We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great attraction, make sure you are feeling fit and well though” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grotta del Vento

Grotta del Vento
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Vergemoli
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated in one of the wildest areas of the Alpi Apuane Natural Park, in the province of Lucca, the Grotta del Vento offers its visitors a comprehensive overview of all aspects of the underground world. There are 3 tourist routes.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great attraction, make sure you are feeling fit and well though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Driving to the cave was a pretty route but very windy roads and steep drops, so not for nervous types.
The cost was reasonable for the experience, and it's great that you get to join a tour with a guide that speaks your language.
Its pretty cold inside, so come prepared. You can't take bags in either - they are confiscated at the cave entrance!
The trip was interesting and informative.
Our only concern was the lack of an evacuation plan in the case of emergency. My daughter is undergoing chemotherapy treatment and felt unwell and felt extremely nauseous part way round the cave (probably due to the drop in temperature and the atmosphere in the cave.) We asked to leave the cave but the guide wouldn't allow that until she had finished the tour. I had to stay still with my daughter until the guide finished, turned back and met back up with us.There was no walkie talkie system or alternative to alert people outside of medical emergencies, which was somewhat disconcerting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    142
    20
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good cave tour and outstanding restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Driving up to the cave is not for the faint-hearted. A single track road with steep drops and in places no barrier, but great views, is the first part of the experience. Tours leave pretty often, so you won't be waiting long, but if you do have to wait the gift shop has lots of inexpensive mineral samples and simple jewelry to offer, or just sit down and take a beer. Tours are 1,2 or 3 hours. in various languages live, and other ones with an audio guide. The 1 hour tour (which we took) is too short for all but the most impatient. The guide was very professional and spoke good english. The actual cave is average plus compared to others we have visited in terms of formations (stalactites and stalagmites etc), but very well presented, not too commercial not too primitive. If I was to go again, I'd call in advance and try the adventure tour, which goes off the prepared tracks and accesses unmodified parts of the cave with ropes ladders climbing gear and a helmet. When in is nearly 40C in Lucca, this is one of the few pleasant activities to do in the afternoon.
The cherry on the cake is the little restaurant across the car park. It is a gem, the food is great , the terrace cool, and the welcome and service outstanding, probably the best meal we had in Italy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank oldboltonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantu, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Refreshing exeperience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is the perfect excusrion when the summer temperature outside are really hot! The temperature inside is 10.5: make sure you bring your jumper and long trousers.
We took the 2 hr visit: interesting itinerary, complete tour or the geological features, the guide was very professional. In respect to some others in Europe the ligthting could be improved with more modern technologies. They offer the possibility to do some climbng inside type "ferrata": you need to reserve for that. We'll definitely go for it the next time because it's a fantastic way to explore those 80 meters in the heart of the mountain.
I would not recommend it to people who are claustrophobic (some low tunnels), have heart problems (a lot of stairs) or with really small children (you can't carry them as it's too small, and they might be scared of walking by themselves down the stairs)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank tycommercial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

If you like this type of thing its a great day out (and a fantastic drive through the mountains)- if you don't like this type of thing - well you wont be reading this anyway.. defiantly go on the 2 or 3 hour tour.. the one hour will leave you wanting more - take a rugger top or jumper its cold in side. (when you arrive try and park through the the metal gates, if you park with in BLUE lines you must pay for a ticket, if you park within WHITE lines its free parking) If you are lunching here- take a walk over the car park and have lunch/dinner in the independent cafe/restaurant. very good food and excellent value. (easily the best lunch meal we had on out trip to Italy) unfortunately i cant remember the name. the caves were fascinating, you never know if grotto's or caves are going to be over commercialized, but i think this one has got it just right., very knowledgeable guide - i would defiantly return if i were in this part of the world again

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank michael_mcateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

If you want breathtaking views of Apuan Alps Park, a thrilling drive through the winding, narrow, mountain roads and finally - a fantastic experience in the cave - go to La Grotta! There are three types of tours through the cave and we decide for the shortest one, which was 1 hour long and just right for our family (with two kids of 5 and 8 years old). We were nicely surprized by the fact that there was even a translation of the tour in our home language (Polish!). The cave is of exceptional beauty, with incredible stalactites and stalagmites, lakes and natural sculptures.
The facilities on site are very good - a big car park, nice caffeteria and shop.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DominikaAgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotta del Vento also viewed

Bagni di Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Bagni di San Filippo, Province of Siena
 

Been to Grotta del Vento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing