We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheviot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cheviot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Bellingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very friendly nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

The staff were found to be very friendly and helpful.
The room we had was fairly small and basic and could do with some modernisation but was nevertheless clean and comfortable.
The bed was very large and exceptionally comfortable, excellent nights sleep.
The hotel has a very nice welcoming bar which is worthy of a visit.
The cooked breakfast was excellent.
Over all a nice place to stay would certainly go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GRJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    73
    13
    4
    9
See reviews for
39
127
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wooler, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed 1 night. Nice bath, good TV, comfortable bed but room rough around the edges. The best breakfast I've ever had. Good evening meal too. Very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

We ate here on the two nigths we were staying in Bellingham. Both nights the food was excellent and very enjoyable. If we are ever in the area again we will go back for another meal.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parrmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Which was a shame. The room was small, but the bed was large and comfortable. Unfortunately we were woken on four seperate occassions after midnight by people from the bar standing outside and underneath our room window to smoke and chat.
We'd travelled up from London, so neither of us were pleased to be woken from a deep sleep..
We ate in the hotel restuarant, OK ,but nothing to rave about, the breakfast on the other hand was top class, quality products, freshly cooked to order.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChainLube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bishops stortford
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

Arrived after hard day on Pennines, staff immediately made us at home and after a couple of lovely ales were shown to a very comfortable room which was basic but very quiet for a pub room. The evening meal was excellent and the service could not be bettered. Breakfast was also very good the only drawback was the packed lunch which consisted of one round of sandwiches and nothing else! The owners and staff are really trying to make this hotel a place for everyone whether drinkers, foodies or guests and also getting involved with the local community - we wish them well. Oh and p.s. when visiting the gents take a camera - the tiling is magnificent!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

We were walking our longest day of the Pennine Way when we arrived here. The place was buzzing-a darts' semi-final and our hearts sank-all we wanted was peace and quiet. Our host was immediately welcoming and gave us a lovely pint of lime and soda (I'm sure we could have had beer!!) on the house before showing us up to our room which was a revelation. It was huge, beautifully clean, big towels, lovely bathroom-with candles--and best of all wonderfully quiet-hurrah!! We ate downstairs- a bit of a wait -but not a problem on such a busy night. They did offer to open the dining room for us but we were happy in the bar talking to fellow walkers. We slept really well and were given a huge breakfast next morning before we left. We understand the management is new and they have big plans for the place. We think they have made an excellent start-we really enjoyed our stay and would happily stay again-thanks.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamTring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

Overall a nice stay. The food was quite good after a long day walking.
The room was very basic but fairly standard for a Pennine Way B&B.
A good breakfast helped set us up nicely for the next day and the breakfast in this case was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CC1E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellingham
6.8 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
19.5 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
21.1 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
24.2 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheviot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheviot Hotel

Property: Cheviot Hotel
Address: Bellingham NE48 2AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheviot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Cheviot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing