We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Winter Escape”

Review of Dunmuck Farmhouse

Dunmuck= Hill of Wild Boar (gaelic). Farmhouse from the the garden. Sunroom on right, out of frame
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dunmuck= Hill of Wild Boar (gaelic). Farmhouse from the the garden. Sunroom on right, out of frame
Sunroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Dunmuck= Hill of Wild Boar (gaelic). Farmhouse from the the garden. Sunroom on right, out of frame
Sunroom
Sunroom relaxing
Sunroom dining, with doors to garden
Cosy by the fire
Kitchen with door to sunroom and living room
Stairs to three upstairs bedrooms and one bathroom
Upstairs king
Two singles upstairs, this room leads on from the king room
The room with two singles is reached via the king room
Double room with optional single bed
Double room with optional single bed
Upstairs bathroom
The downstairs room has a superking bed which can be separated into two single beds
Downstairs wetroom with heated floor
The loveheart pond on the farm
Woodland walk near the house
Sandyhills Beach 8 kms. away.
Dunmuck house with nights sky
Spring view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Colvend, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cmgamble8...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy Winter Escape”
Reviewed January 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

I took my young family, in-laws and grandparents to this fantastic hideaway in the Scottish countryside.

Close to the beach - we had a brisk New Years Day walk along the Solway Coast - and far away enough from civilisation to really unwind.

The kids - and adults - loved the big conservatory for playing games and Table Tennis, and the big log burner kept the house wonderfully warm.

Highlight of the stay - wandering our on a clear evening and gazing at the stars. Simply fantastic!

Oh and thank you to Barbara for all of her help whilst we were there.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2017
Delighted you made the most of New Year at ' the Hill of the Wild Boar'- did you spot any?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R
Driffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed October 2, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Wonderful place to stay excellently situated close to good walks and mountain biking very peaceful and some wonderfull wildlife on the doorstep lovely log burner for the cold evenings and everything little thing thought of by laura and Alan to make your stay enjoyable with lots of books and games we hope to return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2016
So pleased you enjoyed yourselves and got in loads of walking and MTB trails.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichMich6...
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed September 17, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Loved our stay at Dunmuck. Laura and Alan were very welcoming. There were 4 of us and a toddler and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Very spacious living area and sun room with table tennis was fantastic! Made the most of the picturesque scenery around the farm house also used the trampoline and the swing behind the house. Would recommend using the outdoor bath too, we lit it up with candles on a mild night and was a lovely experience. Very secure garden area for the little one to run about with no worries that he'd get in any trouble. We even got some fresh eggs from Laura and Alan from the hens which were nice for breakfast. Would definitely go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2016
Glad you enjoyed Dunmuck - and the outdoor bath! You would be very welcome back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitasara...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful farmhouse in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our family enjoyed a lovely week at Dunmuck. The farmhouse was bigger than we expected, and the sunroom was huge! We all enjoyed the beautiful gardens, in particular watching the many varieties of birds and red squirrels, and playing croquet. Dunmuck is well situated for visiting the countryside, coast, and nearby villages and towns. The owners were very welcoming, yet unobtrusive. We are looking forward to a return visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
We try to manage Dunmuck to encourage wildlife and delighted you enjoyed it all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallyston...
Leyburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great centre for family holiday”
Reviewed August 25, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our party consisted of five adults and 4 children aged from 1 to 5 (three generations).
We enjoyed the space and facilities provided at Dunmuck Farmhouse which included the farmhouse and grounds of the 90 acre farm.Notable extras being table tennis, red squirrels and woodpeckers along with other small birds at the bird table, the trampoline, the swing, the countryside and the hospitality of the owners who were living next door. The huge conservatory gives a generous indoor space to use whatever the weather.
The property is within easy travelling distance of attractions from a nature reserve to chocolate and ice cream factories with lots of adventurous play equipment for children

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: setting - farm with lovely garden and lots of wildlife around
Liked least: It was hot and there were a lot of houseflies buzzing around inside.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2016
Delighted you all found lots to do , regardless of age or interest, Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
micthemin...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Superb place to stay”
Reviewed June 24, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had originaaly booked the Mill but Laura asked if we would swap to the Farmhouse, and we agreed.
We did wonder if it would be as good as the Mill, given that we have stayed at the Mill a few times, but we need not have worried as it was just as good as staying at the Mill.
The Farmhouse is equiped with all you could need. I loved the kitchen, it's how I would like my kitchen to be!
The sunroom is just fantastic, so big, and a great place just to sit and chill out. I spent a bit of time in there reading as it was just lovely and warm.
The bedrooms (of which there are plenty) were nice. We slept in the downstairs bedroom as the wet room was next to it, but there is a bathroom upstairs.
The lounge has french doors onto the patio area and to the garden. We breakfasted on the patio - first time we have been able to do this as we are usually autumn/winter visitors. The garden itself is amazing, so pretty and well looked after.There is also a trampoline, and yes, I did have a go on it :-)
Close to the Farmhouse are local walks, nature reserves, small town with good facilities, excellent cafes, beaches and mountains.
Dunmuck is a great place to stay and we are already discussing when we can get up there next.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2016
Thanks so much - delighted you enjoyed the Farmhouse. Look forward to your visiting again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxurytas...
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Squirrels, stars and sun!”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was our third trip to Dunmuck. Our previous stays had been in the smaller but 'more modern' Mill. To be honest, we were not sure we'd enjoy staying in the Farmhouse as much. Well, we need not have worried because we loved it (and the fresh eggs from the chickens!), and it is a great place for a family or two to spend a week. The house has everything you need for a relaxing holiday. Laura and Alan have created a very special place that they are lucky enough to call home, and that we are lucky enough to visit from time to time.

We were very lucky with the weather during this visit and had brilliant sunshine for the whole stay. However, even if the weather is not great, there is still loads for a family to do in the area. We have managed to do something different each time we have visited: kayaking, paddleboarding, chocolate making, pottery painting, ice cream making (and eating), zorbing, zipwiring, Segways, paddling in the sea and (just) walking. There is plenty to do on the property itself as well: walking, just sitting back and enjoying the beautiful surroundings and wildlife (red squirrels), stargazing, amethyst hunting, tennis, trampolining and board games.

I am ashamed to say that we still have to try the outdoor bath, which is an amazing idea. There is always next time and there will be a next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2016
Great to have you all back again and thank you for all the help with the chicks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing