We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Place”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Screel Lodge

parking area in front of lodge with plenty room for 2 cars
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
parking area in front of lodge with plenty room for 2 cars
Screel lodge Screel Lodge with large panoramic decking area which looks over 12th fairway of Colvend golf course
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
27 reviews
parking area in front of lodge with plenty room for 2 cars
Screel lodge
Screel Lodge with large panoramic decking area which looks over 12th fairway of Colvend golf course
View from the 12th tee, lodge on left hand side of fairway.
Lounge area
view over 12th fairway
road leading down from lodge through golf course towards Sandyhills beach
A 10-15 minute walk from the lodge onto the Solway Firth at Pipers Cove
Pipers Cove a short walk along the sands from Sandyhills Beach
coastal cliff walk
Spring buds
Winter at Screel Lodge
a good covering of snow
No one on the golf course today !
looking down over golf course
surrounding trees dusted with snow.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Colvend, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amy W
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed April 6, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This lodge is an amazing place to stay my family really enjoyed seeing all the wildlife, red squirrels, foxes, birds and of mostly the badgers, who came every night at dusk. They particularly liked the peanut butter sandwiches we put out for them!
The lodge is so lovely, comfortable and cozy with fantastic views. We explored the caves on sandy hills beach which is just a short walk and climbed Screel hill which was about 20 min drive. We did not want our break away to end and I will most definitely be booking again in the near future. My family also want to book after hearing what a great time we had. Thank you so much Christine for letting us stay in your beautiful lodge.

Date of stay: April 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to send feedback . We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday . We also love spending time there watching the wildlife and walking on the beach. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime .
Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leighw667
1 review
“Fantastic ”
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a wonderful week at Screel lodge. Everything was excellent, including the views and the visiting wildlife. We hope to come again.

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2017
Thank you for your positive feedback - we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your holiday and hope to return
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2017
Thank you for your feedback . we are pleased that you enjoyed exploring the area. I am sorry to hear you found the beds too firm - we will take this into consideration when replacing the beds in future. We endeavour to update the lodge regularly and aim to make it cosy and inviting for ourguests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sheppykin...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Second visit to this lovely cabin. So relaxing with amazing views and wildlife. Gorgeous beach a short walk away perfect for pooches. Family of badgers came visiting most evenings. I must recommend the food at the Steamboat inn and a visit to the local Deer farm. Will be booking again in the future x

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2017
Thank you for your feedback - we are always happy to hear when people have enjoyed staying at Screel lodge. it is a lovely area for a family break. We look forward to welcoming you back in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herculesm...
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic family holiday”
Reviewed August 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Cosy lodge in a great location. Tucked away and very peaceful. Beach is 10 minutes walk away and lots of wildlife on the doorstep. Great family bike rides also near by. Hope we can visit again!

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2017
Thank you for your positive feedback - we would be delighted if you wished to book again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Stunning”
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stunning lodge and beautiful scenery. Communication was good and the price was very reasonable for the accommodation. Would highly recommend

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2017
Thank you for your positive feedback
Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josiecste...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect peace”
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The lodge was excellent with views to die for, especially overlooking the golf course at Colvend. A short distance away was the beach, tea rooms, shops everything you need on a holiday. No noises just the wildlife to watch , total relaxation. Great what more could you ask for.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2017
Thank you for taking time to leave feedback about your stay at Screel lodge. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the peaceful location of the lodge and the surrounding area . The wildlife right on your doorstep is a feature enjoyed by many of our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing