We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”

Review of Dunmuck Farmhouse

Dunmuck= Hill of Wild Boar (gaelic). Farmhouse from the the garden. Sunroom on right, out of frame
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dunmuck= Hill of Wild Boar (gaelic). Farmhouse from the the garden. Sunroom on right, out of frame
Sunroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Dunmuck= Hill of Wild Boar (gaelic). Farmhouse from the the garden. Sunroom on right, out of frame
Sunroom
Sunroom relaxing
Sunroom dining, with doors to garden
Cosy by the fire
Kitchen with door to sunroom and living room
Stairs to three upstairs bedrooms and one bathroom
Upstairs king
Two singles upstairs, this room leads on from the king room
The room with two singles is reached via the king room
Double room with optional single bed
Double room with optional single bed
Upstairs bathroom
The downstairs room has a superking bed which can be separated into two single beds
Downstairs wetroom with heated floor
The loveheart pond on the farm
Woodland walk near the house
Sandyhills Beach 8 kms. away.
Dunmuck house with nights sky
Spring view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Colvend, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kate M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 21, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

On arrival you will instantly fall in love with the house and surroundings and receive a lovely welcome from the owners and family who could not do enough to ensure we had a lovely stay.

The house and gardens are beautiful and the wildlife provides many an hour of entertainment. The bath in the garden is a fabulous feature even in the rain. We couldn't fault our stay at all.

Thanks again Laura

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2017
Lovely to have you all here and so pleased you got great use of everything, especially the outdoor bath!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonwyn...
Forfar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully relaxing retreat for all the family.”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

So much to do in the surrounding area but wonderful scenery and walks right on the doorstep. We spent a wonderful week here, four adults and four children, so much space. The house has a wonderful sunroom which was great for family meals, games and relaxing in. Fantastic walks along the Solway coast, beautiful and traditional towns such as Castle Douglas and New Abbey. The owners made us feel really welcome and nothing seemed too much trouble. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this to anyone and we are looking forward to a return visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2017
A pleasure to have your family reunion here. Look forward to seeing you back- especially our puppy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely Peaceful Farmhouse”
Reviewed February 28, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our week (12th - 19th Feb) at Dunmuck Farmhouse - 6 adults (ages 22 - 68) and a dog. The location is isolated but convenient for beaches, cliff and country walks, shops and restaurants - all within 10 miles or so.

At this time of year, with few animals out in the fields, we could wander for miles over the farm land with the dog off the lead. Weather was mixed but still used the 'hot tub' a couple of evenings and could view an amazing night sky in the warmth. The tennis table in the large sunroom came in useful when we had some rain but at this time of year the sunroom was too cold to socialise/eat in The log burner (with a shed load of logs available) was in use every day and kept the Farmhouse itself plenty warm enough. The shower in the wet-room was very good and we had plenty of hot water. The living room and kitchen/diner were spacious, with enough workspace for preparing food for 6/8. Large bedrooms for this type of property with no complaints about the beds. No problem with the WiFi.

Barbara was most helpful getting us settled in - thank you.

No hesitating recommending this excellent value for money property

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2017
Glad you all enjoyed your stay - and viewing the stars from the outdoor bath is a treat. Hope you will come again. Laura and Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmgamble8...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy Winter Escape”
Reviewed January 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

I took my young family, in-laws and grandparents to this fantastic hideaway in the Scottish countryside.

Close to the beach - we had a brisk New Years Day walk along the Solway Coast - and far away enough from civilisation to really unwind.

The kids - and adults - loved the big conservatory for playing games and Table Tennis, and the big log burner kept the house wonderfully warm.

Highlight of the stay - wandering our on a clear evening and gazing at the stars. Simply fantastic!

Oh and thank you to Barbara for all of her help whilst we were there.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2017
Delighted you made the most of New Year at ' the Hill of the Wild Boar'- did you spot any?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R
Driffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed October 2, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Wonderful place to stay excellently situated close to good walks and mountain biking very peaceful and some wonderfull wildlife on the doorstep lovely log burner for the cold evenings and everything little thing thought of by laura and Alan to make your stay enjoyable with lots of books and games we hope to return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2016
So pleased you enjoyed yourselves and got in loads of walking and MTB trails.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichMich6...
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed September 17, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Loved our stay at Dunmuck. Laura and Alan were very welcoming. There were 4 of us and a toddler and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Very spacious living area and sun room with table tennis was fantastic! Made the most of the picturesque scenery around the farm house also used the trampoline and the swing behind the house. Would recommend using the outdoor bath too, we lit it up with candles on a mild night and was a lovely experience. Very secure garden area for the little one to run about with no worries that he'd get in any trouble. We even got some fresh eggs from Laura and Alan from the hens which were nice for breakfast. Would definitely go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2016
Glad you enjoyed Dunmuck - and the outdoor bath! You would be very welcome back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitasara...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful farmhouse in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our family enjoyed a lovely week at Dunmuck. The farmhouse was bigger than we expected, and the sunroom was huge! We all enjoyed the beautiful gardens, in particular watching the many varieties of birds and red squirrels, and playing croquet. Dunmuck is well situated for visiting the countryside, coast, and nearby villages and towns. The owners were very welcoming, yet unobtrusive. We are looking forward to a return visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
We try to manage Dunmuck to encourage wildlife and delighted you enjoyed it all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing