We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for family time and admiring local...”

Review of Gilnockie

The New House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The New House
Winter morning 2012 lounge area on a winter evening
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The New House
Winter morning 2012
lounge area on a winter evening
lounge and staircase
kitchen / dining area
kitchen
master bedroom with verandah
One of the inviting verandahs
view from top of garden
view over estuary
summer house
the adjacent golf course
Kippford village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Colvend, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
jacquinpa...
lanarkshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect for family time and admiring local wildlife”
Reviewed January 1, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

At the top of the scenic village of Kippford, a pleasant 15 minute walk to the front with 2 hotels. We ate at The Anchor, very reasonable. We used Tesco to deliver our groceries soon after we arrived, although there is a large Tesco store 7 or 8 miles away in Castle Douglas and other small shops in Dalbeatie. Gilknockie Lodge had everything we needed, plenty crockery, utensils, glasses, cafetiere and even a George Foreman grill. Lots of comfortable seating and best of all loads of space for a family of 6 with our dogs. Great views from the front of the house, we spotted quite a few red squirrels and at night we all went out to watch the stars twinkle in The Dark Sky and listen to the owl, then returned to play games and quizzes around the cozy log burner. We really couldn't have been in a better place, it was absolutely perfect for our family to spend precious time together. The owners are very proud of the house and they rightly should be. Hopefully we can all get the chance to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona H
1 review
“Loved it!”
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We spent a fab half term week mtb with the kids. It’s the 4th time we’ve stayed in Kippford but 1st in Gilnockie. We will definitely be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed July 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely big house and sitting on the patio looking down over the hills and trees was heavenly. But if you go in summer, take an electric fan or you won't sleep!(one is provided but it's very noisy) It was so hot I couldn't sleep and the only way to air the master bedroom was by leaving the French windows open, which obviously we didn't do during the night as room is on ground floor. Otherwise, beautiful spacious house in a lovely location with perfect peace and quiet.I recommend it. A minor complaint is that check out is at 10am but the housekeeper and her daughter were hanging about in the driveway from 9.40am, obviously wanting us to hurry up and leave so we felt we were being rushed out. I thought that was quite rude!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2017
Sorry about the cleaner being there early. I will mention it to her. Will have a look at the fan when we are down next time. I don't think it gets used very often as a lot of our bookings are out of season. It didn't make a noise the last time we were there. It has maybe rusted up. Sorry again. Glad it didn't ruin your holiday. And thanks for mentioning it. If people don't tell us we can't do anything about it. Best wishes. Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neila688
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, relaxing short break - again”
Reviewed February 28, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

As a result of our experience of staying at this accommodation last year we decided to return. Yet again we were absolutely delighted with the well equipped, spacious, and comfortable lodge.

There is plenty of family space in both the living room area with wood burner and the kitchen dining area, both of which have access to a balcony with stunning views, in addition to the underfloor heating meaning the lodge couldn't be any cosier. All 3 bedrooms,

1 double with ensuite downstairs with access to balcony,
1 double upstairs,
1 twin upstairs,

all have ample room and storage.

Other than food you won't require to take much with you, if anything really. The lodge is very well equipped with great facilities. Last year there was an issue with running out of hot water, but that has clearly been rectified.

Accompanied by the dog there are great walks nearby. We visited the Cocoabean factory near Kircudbright, just short of a half hour drive, and the kids loved it (2 and 3 year old). It included a 30 min workshop for the kids to make and decorate their own chocolate and the rest of the time in the softplay. We relaxed with a coffee in the cafe where we could keep an eye on them. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great so the kids couldn't enjoy the outside play area, which looked like amazing fun.

Dalbeattie and Castle Douglas are both a short drive away in case there's anything you've forgotten to bring.

We have already enquired about booking again for next year, looks like it's going to be an annual trip.

Thanks very much Fiona and John.

Regards

Neil and family

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay again and found activities to entertain the children despite the weather. Hopefully the sun shone some of the time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic lodge in an ideal position”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What a fantastic lodge, the online pictures do not do it justice. It is positioned above the solway estuary with a great view of the river while you are sat in the lounge or sat at the dining table, you are left wanting for nothing as all the utensils, pots/pans etc are plentiful. The log burner in the lounge when lit made it even more cosier (with all the logs you would need supplied) All the beds were very comfy and the rooms a very good size with the master being en-suite. We walked the dogs down to Kippford village or let them have a good run on Sandyhills beach, I think they enjoyed their holiday just as much as the rest of us. We would really like to return at some time in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No hooks in the bathrooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iemunro55
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Property was just as It was described”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The lodge was very nice and comfortable. Wood burning stove was much appreciated as weather was cold and wet. The position was very nice and looking out window during breakfast we saw three red squirrels. It isn't far from the beach and there are a number of things to do within a short drive. We hope to go back again in the summer months.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen1888
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's was a christmas cracker”
Reviewed December 28, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely Christmas at Gilnockie
The location is quite stunning
The log cabin its self is equipped with everything you need
And it's all quality from the kitchen utensils to the beds
All in all it really can't be faulted
You can't beat the log burner on a winters day
I think that was probably one of my favourite features
It's only a 15min walk to the little but beautiful village of
Kippford where we had a meal in the Anchor
Which is dog friendly and that was a real plus point
For us as we had our dog with us
He really loved it as there are so many great walks
So well done to John and Fiona

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing