We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place!”

Review of Dunmuck Farmhouse

Dunmuck= Hill of Wild Boar (gaelic). Farmhouse from the the garden. Sunroom on right, out of frame
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dunmuck= Hill of Wild Boar (gaelic). Farmhouse from the the garden. Sunroom on right, out of frame
Sunroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Dunmuck= Hill of Wild Boar (gaelic). Farmhouse from the the garden. Sunroom on right, out of frame
Sunroom
Sunroom relaxing
Sunroom dining, with doors to garden
Cosy by the fire
Kitchen with door to sunroom and living room
Stairs to three upstairs bedrooms and one bathroom
Upstairs king
Two singles upstairs, this room leads on from the king room
The room with two singles is reached via the king room
Double room with optional single bed
Double room with optional single bed
Upstairs bathroom
The downstairs room has a superking bed which can be separated into two single beds
Downstairs wetroom with heated floor
The loveheart pond on the farm
Woodland walk near the house
Sandyhills Beach 8 kms. away.
Dunmuck house with nights sky
Spring view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Colvend, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MichelleH...
Preston, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed November 9, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Lovely 3 night stay at the farmhouse. The log burner generates plenty of heat ensuring the house was always cosy warm. A bit chilly in winter in the sunroom however there were storage heaters on hand. The property is large and spacious and had everything needed. The kids loved the table tennis, trampoline and the swing.
We visited Carrick Bay and picked fresh mussels for our tea. We also took a trip to Kippford with the weather being so kind so all in all had a great time.
Barbara was great, making sure we had a comfortable stay.
Would love to return in the New Year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2017
Delighted you enjoyed your visit and want to come back, you will be very welcome and loads more to see and do! - Laura and Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesGH
Ambleside, Cumbria
1 review
“Another Fabulous Stay”
Reviewed November 3, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Our second visit to Dunmuck was spent in the farmhouse which we found as well equipped as the Mill. A lot larger (4 bedrooms) but still warm and cosy with lots of lovely walks and beaches on the doorstep. Thank you Laura for a fabulous holiday and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2017
Lovely to have you all return, Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venture31...
1 review
“Perfect, dog-safe family home”
Reviewed September 27, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

An ideal venue for our week preparing for our son's wedding nearby. Splendid sun room offered plenty of space for flower arranging, and the bedrooms effortlessly dealt with various offspring and friends. The dog-proof garden was invaluable. Only regret was that we never got to use the outdoor bath! We now know the local area pretty well: it offers spectacular beach and cliff walks, is very close to the Mersehead bird reserve, and is an unjustly neglected part of the many beauties of Scotland.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kellieend...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dunmuck”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Myself my wife and our 6 kids spent a lovely week staying in the farmhouse at Dunmuck. Alan and Laura were very friendly and helpful but at the same time left us alone to enjoy our stay. The house suited us perfectly and provided all we needed. The kids were free to explore the farm and take full advantage of the various things available to entertain them. The area has lots to explore and I'm sure we will go back as we feel there was so much we didn't get round to doing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2017
Delighted your first holiday in Galloway went so well and hoping you will return. Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmagee35
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“LOVE this place”
Reviewed August 20, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I don't really want to tell anyone about this place as it really is a wonderful place and would like to keep it to myself!
Just returned from our 3rd/ 4th visit to Dunmuck Mill/ The Farmhouse and it really is wonderful place.
This time there were x9 of us that comfortably stayed at The Farmhouse including kids and Grandparent. We all had great stay, made lots of memories and have booked again for next year.
The house is very spacious, enough rooms for adults and kids to have their own space/ peace :). Very well equipped with everything you need.
The outdoor bath is most definitely one of my favourite parts during my holiday. Light the fire underneath wait an hour and watch/ listen to the wildlife around you.
We also lit a fire outdoors and toasted marshmallows with the kids.
Brilliant trampoline and tree swing to keep kids entertained.
Lovely local walks around the farm land.
The local area has lots to keep all ages entertained or even sit back and relax in the garden. Its so peaceful- would love this to be my house.
We visited:
Local beaches- all beautiful, couldn't pick the best one.
Laggan outdoor- excellent zip wire, grass sledges, clay pigeon shooting- lots of fun
The Cocoa Bean company- brilliant for kids- no more chocolate needed for the week Kids £16 for a workshop and use of facilities- indoor/ outdoor fun parks.
Castle Douglas - Tesco, local shops
You will find something for everyone to do whilst your in this area.
I can't say enough good things about this place.
Thank you again Laura look forward to next year already x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Great to see you back and enjoying yourselves- as usual!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylD16...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An absolute Gem”
Reviewed August 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Fabulous family holiday at Dunmuck farmhouse, it truly is a home from home kitted out with everything you could need. The house itself has a gorgeous sunroom and plenty of room for a family of four..The house has it's own private garden which was visited daily by red squirrels and woodpeckers, there was also a trampoline nearby and a great swing in the wood much to the delight of our children. The farmhouse is situated only a short drive from some beautiful beaches too. The owner Laura is a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding areas and ensures you miss nothing out worth visiting.
Dunmuck really is absolute Gem

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2017
Thanks so very much for your review and very pleased your family enjoyed everything here- we enjoyed the children's trampoline skills!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindialic...
Irvine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Beautiful farmhouse. Loved the garden... beautiful birds and visits from the red squirrel. Sun room is just the place for family gatherings. Beach fifteen mins drive and is stunning. Lots of history in nearby Dumfries. We had a wonderful family holiday. We were made very welcome and enjoyed the relaxation. Hope to visit again...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2017
Delighted you all enjoyed the birthday get together,
Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing