We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Total relaxation”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Cumstoun Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Springtime View from the kitchen window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Springtime
View from the kitchen window
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bunk bedded room
Lounge I
Lounge II
Dining Area
Kitchen
Bbq & Decked Area
Wintertime!
Golf Course I
View from the cliffs across the Solway Firth
Evening entertainment in the back garden
Breakfast time
Blue skies
Kippford sunset
Spring!
The back garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Colvend, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BackPacke...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total relaxation”
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely loved every minute of the time spent ,can't wait to return ,thank you for making our stay so memorable,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSoftl...
Stroud, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful, quite, wonderful!”
Reviewed November 23, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Our visit in October was the 11th consecutive year that we have been to Cumstoun Lodge, which it itself must say something! It is a fabulous place being set in a small group of about 10 lodges that are approached by driving through the local golf course. The wildlife is great, as well as birds there are red squirrels, rabbits and badgers to watch. The lodge itself is well equipped and comfortable. If you want to get out and about there is plenty to see and do in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cumstoun Lodge”
Reviewed November 22, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have visited this location for the third time. The lodge is situated in a most fantastic location within the golf course complex. The beach is a short walk away.
The lodge has three bedrooms and is great for us and the children. The addition of wi-fi was great for the teenagers.
Cumstoun did not let us down with the wildlife red squirrels and badgers.
The accommodation is basic but has everything that you need. It is very well equipped, warm and homely.
There is parking and small garden area.
There are lots and lots of things to do close by biking, walking etc There are the Scottish castles to explore and close to Nature reserves and local amenities.
In short with our dog a great place to visit bike and relax. Looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen D
Shropshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply amazing”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for wonderful accommodation set in beautiful peaceful surroundings then this is the place. Great value for money & the wildlife is non stop. The lodge had everything we needed including wifi & can not wait to get back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: leaving to go home.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic location, great accommodation”
Reviewed April 1, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Moyra's lodge over the February half term with my wife and 3 young children (8, 6 and 3). We had a great week exploring the stunning local scenery, surprisingly for Scotland at that time of year we only had one rainy day. The lodge itself is in a lovely secluded spot and is very well equipped, including decent wifi. The children particularly enjoyed all the wildlife including the family of badger s who appear every night to be fed. Throughout the booking process Moyra was very helpful and responsive to any queries. Would definitely recommend to fridnds and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
647karen
Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!! :)”
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cabin is well equipped, has everything you need for self-carting. It is set in the most beautiful surroundings, perfect for dogs, some lovely walks. So peaceful. Cabin had an excellent box of local information and things to do. Beds were very comfortable and all were well stocked with pillows. Lovely and clean. Would recommend to anyone, and will be returning!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped, beautiful surroundings
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah_Jo...
Kirton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Wow, what a wonderful place! If you want a place to unwind and get away from it all then this is it! Not long after we had arrived the Red Squirrels appeared, we were delighted. We had badgers visit every evening and numerous birds and squirrels every day. It is such a peaceful setting with a short walk to the lovely beach (Sandyhills Bay) and Dalbeattie forest. We visited Rockcliffe, Kippford and Kirkcudbright - walks at Rockcliffe with stunning views, at Kippford we walked across the causeway to Rough Island where we were pleased to see a Goldfinch and the ate at the Anchor Inn, which we can recommend.
A lovely lodge and a lovely area - we will definitely be returning and recommending to our friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wildlife
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing