay at the hotel and I would recommend it for a realxing weekend away.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room at the back of the Hotel and one where windows can be opened if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TStevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Have read mixed reviews of hotel and I guess it boils down to personal taste. Good points fabulous location for Northumberland National Park, Kielder Forest, etc. Room very large and one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. Bathroom dated needs updating but functional. Staff very friendly. Food good but not exceptional. A terrific base for this part of the world. Would certainly stay here again. Just a little point, this hotel is a good distance from Hexham (15miles) and in a quiet location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellingham
13 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,206 reviews
4.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,600 reviews
23.3 mi away
Horton Grange Country House Hotel
9.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Bellingham NE48 2JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range: $135 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverdale Hall Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing